We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Centrally situated on the Southbank and handy for most attractions especially using the free city circle tram. Room and leisure facilities are of a very high standard. The hotel is part of a huge entertainment complex including extensive casino facilities. On arrival we were given directions to the city using an internal walkway which took you into the casino. Some may find this off-putting however this can be avoided by exiting via the hotel lobby. Overall a good choice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    854
    172
    37
    45
See reviews for
373
876
87
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived quite late in the evening from New Zealand feeling tired, I asked for a good room and my wish was certainly granted. Magnificent views. Comfortable bed, powerful shower. Staff on front desk were very helpful. In the morning we tried to use the ATM in the foyer which swallowed our card, only to be told that it was not the property of the hotel, though they did try to contact the company for us.

Room Tip: Ask! It worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliceband979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We were only on a one night stop over but it was a very comfortable night rest. We booked s corner room and it was lovely. The bed and pillows were amazing, like sleeping on a cloud. The staff are very friendly and the room service is really tasty. Recommend the lasagne and the club sandwich ( a hotel standard by which all room service should be judged). We were very happy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flosski70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Heading to Melbourne for a girls shopping weekend and we decided to stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. I contacted reservations to make a booking and all was going well until I I requested a NON SMOKING room and they told me there was no guarantee that we would be able to have this type of room and we would have to take what is available on time of arrival. So we have booked another hotel who has met all our requirements. Disappointed !!

Room Tip: Hotel can not guarantee you will get e room you request.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 101holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Let me start by apologising if you felt we were being unhelpful when you made enquiries with us.

We endeavour to meet all our guest requests however this may not always be possible so to avoid disappointment we do not guarantee any room requests. Should any of our guests be checked into a room they are unhappy with we will move them immediately to ensure they enjoy their stay.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed there with some friends and we had the room with 2 queen beds in it. Its not the most spacious room, however you are right in the middle of the Crown and central to so many things. I booked on an early bird price and got so much value for money. The rooftop pool which is indoor is amazing. You can swim up to the edge and look across the city. It also has a gym which is fabulous and choice for so many foods in and around the Crown. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Great for a short stay as there is not alot of room. If its a clean bed and central location that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My colleagues and I exhibit at the convention centre twice a year so the hotel is excellent being a short stroll across the road! Hotel staff are always friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is amazing! The rooms are set out very well and the bed is amazing as soon as my head hits the pillow I'm asleep! The only thing that I do not like is the lighting in the bathrooms, it is almost impossible to apply makeup in that kind of light!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimy_Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stay there every so often, they have 2 penthouse suites that are never advertised, when we can get one, we stay there.
It adjoins the Casino and all of its attractions, it is all airconditioning thru the corridors.

Good value but the range of food at breakfast is better at the Crown next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B1RD1EMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#78 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing