We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, nice rooms and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Ranked #109 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I got a really good deal online here, prepaid special so got my room for about a $120 mid week so can't complain about the price.

Hotel is centrally located, 2 mins walk from the famous Victoria market. There's a good selection of reasonably priced Asian restaurants on the streets around.

Room very nice, luxurious and beds comfy. Great view over the city and got a lovely nights sleep,

Only complaint is the wifi, you are charged for it first of all. Every hotel in Asia offers it for free so why is it charged in Australia. It was also complex to log onto. Needs your room number and surname to login. Had trouble so rang reception and was advised just to try different versions of my name with capitulation. Finally got on but really should be free.

Overall, really nice stay, great price and would definitely return!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Paudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Good morning

Thank you for your email. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to pop across the road to the markets. They have an amazing selection of food and their is always something exciting happening.

With regards to wifi, we offer all our valued Silver, Gold and Platinum LeClub members complimentary wifi, and during the month of April, we are offering all guests who enrol in LeClub complimentary wifi for their first stay.

For those guests who are not LeClub members, we offer 30 minutes complimentary in the Business Centre.

Kind regards
Tamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 439 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed there for two nights and was not very much impressed. Location is convenient and hotel is relatively new but close to a construction site. Biggest issue is the noise in the room during night, mainly due to the aircondition and the ventilation in the bathroom that can't be switched off. Difficult to sleep without earplugs because the bed is just next to the bathroom.

Choice at breakfast is very much limited and restaurant has a very dark and not very much inviting ambiance. But bigger issue is attitude of staff at breakfast. When I asked for hot milk the lady denied my wish by telling me "we don't have hot milk" although there was a fully equipped kitchen in her back. Such a lazy work attitude! I then asked her to heat up some milk what she finally did (but not without showing me by her pained expression how much bored she was by my request). This employee should definitely not work in a hotel.

The only very much positive aspect was Sophie, one of the receptionists. She was very friendly and had a very good and professional work attitude.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Good morning

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Could you please contact me on 9637 6610 or sales@mercuretherrystreet.com.au with the room number you stayed in so that I can have our maintenance team check the air-conditioning and extractor fans. These items do not make sound so I would like to have them serviced ASAP.

I have also discussed your feedback with regards to the restaurant with the supervisor as this is very concerning. We will be conducting some retraining to ensure this does not happen again. I apologise for the issues experienced.

Kind regards
Tamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureTherryStreet, Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank LisaCee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureTherryStreet, Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank saintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureTherryStreet, Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here on business at a time when Melbourne was heavily booked with the Grand Prix and Fashion Week, so it was not my first choice and for this reason wouldn't stay there again as I have preferred hotels in Melbourne. Having said that, it is a good hotel.

The rooms are fresh with a great sized desk (which I love!) and also the other big bonus for this hotel was the opening windows (yeah!) and lots of natural light. There was construction going on next door which will be happening for a while so that was a bit noisy early in the morning.

Room service food was ok. The big letdown was the housekeeping, but once this was brought to Tamie's attention she fixed it immediately. The staff are a bit hit and miss, but Sandra was great! Price was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenallan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Good afternoon

My apologies for the Housekeeping issue you experienced during your stay. I have addressed these with the team and the staff member concerned has received further training to ensure that it does not happen again.
Should you need accommodation again in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me on my direct email and I will ensure you are looked after.

Kind regards
Tamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 36Peter36
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureTherryStreet, Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#75 of 161 in Melbourne
1,112 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,574 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
4,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Therry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Address: 43 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $88 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Therry Street 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street features 80 fully refurbished non-smoking hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Our rooms start on the 9th floor and have amazing views of the Melbourne CBD and shopping district. Situated opposite the iconic Queen Victoria Markets and within an easy walk of Melbournes shopping & entertainment district, our guests will never be short of something to do or see. Never be disconnected with Free WiFi for all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Therry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing