We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed here for an anniverary and it was really lovely. a suite room at this hotel is the price of a small room at crown towers so its really worth it. the serivce was ok. they are not as attentive than at other hotels. the rooms are great - modern and clean.

would recommded for all

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

We’re glad you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary with us in one of our Suites, hopefully you had a chance to enjoy the oval Jacuzzi in the room. Housekeeping work hard ensuring our high standards are maintained will be happy knowing their efforts are appreciated.

Please accept our apologies if we were not as attentive as you would have hoped, this is certainly not characteristic of the standards we strive to achieve.

Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,912 - 1,918 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Crown Casino's 'budget' Promenade Hotel in November 2012.

Check-in and check-out was fast, pleasant and went very smoothly.

We stayed in Room 1985 which had a north-easterly view out of the full-wall window to Crown Towers, the Yarra River and the Melbourne city skyline beyond. The windows had both daylight privacy curtains and night-time light-screening curtains.

Our room was very near the lift lobby, but we were not affected by any noise from either the lifts or the other guests - although we could hear front doors close in adjacent rooms. The hum from the airconditioner and the city noise outside was at acceptable levels.

The room was very pleasant, with modern decoration, a large flat screen TV with a good variety of cable stations along with local stations, a very readable clock (for once not a digital clock radio), chaise longue, armchair, desk, chair and king size bed.

Lighting in the room was good, particularly the reading lights above the bed. The modern LEDs, while energy efficient, actually work well.

The bathroom was very well fitted, with a single sink, large bench (with under-bench shelf storage), dual-flush toilet and large shower cubicle. Supplied cosmetics were good without being exquisite and there was a hair dryer that worked well. The water supply to the shower was satisfactory.

There was a large built-in wardrobe with safe, clothes iron and ironing board and a good supply of wooden coat hangers.

Tea and coffee supplies were adequate - and the tea brand supplied was pleasantly up-market. The mini-bar was well stocked and re-stocked each day, including teas, sugar and coffee.

On our first night we had dinner at Crown's new Neil Perry restaurant, Rosetta. The ambience of the restaurant is superb with just the right amount of theatre, without tipping over the edge to being 'camp'. On a balmy evening don't hesitate to ask for an outside table.

The staff were friendly and efficient and the timing of the courses was well paced. We spoke with the sommellier for advice on wine matching and he chose well for us.

We had a combination 'chair and banquet bench' table, with the only criticism being that the pillow on the banquet was a bit large and firm.

The wine list has a broad selection of Australian and Italian varietals and Rosetta conjour up some very delicious cocktails.

Stand-outs on our meal were the Zuppa Di Baccala, a superb 'peasant' soup of salt cod and vegetables and the Manzo beef carpaccio. The wood roasted fish were superb and the house-made ice creams finished off the meal well.

Most importantly, while it wasn't cheap, it also wasn't that expensive. We will be coming back again.

On our second night we dined at Philip Mouchel's PM24 in Russell Street (an easy tram ride up Collins Street from Crown Casino). The ambience is 'resurrected industrial' rather than high-glam, but it worked well with an open kitchen to keep you entertained.

We were seated at a two person table, which was a little small and cluttered for our meal. There are other larger tables in front of the kitchen which were filled up later in the evening. I would suggest requesting one of these when making a booking.

It was another superb meal, this time with a French inflection. The Cheese and Jerusalem Artichoke Soufflé was a superb melt-in-the-mouth entree and the desert degustation plate was something to let your belt out for. Once again the wine and cocktail lists were superb. For a Monday night it was very popular and I would recommend making a booking whatever night you go.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odnaBmaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed recently for a conference. At the conference rate-good value.
Check in/out was clinical. Although front door guys were attentive and helpful.
The room was big enough not to be hit in the back by the door. Good curtain system to provide natural lighting through to block out for sleeping. Nice to have a decent size desk in the room so you don't have to work while sitting on the bed.
Bathroom was large with good amenities. Some minor mould forming in the shower corners.
As usual with hotel rooms, hard to regulate the tempertaure throughout the night.
Give the factory breakfast a miss and head around the corner for a baconegg sang, juice & real coffee for $12!
Don't be fooled by the reviews expousing the great views. Not all rooms are high and facing Melb CBD. I was on the 6th floor looking out at the rooftop utilities behind the hotel and overlooking the motorway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrizzieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

It was great to read that the service you received by the Bell staff was “attentive and helpful” – they will appreciate the feedback. We apologise that you felt the Front Desk staff were “clinical” as this is not the type of service we wish to provide and this will be investigated.

Whilst we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your in room facilities we will certainly be following up with our Housekeeping Manager in regard to the cleanliness of the bathroom.

In regard to your comments about the views from the hotel we do enjoy uninterrupted views of the CBD and surrounds and you are quite right that not all of our rooms have city views. We are happy to take any requests in regard to views but these are subject to availability.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at the crown hotels few times, always good, clean and quiet, bit of a walk to CBd if being central is important...
Very good gym and weights room plus lovely 25m pool....not many of those in Melbourne.
Wouldn't bother with breakfast at hotel but walk 10 mins to the lanes and have really good value food there

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel and very handy. Very annoying on charges - 1.6% credit card fee and Internet charge per device - even though room is wireless. Amazing hotels still try and milk consumers for small amounts.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Whilst it was great to read that you find us to be a “good hotel and very handy” we apologise if you think we are “milking consumers for small amounts” this is certainly not our intention. Our costs are in line with other hotels, and we are constantly reviewing these to ensure we are competitive with similar standard hotels in Melbourne and Australia.

By maintaining a reasonable cost structure we are able to ensure the service and amenities provided to our guests are of high quality whilst not dramatically increasing our room rates. This we believe is also fair to our customers who may not utilise these services by not having them for free and building the additional costs into our room rates. The credit card surcharge may also be avoided by paying in cash or by EFTPOS, both accepted at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great place to stay for a racing weekend in town. Easy access to Crown Casino and Southbank bars and food. Fantastic service and very convenient with comfortable beds and a great view. Hoping to come back next carnival.

Room Tip: Just check - if booking an internet room does not mean you get free internet, means you can pay to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCaddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thanks for the terrific review, our team will be happy to know they met your expectations with “Fantastic service”.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Been at this hotel before but the level of service provided this time was average. Was left really disappointed. Booked a package this time for my husbands birthday. Had to continually ring service desk to get components of it. Nothing organised. They couldnt even get the delivery of the paper right and the complimentary chocolates.

Whilst location is great and rooms are nice the service was very lack lustre. They even stuffed up the reversal of my bond from my credit card. Took over a week to get my funds freed again.

Room Tip: Double king rooms are great for a family with one or two kids. Sufficient space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaRoseMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We were very disappointed to read of your experience and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations.

We would appreciate if you would call us on (03) 9292 8160 to discuss your concerns in more detail.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 162 in Melbourne
3,916 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,392 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#79 of 162 in Melbourne
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,690 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,115 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#20 of 162 in Melbourne
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $181 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing