We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation, good and bad customer service experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good accomodation, good and bad customer service experiences”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Was able to get a good deal on the room, so was really great value.
Room was of very good standard, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom is very nice, clean, with excellent toiletries. Shower is ridiculously huge as you can see in the photo, excellent water pressure.
Used the indoor swimming pool, great for a dip and with glass windows excellent scenery of surrounding Melbourne.
One night decided to have a quiet night in with my traveling partner, so spoke with reception about a DVD player for the room, was told we could rent one for $15/night. There was a particular movie we wanted to watch so we went to the shopping mall and bought it that afternoon. On return that evening we stopped to rent the DVD player - the person at concierge (different to who we spoke to) as we were about to pay requested $50, my partner and I thought this was a security bond, but it was the actual price to rent for the night ($50!?!?! really... could almost buy one). We said the previous man before during the day quoted $15, and that we had went to buy the DVD because $15 was fine, but $50 was ridiculous. After about another 10minutes of discussion and speaking with the manager they provided it at the originally quoted $15.
We brought the DVD player back to the room but had issues connecting it, upon ringing concierge someone was up straight away and sorted the problem out (you dont connect the cables directly into the back of the tv like youd do at home, on the study desk theres an outlet for all these plug ins, thats where they were supposed to plugged in).

The DVD incident with the misinformed concierge marked an otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    864
    174
    38
    45
See reviews for
378
884
88
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

What an absolute treat was to stay in this amazing hotel. Check-in was a breeze, very polite and professional staff, beautiful lobby area, everything is absolutely spotless. But wait till you get to your room, especially so if you are checking in at night - WOWWW, WHAT A VIEW!!!! Best view in Melbourne, you can sit on the window bay for hours and admire the view.

Bed, linens, pillows and duvets were fabulous, you will get a very comfortable sleep. TIP: turn the aircon off at night, you will still hear it if you are a light sleeper.

Room decor is very nice. Bathrooms are beautiful, shower rooms are gigantic, can easily fit 3 people.

One of the important features that I absolutely loved was that this establishment is inter-connected to the main 5 star Crowne hotel, casinos, many bars, restaurants, cafes and SHOPPING! You seriously don't have to even step outside if you didn't want to.

Walking to the CBD, it takes about 10-15 minutes, so not a big effort, but not as simple as just stepping out and you are IN the city. There are advanatges though - no city grid lock during peak hours.

Overall, a fantastic place, I would recommend it to anyone. CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uniqque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I had a corner room on the 17th floor the views were amazing I could see right out to the ocean.
The bed was comfy Room spotless The television was flat screen had all the HD TV channels plus some Foxtel as well as you can buy Movies.
The Hotel is in the crown casino complex so There are stacks of restaurants, coffee shops, Casino, Cinema, video arcade's shops Luis Vuitton, Prada, FCUK, Guess to name a few. You don't have to leave the complex if you don't wish to. If you do the center of Melbourne is about a 15 minute walk. Etihad stadium about a 20 minute walk. There are trams out the front that go in all directions. The only downside I had was the housekeeping staff were pretty slack in making up the room and they lost my breakfast order otherwise all was good.

Room Tip: Take a jumper even in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed at Promenade 5 times this year 3 for buisness 2 for pleasure.
Prices are extremely good, room always clean and comfortable, staff always very very helpful.
all in the best location in Melbourne.
Have also stayed in Crown Towers quite a few times, great also but promenade just as nice and cheaper.
Get them to throw in breakfast and valet.

Hotel breakfast is,, well hotel breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillybilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Not impressed arriving after midnight to find that they only had a smoking room for us. No effort to rectify their mistake! Overcharged for standard room.

Room Tip: Avoid trap of being booked in to smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very nice rooms, large, bright and airy with comfortable beds. Excellent disabled facilities. Well positioned, close to melbourne city, on the south bank and connected to the casino and other restaurants/bars/shops. Close to the sky deck and tourist sites. Helpful and friendly staff. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We loved our stay here while in Melbourne. The room was spacious and very clean. We had a beautiful view of the bay. The front desk staff was only to happy to help with anything we needed or wanted. This hotel had a great pool overlooking the city, and we enjoyed the bar downstairs. We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austintxrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,765 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,261 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 159 in Melbourne
1,437 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing