We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There for a conference, would stay again for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“There for a conference, would stay again for sure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Promenade during a conference that was held there and on that experience alone, I would stay there again. I think it is very much suited to the business traveller or for shortish stay holidays. I am a fan of apartments for more than a few days so am a little biased there. The property was immaculate, the service impeccable. Part of the Crown Casino precinct, it is located just behind the casino and from the 15th floor, I could not hear any external noise at all. The room was beautifully appointed, the king bed and pillows very comfy and the view from the day bed along the floor to ceiling windows a real highlight for me. I spent many hours laying there staring at nothing or reading a book. The room service menu was a little limited for my liking but both in-room meals I had were delivered quickly, piping hot and perfectly cooked. The water pressure in the over-size shower was better than expected and I made the most of the free wi-fi for business use. I also used the gym, pool, spa and sauna and spent an average of 2 hours there every evening. It was bliss!!! I happily recommend this property for the business, solo or couples traveller. Plenty to do, I walked to the city, bought a new laptop and walked back to the hotel without any trouble. As a conference venue, I rate the property highly, probably one of the best I have been at.

Room Tip: I requested a high floor with a city view and was not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    839
    172
    37
    44
See reviews for
368
861
87
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on the relax package which included accommodation, parking and breakfast. Room was clean and well appointed. Great view to the bay. Breakfast was OK, but nothing fancy. Location is great, very easy access to the city.Check in was quick and easy. Did have a problem with our room keycard not able to operate the lift.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinotFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights while on business, was really impressed with location, service, Tonic Bar, room was on a corner, which gave us a awesome view of the city. Absolutely recommend this place, but I am sure a lot people would already agree, as it was busy. The rooms are modern, and fresh. Love it, definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shizane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the Crown Promenade last week. The room was decently sized and furnitures were arranged in such a way that it creates an impression of spaciousness. Breakfast was standard fare but nevertheless excellent. Will definitely stay again on my next trip.

Location is next to Crown casino and Southbank, so you have access to the multiple restaurants there.

Only complaint I have is the internet charges @25 per day is steep as well as the rate is per device. I did not read the small print and connected via my iPad and laptop. Had to pay double. My fault but the sign should have been made clearer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shankark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
161 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent hotel with good service and extremely well located for the Southbank precinct, the cbd and the conference centre. More restaurants nearby than can be sampled in one visit . Good rooms and great sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquarianmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our final destination on a 3 week Australian holiday. First impressions were not great. We were checked in by the duty manager on the 1st October - I don't think the hotel was overly busy as this was a public holiday. The said receptionist/duty manager was void of personality and unwelcoming, only interested in trying to sell us a more expensive room. I realise this is common practise in numerous hotels but it was his manner that was poor. I enquired about the possibility of late check out 5 days later and was told yes I could get it at a cost of $150. I was later given the same for free when asking a more helpful receptionist.
Having said that the rest of our stay was good. Rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel is well situated on Southbank within easy walking distance of many restaurants - I highly recommend Moveda on Tattersalls Lane where you don't need a booking if you're prepared to wait for a table or seat at the bar.
Obviously the crown casino is next door if you fancy a gamble - give it a go as the Aussies I played poker against were awful - thanks for the $1500 dollars!
I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExiledSc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Firstly accept our apologies if you felt the Duty Manager was not accommodating with your late check-out request. As your original request was for a 5pm check-out on a Saturday we offered a discounted fee which was substantially less than the normal 1/2 day charge we would apply for check-outs at or after 5pm. We were then happy to offer you a complimentary check-out at 12pm as this gave us enough time to have the room cleaned for our next guest who would expect the room to be ready at 2pm.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the locality of the Hotel in close proximity to many restaurants and had fun playing in the Casino.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crown Promenade in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've stayed at all three Crown hotels in Melbourne many times this year. Promenade is the 4.5 star lower level hotel of the three, but an equally quality hotel. The rooms are not as big as the other two hotels, but thoughtfully furnished and comfortable. I would certainly stay here in preference to Metropol (which I find dindgy and stuffy). The staff are friendly, and the rooms spotlessly clean.
The pool and spa are also well set out and a good temperature.
If you do stay in an upgraded Corner room, ask for one on the western side of the hotel, as the early morning sun seems to come through in the east facing rooms (poor curtain cover on the east window in all rooms of this type on this side of the hotel).

Room Tip: Choose a western side corner room, and avoid the eastern corner rooms if you don't like the earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing