We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Shrine of Remembrance
from $41.00
More Info
from $53.70
More Info
from $72.40
More Info
Reviews (5,315)
Filter reviews
4,821 results
Traveler rating
3,618
1,033
154
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,618
1,033
154
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eternal flame dawn service men and women who gave their lives fallen soldiers war history fitting tribute beautiful memorial who lost their lives armed forces botanical gardens st kilda road worth a visit great place to visit melbourne city wars sacrifice
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,821 reviews
Reviewed today

Hoped off the hop on hop off bus at the Shrine of Rememberence and was amazed at the lovely gardens and grounds that surround this wonderful building. It was October and spring and the flowers were alive with colour. Walked into the building and was greeted by friendly, informative and helpful staff from beginning to end of our visit. Entrance is free and the Shrine is contained on three floors informing you of Australias commitments to wars and peace keeping going back to the beginning of their history. On one of the floors a man showed us the Battle of Britain section with Nottingham lace and the commitments of the Aussies to assist Britain in its hour of need. Finally the service for remembrance on the top floor was a moving and memorable tree minutes. This is a must visit place!

Thank Paulgaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

What an incredible view of the city. Make sure you have a walk around the neighbouring gardens or go for a run on the Tan Track if you are a fitness buff!

Thank Hobart_is_the_new_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Was not aware of the depth of role Australia played in both World Wars. This is a splendid place to encompass this especially a 100 years on from Armistice.

Thank apmulcahy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

An interesting place to visit in Melbourne. it struck me generally how important the two World Wars are in the public representation of what Australia is or who Australians are in different public places. The Shrine of Remembrance is quite impressive as a monument. It kind of links Australia to Europe more than to the Asia Pacific.

Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This place is just amazing, it says it all of Aussies and how proud they are of their soldiers. There are free guided tours organized by volunteers...they are great!

Thank miglozoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

A place of Magnificent Beauty and for us to pay our respect and remembrance for those Australians who have given their lives for our Freedom. It is impossible for me not to shed a tear in this great place. Take your time to enjoy the gardens around it. This monumental place also gives me a sense of pride and gratefulness whenever i visit it.
There is also a tribute in the garden to those Women & Children who were left in Australia whilst their love ones went and fought overseas. Visit on or around the 11th of November of each year and you will see those beautiful Flanders Poppies in bloom. A beautiful and moving sight.

Thank Hoong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We missed the ceremonies at this shrine (November 11) by 2 days, but the site was still very moving.

Thank LaBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The Shrine of Remembrance is a must do when in Melbourne.
Situated in beautiful landscaped gardens and overlooking the city it is a wonderful and moving tribute to all of those who fought for our freedom.

Thank lindadownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was an emotional experience for me. Seeing all the good that Australia Military have done to the world through the years.

Thank liketotravel619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

A wonderful tribute to all our war heroes and the sacrifices they made. Great displays and loads of memorabilia. A must see if you are in Melbourne and appreciate the life we have today because of those who fought for it during the Wars

Thank tinfence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews