We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very disapointed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disapointed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The room was average nothing special. It smelled of cigarette smoke!!! We got put on the smoking floor. The staff failed to inform us that there are smoking and non smoking floors and didn't ask us which one would we prefer. It is crown after all you do expect certain level of standard. You are not going to get it at Promenade

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luci_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Firstly let me apologise for the experience you had whilst staying with us at Crown Promenade. Our staff should have been more diligent on arrival with checking of your requests and hopefully you advised us of your dissatisfaction during your stay so we could organise a move to another room.

Please do not hesitate to contact us on (03) 9292 8160 should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    736
    155
    29
    39
See reviews for
322
733
71
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were lucky as we went up and stayed after seeing it advertised as a deal on one of those travel shows.. Because it is nothing special and would have felt being ripped off if we paid the normal price they charge.. Besides having everything so close to the Hotel and the view from the room was spectacular, as far as everything else goes it was just another Hotel... The worse experiences of the stay was even at 18 stories up the humming noise during the night from the A/C Units was terrible and the fact for the ease and the convience we decided to eat at the Hotels Restaurant for Dinner which was very poor.. They only had 4 tables for the night so we should have realised something was wrong then but for only a few customers the service was very poor and the food was only just better...

Room Tip: If you Love a great View go for a Corner Room at least 10 or more stories up as they look across to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your experience at Crown Promenade.

We were disappointed to read about your concerns, in particular about the noise from the AC vents and your dining experience – both matters will be forwarded to the relevant Department Managers to ensure a consistent service delivery experience to our guests.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a good hotel in a wonderful location in Melbourne. The hotel is reasonable new and still in good condition.

the first thing i noticed on checking in was the staff uniform. uniforms they are not. There is more variations in dress and manner of wearing them than i could record. It gives a ramshackle appearance.
It also appears that the lack of uniformity on appearance is working its way through to staff attitude. I was called mate, staff were unshaven, clothes were not tucked in.
IT LOOKED ORDINARY.
I don't want to be treated like the PM but some attention to the details of staff appearance and manner of addressing patrons would not go astray.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Whilst it was good to read the positive aspects of your comments we were very disappointed in relation to our staff grooming and the manner in which they addressed you. Please accept our apologies and do not hesitate to contact us on (03) 9292 8160 should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As always crown prom is an excellent hotel, friendly check in, helpful staff and the room and the view were great. very clean and tidy and service was prompt. cant fault or complain about anything. just a great stay for overnight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We recently stayed 1 night check in staff were most helpful our room was ready early which was fantastic.
Very comfortable beds and clean room.
We asked for some extra glasses as we had 4 adults in the room, no problem promptly had them to our door
Check out fantastic would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Upon receiving a gift certificate for a nights accommodation for my birthday, I decided to make a luxurious de-stress veg-out weekend of it and pay for a second. The intention was to order room service and watch movies with a do not disturb sign for two whole days! Josh in reservations amazingly helpful in making this happen.

Upon arrival, the valet was helpful. Check-in staff on the other hand were rude, uninviting, disengaging and yet they are the faces of an otherwise decent hotel where myself and other family members have stayed before for work purposes.

How hard is it to make eye contact and say "I won't be a moment" before finalising the previous transaction without leaving other guests in a line feeling unwelcome and uncomfortable?;
To say "hello, how are you?" with genuine interest rather than having yours guests stand in front of the desk like stunned mullets and having to initiate the conversation themselves?;
To accommodate guests rather than make them feel at fault and embarassed for banking with the wrong bank or not having enough credit cards when there is an issue with the banking systems and offer a room "but you won't be able to charge anything to it until we verify your details tomorrow' am I to starve on my seemingly not so luxurious de-stress veg-out weekend?

All of the above was experienced today which may have been avoided if your staff member had communicated that the hotel was experiencing difficulties with my preferred banking partner prior to me transferring all monies to the VISA which I did in front of her (I could have paid eftpos). There are certainly better methods in handling these situations and I was most unimpressed on how the check-in agent, the duty manager, and absolutely disgusted with the actions of the front office manager.

Not open to being treated as second-rate, I packed up and drove home with no real motivation to re-book.

Promenade, you're check-in staff are lacking the basic courtesies and interpersonal skills expected in a hotel of your calibre. I've stayed in better hotels worldwide and yet couldn't even get through the doors of yours and am hesitant to roll up again - I would much rather cross the road to towers where the service is faultless end-to-end. Perhaps it may be an idea to ship some of your check-in staff over also to re-cap on some basic training.

Would anyone like a gift certificate?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was concerned to learn of your experience which is certainly not characteristic of the service provided by our team. As we discussed with you unfortunately when you arrived at the hotel we required a bond for the room which I understand caused some discussion with our staff. I’m sorry if we didn't clearly explain the options available to you for payment of the bond, including withdrawing cash from the ATM which is located in the lobby.

I notice you have re-booked for March and we will ensure you have a more positive experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us on (03) 9292 8160 at your convenience so we can discuss this in more detail.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights and was impressed by ability to give me an early check in .i had to pay a bit extra for the room but the view from my corner room was worth it. Breakfast room was a bit of a barn and service a bit hit or miss. Other hotel staff were pleasant but the hotel does seem to be heavily weighted toward the hordes visiting the casino. Another downside was the cost of wifi which was extortionate

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jock1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,220 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#77 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing