We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful but expensive”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed in this beautiful hotel complex for a couple of night while visiting Melbourne. The size of the whole complex can be a bit daunting and we had to ask directions a few times to find the food hall etc as all paths seem to lead to the Casino !!
Lovely room on 23rd floor with fabulous views of the city. Pool area on 10th floor was amazing.
Have to agree with some of the previous reviewers about the internet and have found that all large chain hotels in Australia appear to charge for use, although we did have access to the internet free of charge at the pool area to print out boarding passes for flights.
I also find the practice of charging $100 dollars per night from your credit/debit card to be very inconvenient as it is not credited back to your account for some 5 days or so. I was not aware of this when I booked this hotel and would hesitate at ever booking again unless this practice is stopped. The fact that you are providing a credit/debit card at check in should be sufficient to allow the hotel to charge you for your room and whatever extras you use without a further charge being made. Seems a bit extreme to me.
Apart from that, enjoyed the ambiance and location of this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors give great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicats116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, many of our guests comment on the views from the hotel and our heated infinity pool. Our internet prices are in line with the other similar hotels in Melbourne and as you mentioned we do have alternative options should you not wish to sign-up for 24hrs internet access.

We do require a bond which is a guarantee for the room and incidentals per night, this is a pre-authorisation which places a hold of funds on the card however doesn’t charge until we settle your account on departure. Unfortunately the release of the pre-authorisation on the credit card varies depending on the financial institution and is something we have no control over, we apologise if this wasn’t explained properly to you during the check-in process.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    857
    172
    38
    45
See reviews for
373
878
88
628
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed with our young children in this hotel and will never do it again. While the hotel presents really well, our stay was ruined by the constant partying on our floor. It was like Schoolies Week. On the first night we complained, and apparently the 'night duty manager' had a word with the guests, but we were woken constantly throughout the night by yelling, door slamming and running up and down the hall. We complained again in the morning, and while we were told they take noise like this very seriously, there was no offer to move us or to speak with the guests again. We had hoped we were just unlucky, but on the second night it started again, and went well into the early hours of the morning with noise coming from our floor and the floor above. While I'm certainly no kill joy, when you pay more than $1500 for a two night stay you expect a much better experience. When we complained again on check-out there was no offer of compensation. So, if you're a party animal, this is the place for you. But if you are travelling with young kids that need sleep, I recommend you avoid this place. For the price you should expect to get more than a couple hours of sleep a night. You're not supposed to come home from a holiday shattered. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyMongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thanks for taking to the time for reviewing our hotel.

I can assure you we take noise complaints very seriously – the hotel has a strict no party policy which is enforced both at Reservation stage and during the check-in process if we become aware of any such issues.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this incident has caused as our guests’ comfort is our highest priority.

We would like to discuss this further with you as we are having trouble identifying when this incident occurred, please contact us on +61 3 9292 8160 to discuss this matter further.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived in the morning around 10am but our room was not ready for us and they couldn't find our booking for some reason so we could not check in early unfortunately, so we went shopping and came back at check in time. When we arrived back they had upgraded our room, it was fantastic and so unexpected. We were very grateful! The staff were very helpful and attentive. We loved our stay at the Crown Promenade and would most certainly come back. Comfortable large beds, Clean & new bathrooms, Large television & a view. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a great choice for a central located, five star hotel, with spacious, modern rooms and massive flatscreen tv with cable. Part of the massive Crown complex and connected to shopping, casino, dining etc. by overbridge. I would love to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarithaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights in may for my 40th birthday. really loved the hotel, very large rooms and bathroom, and comfortable beds. great food through room service, only complaint was the limited breakfast menu. all round great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juzzywuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thanks for the positive review, it was great to read you had a great 40th Birthday celebration.

We receive a lot of positive feedback about our oversized showers and we are in the process of updating our Room Service menu which will be available from the 1st of July.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is a great hotel with a bright and fresh design. I stay here for business and appreciate the quiet and clean rooms not to mention a top mini bar! The location is excellent on Melbourne's South Bank with plenty of dinning options.

If you are travelling with colleagues, the lobby bar is a great place to meet and unlike the Metropole (not that you can go wrong staying at the excellent Metropole) next door, has plenty of room in the bar.

One of my top 3 hotels in Melbourne!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igbtys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have stayed at Crown Promedade many times. It is a fantastic hotel, nicely furnished rooms, big flat screen tv, great day bed in front of the full length window looking over the city. Room and bathroom is always clean, bed is comfortable and the room is quiet with very little outside noise.
The buffet breakfast has a great variety to choose from. Staff are friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in a great location and has a convenient joining indoor walkway to Crown Casino.
Will be back for another stay in July.

Room Tip: Look for good deals on Wotif.com You can pick up a room for as low as $200
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm_991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,735 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#79 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing