We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic barman, helped me in 40+ degrees”
Review of Transport Hotel

Transport Hotel
Ranked #1,143 of 5,313 Restaurants in Melbourne
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Reviewed January 31, 2019

After walking much too far in the sweltering heat I just about made it into the Transport Bar. A very kind barman fetched me cold drinks and sat me under the air con. I appreciated his kindness as sometimes hard to find in such a busy city.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2019

I guess you are paying for the location and the view. Food is maybe 20% higher than it should be. But in such a tourist Mecca as fed square I still think that is acceptable. Nice food, service pretty ordinary.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank desmondwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Had lunch here on our way to the MCG for a Sunday afternoon game. We were seated promptly and served in good time. Fish and chips was a big serving and I couldn't eat it all but it was a really good meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 987nadinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

great for a few quick drinks after work as flinders st station is directly across the road. You can also grab a bite to eat food is good too and service generally is pretty quick.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank dimnjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

We waited 25 minutes for our drinks. I had to ask where our drinks were after I saw other tables getting their drinks. These tables had arrived after us.

After nearly an hour I asked where our meals were.
They delivered our meals and one order was wrong!!!!
I went away hungry!

They did take our two drinks (wine and soft drink ) off the final bill.

Will never visit here again!!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Bettytay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transport Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Transport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing