We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #25 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Magnificent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Fast check in, helpful and friendly staff, beautiful views and a great place for pure relaxation. The spa and pool were absolutely fantastic.

The room was beautiful and from personal experience I enjoyed laying in front of the window taking in the magnificent views that Melbourne is known for. Bed was fantastic, felt like you're sleeping in heaven. Especially when you're in need of a great sleep after exploring what Melbourne has to offer.

However we did have one or two issues: the main pain being the room cards. We had a bit of difficulty getting up to our room the next morning because they wouldn't read.

Reception was lovely and helpful. Room service was great and catered for all our needs.

Overall a fantastic stay and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missjess57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    723
    154
    29
    38
See reviews for
317
715
70
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Attended a conference here... it was an amazing hotel..superb auditorium, and very good rooms too.. Casino is nearby and so is the ferry and metro..Trams too are flowing freely nearby. broadband speed was good though a bit expensive. Food was generally OK, but had an Indian Veg dish everyday on the Menu which was great for me.
Helpful and prompt front desk staff added to the pleasure of staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is Casino Complex and hotel, But i never visited that part of the complex, and you would not know It.
Lovely Rooms, Clean, Good Service and great views of Melbourne City center &River.
Watch out cost Breakfast Expensive for USA and Brits, Not for Aussies..
4 star property ,about $179 per night The meals for the Trade meetings were Very Good and Thanks to Waiting staff and Chefs Very Good. -Thank you ( better than the convention food in the states)

Room Tip: Make sure you get room with view the River view is Great !( as good as New York Skye Line), Be caref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CreativeToursFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Our 2 days stay is not worth it .They charged an early check in and if you leave your luggages upon check out, another charge. Front desk is not impressive and the staff doesn't make you feel welcome. We stayed on the 18th floor, no view, room is average,the good thing is quite and clean,
Hotel ambience, lack real flair. .If there is no CASINO COMPLEX, then its a total dissatisfaction.
The Conservatory Dinner buffet is good,overlooking the Yarra river. The Crown Casino foyer is truly magnificent and superb.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maganda0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Every minute here was wonderful. Spotlessly clean public areas and room. My room was spacious, with very good bathroom amenities. Large walk in marble shower. Robe and slippers in closet. Interior access to Casino, where there are more than a dozen restaurants and lots of shopping. Adjoins the Southbank Riverfront, so it is close to lots of other restaurants and shops, as well as a short walk over the bridge to the Melbourne Aquarium and the CBD. Needed help with an airline issue and concierge was very patient and helpful. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for riverview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Initially the Hotel was lovely. The lady that checked us in was happy and very accommodating. The room was simple with a lovely view towards the river. However, upon realising that I may be stranded in Melbourne due to the Qantas grounding I rang up the front desk to see if I could get a late checkout (so I could have time to organise what I would do etc.). I was told upon this request that this was not possible due to the hotel receiving a heavy booking the next day. When I requested how much an extra night would cost I received a sigh and was told the standard rate. He advised me that these rooms would probably be booked out. I awoke the next day with no idea where I would be staying that night and although the room was beautiful and the service was fine up to that date, I would not be staying at the Crown Promenade another night (due to the person I spoke to the night before). My decision not to stay that night was further compounded when I received a sarcastic thankyou smile from the lady who checked us out. I ended up staying the next night at the Grand Hyatt and the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tristianity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Qld
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a conference - nice (not outstanding) hotel close to Crown Casino and all that Melbnourne has to offer. The rooms are large and comfortable however lack and real flair, stock standard corporate room. Ordered room service and the food was outstanding. Front desk staff polite.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjaaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#78 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing