We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Crowned it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Crowned it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nts and had a rollaway bed for our child. This made our room a bit snug but otherwise it would have been more spacious. The bathroom area was very nice too. The view down the street to the Yarra river was pretty and to see the Melbourne city lights in the evening was nice too. We had buffet breakfast daily and it had everything you could have wanted. They may wish to consider having a bowl of sultanas which is nice to put on your bircher muesli or cereals. There is a chef like in many asian hotels to cook eggs how you want, omelette, fried etc. There really is lots of variety at buffet. Bonus that just off the foyer and near the lifts there is a a coffee stand. Never seen this is in a hotel and it was always busy. Great idea. Maybe it's a Melbourne thing.

Conveniently located on the outskirts of the CBD, so a short stroll into the heart of the city and even closer to the Crown Casino - connected by a skywalk. If you have kids with you just down the block is a huge arcade playzone which is open till late and very popular. There is also a shopping and small food court with fast food only that you can access through the hotel walkways too. Staff were great and very friendly. Smooth check-in & check-out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshmallowfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    781
    161
    33
    41
See reviews for
343
772
79
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed three happy comfortable days at the Crown Promenade. My room was beautiful and generously serviced daily. Everything was clean and of high quality and room service was excellent value - prompt and delicious. The view was good and the lounge seat very comfortable. The desk is super convenient with multiple powerpoints.

All staff were courteous and professional. This is a smooth slick establishment. I will definitely stay again.

I enjoyed walking along the river and through the city. Location was great for all my needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ausbirdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent several nights in the Crown Promenade and it was an excellent base for discovering the delights of Melbourne. Sited just over the river Yarra it gives easy access to what is an interesting and exciting city.The Crown Complex surrounding the hotel has a comprehensive number of shopping possibilities together with restaurants,cafes and a cinema. The hotel is all that I expected. The only negative point was the off hand way the concierge service dealt with our requests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay at Crown Promenade, many of our guests agree with your comments and enjoy the Hotel’s central location on Southbank. There are many restaurants, bars and entertainment in the resort, the surrounds of Southbank or a short walk into the city.

Please accept our apologies if you felt the Concierge service dealt with your requests in an “off hand way”. This will be passed on to the Department Manager for review.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe Uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is close to the centre of Melbourne and is part of the Crown Complex which is huge. there is another Hotel with Casino, which needs to be seen to be believed. There are restaurants’, bars, night clubs, leisure facilities and more! The Promenade is quiet in comparison to its sister hotel. We were tempted to upgrade to a corner room which had city views and was well appointed with all mod cons. Wi-Fi was poor and really expensive at $25 per day, per device!!!! Outrageous! it should be free! Breakfast was well presented although at $30 per head, not cheap. Our stay coincided with the Melbourne Cup which was an amazing experience in itself, so much elegance and finery and a contenent that comes to a halt at 3.00pm on race day!

Room Tip: The upgrade to a corner room was a good idea and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanFelixstoweUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My girlfriends and I have been coming to stay here for the past 3 years. Every year the staff have been very welcoming and friendly. We love that we don't have to leave the Crown Complex to eat , or go out. We all feel very safe staying there and the views are amazing!! This is the first year we have had City views and wow we felt so special!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Sometimes i feel my hotel Duty Manager backroud gives me an edge, in terms of knowing the ins and outs of a hotel and its procedures and sometimes I wish I didnt have the expectations and certain level of standards because this hotel, from arrival to departure was a disgrace! Arrival: bags were taken 'take them to the conference room please' 'oh I cant do that, somebody. . . ' Check In: issues with credit cards even though specifying prior to arrival that all charges to master account, Abhi at the reception desk was rude, unaccommodating and stubborn. So we called our group manager in front of him and sorted it, could he not have rather than being so abrasive to us and the girl checking us in? Housekeeping: to have a shirt pressed at 5pm an delivered no later than 3pm incurrs a 100% surcharge?! Why dont you just say a price, this alone makes you feel uncomfortable! Still wasnt back by 3pm however. . Evans in conferencing is the hotels saviour, without him my next few stays here would be unbareable!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmlucy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Crown Promenade.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered whilst staying with us and we will be reviewing your comments in detail with the relevant department managers to ensure we provide our guests with the best possible experience.

We hope you give us another opportunity to make your next stay a more positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel, for the price - represents a shocking value proposition.

The room is dated and poorly thought out - while it includes the crowd pleasers such as a large TV and cookie cutter art, it is very impractical. For example, a giant shower cubicle with a tiny shower head in one corner, and lighting system that depends on a key card being put in a slot like a 3 star hotel.

The ambiance on Friday and Saturday nights feels like a tacky nightclub - loud and full of drunks stumbling through the lobby. Also, the staff seem to not have been trained to the level that is expected of a 4 star hotel. They are not perceptive or proactive - and have a nasty habit of presenting problems rather than solutions.

For example - my key card had stopped working, and I went to the desk and gave my name and room number. The agent responded "this is under a woman's name" in an accusatory and unhelpful tone - instead of looking further down the reservation and seeing I was a secondary guest, without questioning the guest as anyone with basic customer service training would have done.

The location is mediocre - unless if you like sad attempts at recreating Las Vegas in the Southern Hemisphere. Our room overlooked criss crossing motorways, and it was a trek to get anywhere outside of the casino complex.

Had we not been here for a conference, we never would have stayed - but we regretted not staying elsewhere. There are better, classier hotels in the area. Even with a conference rate you will not get value for money or feel satisfied staying here unless you enjoy casinos and malls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side of the building - no freeway views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajk1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.

It was very disappointing to read your comments in regards to your stay with us and is certainly not characteristic of the level of service we wish our guests to experience.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail, to do so contact us on (03) 9292 8160.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#74 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelClick, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing