We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$143
$95
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$228
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$181
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,682)
Filter reviews
2,682 results
Traveler rating
1,429
957
190
51
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
957
190
51
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmesh restauranttonic barcorner king roomcasino complexyarra riverfloor to ceiling windowssouth bankvalet parkingroom serviceeasy accessmodern hotelcity viewshort walkbuffet breakfaststandard roomgreat roommini bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,224 - 2,229 of 2,682 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very nice hotel excellent room with views of the river Yarra and city. We arrived early in the morning and faced a long wait to get into our room (2.00pm check in). The lady on reception took my mobile number we went for a walk and she phoned when the room was ready, this at 11.00 am, excellent service!

Not all perfect however, if you have a car you can only have valet parking and the price of this varies daily from A$30 to A$40 - a rip off.

The cost of internet access in the room is also very high (A$28 per day)

Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to the main attractions and is directly connected to the Casino which has several restaurants and a very good food court.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peters101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was pleasing to read your room was ready for your early arrival and your positive comments in relation to the service you received is appreciated. We apologise for any misunderstanding in regards to the car parking rates, our in house guests receive the set rate of $28.00 per car per day however for non-hotel guests the price does fluctuate based on demand. Our internet fee is $25.00 for 24 hours and we do have other options for guests who may need to just quickly check something on the internet without signing up for 24hours – once again please accept our apologies if this wasn’t explained to you.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our daughter wanted to stay in Melbourne to celebrate her 8th birthday, and chose Promenade from a list of hotels near the restaurant chosen for dinner. Princess.

Her assessment of the room: Amazing. It was great to look out of the big window from high up, and I could see the sea. I loved the big shower and the big television.

My assessment: Basically, I'd agree with her assessment of the room. We had two queen-sized beds which were very comfortable, the bathroom was well sized and usable. The room was clean and functional. And my pet rating: even the iron and board were in good condition.

What was bad was check-out.

We booked and paid for the room online, through the Crown Promenade website. The booking was in my wife's name. At check-in and check-out she presented her Crown Club card, but was refused the membership discount on the grounds it had already been factored into the room price. Rubbish. At no time did the booking system have knowledge of Crown Club membership, and we took a rate that was available to anyone.

Anyone can make mistakes, but for the check-out person to stand her ground and ARGUE the situation for almost ten minutes was not good sense. A quick call to a manager was the appropriate action to quickly fix the problem and move on to the next customer.

A pity, this reduced our opinion of an otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during check-out, please call us on (03) 9292 8160 so we may discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A very good hotel in a good location south of the Yarra River. The staff were very friendly and helpful (there were staff to open the doors of the hotel for us - as if we were royalty!). It is easy to walk to the city centre from this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thanks for the terrific review.

Your positive comments will be shared with our team who take immense pride and care to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The views were stunning from our room, with floor to ceiling windows in bedroom and bathroom.
The staff were very helpful as we had arived to see the Grand Prix but our tickets were still in England. We were given directions to the transport for the day, and had a fantastic time. The hotel is well placed for transport around the town and has a courtesy bus if needed. A wonderful stay -would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladys45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thanks for the positive review.

Many of our guests comment on and appreciate the views from our rooms which isn’t always the case with city hotels. As we’re located on Southbank it’s only a small walk into the city centre or you are more than welcome to take our complimentary hotel shuttle with stops throughout the city.

Thanks again for the review and hopefully we’ll see you back for next years’ GP.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed here 8 - 13 Feb 12. Room & breakfast were great, but staffs were not helpful. I booked the room included breakfast. One day prior to check out, I asked for our bill and apparently they charged the breakfast again. I showed the reception staff my booking confirmation letter where I have booked & paid for breakfast. It was a bit dispute as the supervisor mentioned couldn't take out all the breakfast charge due to system restriction, but finally it was solved after handled by another supervisor. I finally found out that the breakfast was charged again as the supervisor who handled the check in didnt give me the breakfast coupon. Second experience, I asked for scale to concierge, he mentioned didnt have any. I mentioned my friend who checked out the day before got the scale from concierge. Then he asked my friend's room number, he mentioned the room is occupied by other guest now so he couldnt take the scale out now. Then I mentioned the housekeeping staff should take the scale back when they cleaned up the room after guest check out. Then the staff promised to give me early morning the following day. Fortunately he came to send the scale to my room 1 hour afterwards. Third experience, I asked for courier service to the concierge. I need to send some stuffs to Perth prior to check out (I check out Monday morning), but since it was Sunday the concierge staff ask me to arrange with the Business Centre. When I called business centre they asked me to arrange to concierge. They sent me back & forth. I dont considered this as a 4 or 5 star hotel service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was disappointed to learn of the service issues you experienced as this is not characteristic of our usual standards, please accept my sincere apologies.

We would like the opportunity to discuss your experiences further so please contact us at your convenience on (03) 9292 8160.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews