We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Promenade Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #27 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Crown Promenade Hotel”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Rooms are standard size, bathroom is a good size - well stocked condiment area with a coffee/tea, snack selection and a mini bar. Pay for internet. Views of the CIty and Yarra River are pleasant. Buffet Breakfast was a complete selection from cereals to made to order omeletts, pasties and fresh fruits selctions. Easy to walk to Crown movie theater, shopping area and Restaurant selections either by the Casino or Yarra River views. Free Tourist Shuttle within 5-10 minutes from hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator on any floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karetomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    883
    179
    40
    48
See reviews for
389
901
89
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Crown Promenade is in a fantastic location, with very nice, clean, well appointed rooms. Would not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We love the Promenade Hotel! The rooms are lovely and modern and the views are sensational. It is the perfect location -- especially when going to dinner at The Crown -- you never have to walk outside if you don't want to! The 25 metre infinity edge pool is the best pool/spa in a city hotel that we've ever used -- the kids love it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzaKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very nice hotel excellent room with views of the river Yarra and city. We arrived early in the morning and faced a long wait to get into our room (2.00pm check in). The lady on reception took my mobile number we went for a walk and she phoned when the room was ready, this at 11.00 am, excellent service!

Not all perfect however, if you have a car you can only have valet parking and the price of this varies daily from A$30 to A$40 - a rip off.

The cost of internet access in the room is also very high (A$28 per day)

Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to the main attractions and is directly connected to the Casino which has several restaurants and a very good food court.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peters101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was pleasing to read your room was ready for your early arrival and your positive comments in relation to the service you received is appreciated. We apologise for any misunderstanding in regards to the car parking rates, our in house guests receive the set rate of $28.00 per car per day however for non-hotel guests the price does fluctuate based on demand. Our internet fee is $25.00 for 24 hours and we do have other options for guests who may need to just quickly check something on the internet without signing up for 24hours – once again please accept our apologies if this wasn’t explained to you.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our daughter wanted to stay in Melbourne to celebrate her 8th birthday, and chose Promenade from a list of hotels near the restaurant chosen for dinner. Princess.

Her assessment of the room: Amazing. It was great to look out of the big window from high up, and I could see the sea. I loved the big shower and the big television.

My assessment: Basically, I'd agree with her assessment of the room. We had two queen-sized beds which were very comfortable, the bathroom was well sized and usable. The room was clean and functional. And my pet rating: even the iron and board were in good condition.

What was bad was check-out.

We booked and paid for the room online, through the Crown Promenade website. The booking was in my wife's name. At check-in and check-out she presented her Crown Club card, but was refused the membership discount on the grounds it had already been factored into the room price. Rubbish. At no time did the booking system have knowledge of Crown Club membership, and we took a rate that was available to anyone.

Anyone can make mistakes, but for the check-out person to stand her ground and ARGUE the situation for almost ten minutes was not good sense. A quick call to a manager was the appropriate action to quickly fix the problem and move on to the next customer.

A pity, this reduced our opinion of an otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during check-out, please call us on (03) 9292 8160 so we may discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A very good hotel in a good location south of the Yarra River. The staff were very friendly and helpful (there were staff to open the doors of the hotel for us - as if we were royalty!). It is easy to walk to the city centre from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thanks for the terrific review.

Your positive comments will be shared with our team who take immense pride and care to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The views were stunning from our room, with floor to ceiling windows in bedroom and bathroom.
The staff were very helpful as we had arived to see the Grand Prix but our tickets were still in England. We were given directions to the transport for the day, and had a fantastic time. The hotel is well placed for transport around the town and has a courtesy bus if needed. A wonderful stay -would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thanks for the positive review.

Many of our guests comment on and appreciate the views from our rooms which isn’t always the case with city hotels. As we’re located on Southbank it’s only a small walk into the city centre or you are more than welcome to take our complimentary hotel shuttle with stops throughout the city.

Thanks again for the review and hopefully we’ll see you back for next years’ GP.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
3,842 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,325 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,550 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#22 of 160 in Melbourne
3,660 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing