We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic Parents Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Relax Package
Ranked #23 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Parents Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Crown Promenade hotel was an awesome night for my wife and I. A very luxurious hotel with great options for families too as there were quite a few staying. Great room, excellent breakfast the next morning and easy check in/check out plus very helpful and attentive bell/concierge services. My only gripe is the WiFi costs - $25 for 24 hours when it could or should be free as a value add.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side will have a better view - facing onto Whiteman Street and the Crown Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReganForde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    719
    152
    29
    37
See reviews for
313
713
70
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We are staying three nights at the moment in sunny Melbourne. We have an upgrade corner room through our package with Trailfinders and it is difficult to think of any way the room could be better. Excellent location and staff friendly and helpful on checkin.

Our only negative comment is that this is a favourite conference hotel and can make things very busy and strains the hotel's resources and facilities. Coffee shop breakfast can mean standing in line for 15 minutes at the hot counter if you hit a conference time and we were told coffee shop was full for dinner when we tried to make abooking at breakfast time. Also chamber maids are not able to make up some rooms until late afternoon having to concentrate on change over rooms first.

Would stay again but be prepared to be patient

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great window view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay at Crown Promenade.

We appreciate your positive comments in regards to the Hotel’s “excellent location and friendly and helpful staff” – our team takes tremendous pride in their service delivery. Your comments in relation to the queues at Mesh & the cleaning of your room have been passed on to the relevant Department Managers to review, please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations this time.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a great night! Room was very clean and all up to date!
Breakfast had a great selection. Service could have been a bit better. Struggled to get cutlery and coffee.
Pool is amazing! Nice hot spa in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for work, found it very accessible to CBD and well resourced for after work relaxation. Having the Crown complex resources but being able to escape the carnage was great. I initially thought this would be the "poor cousin" to the Crown but I actually preferred it to the main hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Overall, very satisfied with the hotel: nice location and fantastic room. It's twin room has 2 queen-sized beds and the 3 of us (all adults) could stay in the same room comfortably...helps save cost. They allow up to 4 adults in a twin room. (I think hotels in Melbourne aren't cheap but still not as expensive as Syndey). Breakfast was pretty good and serves a variety of western and Chinese dishes. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The only thing that would need improvement is the staff's attention to details. I have to book the first night on my own as a separate reservation while the rest of the nights were booked as part of a congress package. Although the 2 reservations were linked, the reception staff did not inform me that the nights booked as the congress package include breakfast and wifi connection (I specifically asked how can I get complimentary wifi connection). Even if this was not noticed by the reception at check-in, I thought the staff who re-activated my card for the latter part of my reservation should have noticed this. The good thing is they were quick to realise their mistake when I asked and gave me the breakfast vouchers for the remaining nights without further questions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal_cool77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for taking the time the give us some feedback – our team will be very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and found them to be “friendly and helpful”.

We are always looking to improve our guest experience so we appreciate your comments in regards to not being informed of the free WIFI and breakfast inclusions, please accept our apology. It was pleasing to read that the team responded quickly once the oversight was discovered.

Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Crown Promenade.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nts and had a rollaway bed for our child. This made our room a bit snug but otherwise it would have been more spacious. The bathroom area was very nice too. The view down the street to the Yarra river was pretty and to see the Melbourne city lights in the evening was nice too. We had buffet breakfast daily and it had everything you could have wanted. They may wish to consider having a bowl of sultanas which is nice to put on your bircher muesli or cereals. There is a chef like in many asian hotels to cook eggs how you want, omelette, fried etc. There really is lots of variety at buffet. Bonus that just off the foyer and near the lifts there is a a coffee stand. Never seen this is in a hotel and it was always busy. Great idea. Maybe it's a Melbourne thing.

Conveniently located on the outskirts of the CBD, so a short stroll into the heart of the city and even closer to the Crown Casino - connected by a skywalk. If you have kids with you just down the block is a huge arcade playzone which is open till late and very popular. There is also a shopping and small food court with fast food only that you can access through the hotel walkways too. Staff were great and very friendly. Smooth check-in & check-out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshmallowfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed three happy comfortable days at the Crown Promenade. My room was beautiful and generously serviced daily. Everything was clean and of high quality and room service was excellent value - prompt and delicious. The view was good and the lounge seat very comfortable. The desk is super convenient with multiple powerpoints.

All staff were courteous and professional. This is a smooth slick establishment. I will definitely stay again.

I enjoyed walking along the river and through the city. Location was great for all my needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ausbirdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,124 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#77 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing