We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birches Serviced Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Birches Serviced Apartments
Ranked #38 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Birches apartments were good value for money, they were clean and in a good location. They certainly weren't flash, but the apartment that we had was comfortable - and especially good for those who like to have cooking facilities. The apartments also had a nice barbeque area out the back.

The apartment was a little bit noisey because it is right next to a busy road - but I found that with the windows shut most of this noise was blocked out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    65
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
50
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wangaratta, victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Friendly and sincere greeting on arrival by Tania who gave us all the info needed for our apartment. Safe, secure accomodation with parking available onsite at $10/day. Easy walking distance to MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Bridge Road Richmond shopping and eating, Spring Street theatres, Bourke Street shopping, eating. Brochures in our room of nearby take away places, some delivered. Supermarket within walking distance with discount for people staying at Birches. Plenty of info re attractions of the area in main foyer. Staff happy to keep our food in their office fridge as we weren't leaving Melbourne immediately on bookout time. Felt that nothing was too much trouble for them and would definately stay again. Suitable for all age groups and children too. Highly recommend. (Some traffic noise at night but not unbearable)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed at The Birches and found the staff very friendly and extremely helpful. We had our dog with us and had no issues with having her in our room. Rooms were clean but could use some updating. Was very nice that we could walk into downtown Melbourne from here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMermaid98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

My girlfriend and i stayed in the two bedroom Terrace house opposite side of road to the serviced room apartments. Location was fantastic tram at end of street,or alternatively a short $10 taxi ride to the city/casino. All the wonderful vietnamese restaurants a 5min walk away. Shopping Bridge Road, Chapel Street, Smith Street Factory outlets all within 5-10min drive. When we walked into our terrace home we both felt at home. Two good size bedrooms lovely bathroom with adjoining laundry with washer, dryer etc. Great kitchen not that we needed to use it with all the great restaurants so close by. Lovely lounge dining area and then you have your own courtyard complete with bbq and outdoor setting. The courtyard was a great area to unwind with a quick drink prior to setting off on foot to find some great food. All up we had a wonderful stay and would recommend this accommodation to anyone seeking a bit more space than your standard city hotel room. We paid the $10 per day to park our car within the grounds of the serviced apartments on the opposite side of the road although off street parking was no issue. Money well spent and we both agree we would stay again on our next trip to Melbourne

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skinsterQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

The room I stayed in (one bedroom apartment) was beautiful, it was spacious and clean and very welcoming. The kitchen provided everything I needed to cook for myself and the curtains blocked out the sun when closed which meant sleeping in until 11am was easy ^_^

It was literally a 5 minute stroll to the IGA and bottle shop which came in very handy, and across the road from the tram taking me directly to the city.

The staff were outstanding, they did everything they could to make my stay as enjoyable as possible - and were very kind patient with me when my friend locked us out of hotel room... twice =p

I definitely recommend Birches Serviced apartments for anyone wanting a nice, self contained room for themselves whilst staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunachyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed here for our last night in Melbourne and I wish we had forked out some more for a decent hotel. This place was just awful. It was an old block of flats that had undergone an el cheapo reno. The worst thing was the smell - I didn't actually realise that they let pets in the rooms.

The place was not terribly clean either. We ended up stripping the sheets off the bed and using the sofa bed sheets to cover the mattress. Incidentally the sofa beds were nothing more than two very tired couches.

Whoever took the professional photos of this hotel did a very good job covering up how awful the place was. It's also located on a very busy road, so it was very noisy. Parking was difficult as well. The carpark is so small that getting in and out of the space was a chore.

Don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treens250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birches1, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Further to your review posted in 2009, we would like to inform you that the new management of Birches Serviced Apartments have conducted some renovations in 2011 and again in 2012. The apartments have been refurbished and are without any doubt more modern. Some of the works undergone comprise of new awnings, new carpets and new sofa beds. Please feel free to have a look at the new pictures or pay us a visit next time you are around to see the difference.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

The only thing Birches Apartments has going for it is the location and secure parking otherwise we had three sleepless nights in the two bedroom apartment with the windows facing a busy highway and a public telephone box directly near the children's bedroom window - people used this at all times of the night with lots of swearing etc. The thin glass and wooden blinds did nothing to stop the terrible noise and street lights shining in.
Sure I could put up with the mold, dirty carpet, cracks in the bathroom that was so cold you could breath frost, dingy reverse cycle unit etc but three exhausted children was more than I could bare. When I went to reception they smiled and said they had never had a complaint regarding the noise! and offered no suggestions. If the city had not been booked out we would have left...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skirk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aberlour Court
Aberlour Court
#14 of 126 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
#43 of 126 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alston Apartments Hotel
Alston Apartments Hotel
#31 of 126 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Darling Apartments South Yarra
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#34 of 126 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birches Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches Serviced Apartments

Property: Birches Serviced Apartments
Address: 160 Simpson Street | Corner Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birches Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birches Serviced Apartments offer fully equipped and spacious apartments with all the comforts of home, featuring full kitchen with microwaves and hotplates, Free Wifi and much more. A beautiful common court-yard with BBQ facilities with a veggie and herb garden are at the disposal of guests. What's more our guests can also use the bicyles provided free of charge throughout their stay to ride around the city centre. Rooms recently refurbished and freshened up under New Management since August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Birches Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birches Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing