We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel
Ranked #102 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The first trick was to find the entrance. Then the there was the issuing of a single towel and one swipe key. Next came trying to work out the entry to the room and how to access power. We consoled ourselves with the fact that we are old! Anyway the towel and swipe key sorted out we settled in. The room was compact but all that was needed for a short stay. The location is excellent and within walking distance of the CBD, Lygon street eateries and Vic markets. Being close to Melb Uni there are many cheap eateries along Swanston street. The Tune is a great choice for a couple. There is a coffee shop, good public areas and laundry. Staff mostly friendly and helpful. We got a great deal through Play Melbourne. Would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Genevieve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

HI Genevieve O,

Thanks for your review. We only issue one swipe key but we will happily provide a second on request. Your package should have come with 2 towels so I do apologise about that.

Glad you enjoyed the location, it sure is handy!

Hope to see you at Tune Melbourne again soon.

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 882 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, a short distance from Melbourne's university district. Many cheap food options available within a short walking distance. There is a nice cafe open across the street for breakfast.
I liked the hotel, it is new, and the facilities within the room are new. The price was great per night. I didn't have a good night's sleep, three days in a row, as the room only allowed me to put the air conditioning on between 19-24 degrees. Even at 24 degrees it was too cold, and I could've used another blanket. There was only one power outlet, which was disappointing as I had a few devices i needed to charge. Other than that the shower was hot and the toilet clean. The Wifi was a bit tricky to work out, and the connection not too great inside the room.
I wouldn't stay here again for more than one night. On a cold Melbourne night, the heating needs to be more flexible.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces outward onto the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patasha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Hi Palagiteine,

Thanks for your review. We have all the rooms set to a standard temperature which you can adjust between, but if you speak to front desk next time we can definitely change that for you.

Regards

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Having arrived in Melbourne at 4am after a 26 hour flight from the UK, I was worried I'd have to hang around in the city centre until 11am or 2pm for a check-in, but for a small fee they let me check-in at 7am! A great and welcome start!

The room was quiet, comfortable and had all the amenities one could wish for in a budget establishment. The shower was lovely, the bed was comfortable, TV was good, and a big bedside table for all your needs.

Basic - yes, but of great comfort.

Stayed for 5 nights while presenting at a conference, and this would be first choice if I came to Melbourne again.

Reasons for 4-star rating instead of 5:

* No housekeeping on a weekend, based on my experience. I put a 'please clean' sign on my door on Friday evening, and by Sunday it was still untouched. This is a minor thing, so 4.5 stars would be accurate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Hi MWLawson

Thanks for your kind words. Glad we could help you get rested up for your conference.

Your room should have been cleaned on the Saturday, we apologise for that oversight. Rooms are not cleaned on Sunday's however.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you at one of our properties again soon!

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Loved staying at the Tune with my partner and 2 kids. Only 2 blocks walk to Melbourne Central Train Station and mall and we were able to walk everywhere. We had a family room which meant we got 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms for the price of one which made our holiday really affordable. Free things like 15 minutes wifi per person per day and free boiling water in the downstairs laundry were a welcome surprise. We took our own towels, soap and coffee cups but they have paper cups if you want to make a tea and have your own teabags. There are also tables downstairs to eat at if you want to eat a picnic lunch or breakfast. There's a Coles supermarket 2 blocks away at Melbourne Central and Lygon street is very close for great Italian food.

Room Tip: Family rooms are good value for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank traveller3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi traveller3212,

Thanks so much for your review! Glad you loved our family rooms, they are very popular! Sounds like you enjoyed our fantastic location as well, thats what we like to hear!

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We made a last minute reservation to Tune Hotel via a package from our local travel agent for 4D3N trip to Melbourne. We arrived way early in the morning after a long flight and straight from the airport we found the staff was warm, friendly and helpful. After the early check in procedure, we received our access card, breakfast voucher and free wifi detail and toiletries bags (Hooray for fresh clean bath towels!)

The room, the bed and the shower were spotlessly nice clean and comfortable. The lights, TV and air dryer, power point were in perfect working order, too. We didn't use the safety box (inside our room) and the laundry (on ground floor), tho.

For our breakfasts, we use our voucher at the small eatery/cafe. We found the staffs are kind and helpful. They have a simple menu such as sandwiches and muffins but they are delicious and suit with our tastebuds. We're also pleased the service the staff provided, especially with my travel mate who's a specific dietary preference. Our only hope in they future they can have more hot food options such as a humble hot soup for the cold winter mornings and fresh fruits.

The location is also a plus. It is really close by to a tram stop, a walking distance to the CBD for sightseeing/food/entertainment/shopping, the Queen Victoria Market, and Lygon Street for shopping, Italian food/cafe and multicultural food options, Woolworths/Woolies supermarket and there's even a KFC nearby on the corner of Grattan Street for emergency/junk food craving option ;).

Overall, it was perfect for us who were travelling light and spent most of our time outside to explore Melbourne! We definitely will come back here for our future stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenkiFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi GenkiFu,

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed our service and facilities!

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very budget, but clean and comfortable. But plan your arrival to avoid a $22 fee for early check in, otherwise there is a pub on the corner nearby if you would rather spend that on beer while you wait. Found the staff helpful when we did check in. Close to Lyon street if your looking for a late night pizza.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ShaunJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi ShaunJ_10,

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

We do charge for an early check in and late check out. This is obviously optional if you would rather wander the city or enjoy the restaurants and pub nearby as you did!

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Tune Hotel was a great stay- it was clean, the beds were soft and comfy, the bathroom stall quite big and the showers warm. For you wifi-freaks like myself, we got free wifi for each of the days we stayed for up to 2 devices. The hotel was also within walking distance of Melbourne CBD (~10-15 minutes walk). The only thing I could say is that if you wanted to leave luggage with them before check-in, you had to pay $2.20/item, which I thought was a bit ridiculous and stingy of them because I was already a patron yet they still charged me for this service that other accommodation places would provide for free. Nevertheless, Tune Hotel is still a great stay and I would return.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank LucyOliviaWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi LucyOliviaWu,

Thanks for your review. You obviouly booked through one of the online Travel Agent websites (booking.com, Agoda etc) and got the comfort pack included with the Wi - Fi. Glad you had a good stay.

In regards to the luggage fee, we are an add on hotel so that is one of the things we do charge for, these are all optional add ons and allow us to keep the base rate quite low for everyone!

Hope to see you again soon!

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#113 of 161 in Melbourne
1,212 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#122 of 161 in Melbourne
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel

Address: 609 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Tune Hotel - Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $70 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel is one of the more economic and contemporary Melbourne hotels. Being within walking distance to the iconic landmarks and tourist destinations such as the Queen Victoria Market and the Royal Exhibition Building, this ibis hotel enjoys an excellent location for first-time travellers to Melbourne. The hotel allows easy access to the Lygon Street Italian precinct, restaurants at Gertrude Street and the shopping district of downtown Melbourne. With the Emporium and Melbourne Central Shopping Centre both at a 10 minutes' walking distance from the hotel, everything is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Otel, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing