We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, efficient, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel
Ranked #99 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Everything in this hotel is new and clean. It was excellent value (I think I averaged $80/night for 5 nights). However, remember that everything costs extra (towels, TV, Internet). I had these things included in my special (no breakfast).

You can catch a tram about 50m down the road that will take you to the centre of the city in about 5 minutes. Trams run along this road every 1-4 minutes until late at night. It's a couple of blocks over from the Italian restaurants along Lygon St.

My only complaint was that the air-conditioner temperature control was broken and it kept the room at about 24C. This is a nice temperature but it means that you have to take off layers of clothes (it was about 12C max outside when I stayed). They offered to move me to another room but I decided it was too much trouble to move. As compensation they gave me free storage of my luggage after checkout (normally charge a fee).

Overall, the hotel was very good value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Robert G,

Thanks so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed the value we offer!

Sorry to hear about the air con, This was noted by our Front Desk Team and has been rectified.

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

It's a plane? No. It's a bird? No. It's Superman? No. It's TUNE HOTEL MELBOURNE!

They saved my pocket from being burnt, literally and figuratively. Cheap but packed with goodness from the moment you enter into the building. Although decorations are kept to minimal, they did not compromise on the bed, amenities and ESPECIALLY, their signature power shower. After a long flight from Kuala Lumpur, the first thing you will crave for is probably a good shower and TUNE HOTEL MELBOURNE did not disappoint.

After a good shower, you might wanna grab a quick nap before hitting around the city. The bed might be smaller than those of the average but they certainly did not compromise on the comfort. Double thumbs up to everything within the room. Couldn't ask for anything better within the price range.

Now on the location, I will give Mark Lancaster and the TUNE team a pat on the back because TUNE HOTEL MELBOURNE is located at such a strategic point that literally if you try to throw a stone with all your might, you might just hit the CBD. It is that near! Like if you run, you will probably reach the city in say... 20 seconds? It's so near to the city and it's so easy to access anywhere and everywhere. Tram access is approximately 2 minutes of walk from your doorstep and if you need to grab some stuffs, 7-Eleven is just 3 minutes walk or less away (don't forget to grab a cup of hot chocolate at just 2 dollars!).

I won't spoil further about the hotel. Go and experience it yourself. If you didn't at least try a night in TUNE HOTEL MELBOURNE, mark my words, you will regret it, especially if you're a budget traveller.

Nothing less than 5 stars to them and kudos to the team for the hospitality. If I ever go back to Melbourne again, I won't choose anything other than TUNE HOTEL MELBOURNE. Period.

Room Tip: Don't have to worry about the noise from the tram; the rooms are adequately protected from noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andy_koay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Hi andy_koay,

Well what a fantastic review you have left us! We are so glad we could add to your Melbourne experience. How good are those power showers?!!

Glad you enjoyed our convenient location as well, so easy to get around!

Myself and the team can't wait to welcome you back here :)

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was in a fantastic location, we practically walked everywhere or took the free tram located on Lygon/Swanston St stop. It's a great little space for those that only need a hotel room to sleep, rather than spend a lot of time in. The beds were amazingly comfortable, and the shower exceptional! The staff I spoke to were very friendly and helpful. Overall Tune Hotel suited our 3 night getaway to Melbourne, I will definitely be back in the near future!

Room Tip: Our room was street view twin room on the third floor. We stayed from Thursday to Sunday (a total of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Hi Emily K,

Thanks for your kind words! We are so happy we helped make your holiday experience even better, that's what we love to hear!

Hope to see you back with us again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

A great little well priced hotel in Swanston Street, approximately 5 minute walk to CBD, 5 Minutes to Lygon, Victoria Markets and free city circle tram. Walking distance to MCG and Etihad allow minimum of 30 minutes, or catch tram that runs past hotel.
Service excellent, check in all handled efficiently. Room on 3rd floor was quiet, very clean, small but functional, would recommend for single persons staying or couple short stay.
There are several packages for your stay. Basically you pay extra for add ons such as tv, wifi etc. Café onsite. Excellent value for money but would recommend booking early to get best prices through Expedia.

Room Tip: Take extra coat hangers. Great for single people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hi shazhunter,

Thanks so much for your review. We love hearing all the feedback from our guests.

Glad to hear you enjoyed our location and value, 2 of our key values!

Hope to see you at one of Tune properties again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pros:
- Friendly staff
- Hotel is well located
- Clean room
- New hotel
- Free Wifi
- Laundry room available

Cons:
- Small room
- Had to pay for early check in

Overall, we had a comfortable stay at the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shimal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hi Shimal S.

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we do appreciate all the feedback!

Early Check in is one of the extra's we offer through our concept. As we say though, you're more than welcome to go and explore our great city and come back and check in at 2pm.

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great location, easy walk down Swanston to get to the main areas of Flinders street and Federation Square, was roughly half an hour walk to south bank, also really easy to walk to Queen Victoria market about 10 minutes away. Easy access to the trams, there's a stop about half a block away, there's a stop for the airport shuttle on the opposite corner and I only took this out bound which I booked with he reception desk at no charge.

The room itself was small but perfectly functional, I travelled alone and it was just fine but I think with 2 people and 2 suitcases it would be really cramped - especially as there's only 4 hangers and no where to put a second suitcase.

I like the fact that you can choose what you want to pay for, if you're only staying for 1 night its a great way to save - I spent a week there and had the comfort package which was internet, TV and towels - I did however expect the towels would've been changed at least once during a 7 night stay?

I used the laundry at the hotel which is really hand when travelling, it was $6 to was and for 40 mins drying which in my opinion is expensive.

I didn't try the coffee bar but there always seemed to be a few people there.

Overall a great experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi HelenFromUK T,

Thanks so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and embraced the concept.

In regards to the towels, you can pick fresh ones up at the desk any time you want if you have them in your package every night. As not everyone does buy the towels we don't replace them in your room. I will brief my staff to make sure they are explaining this to everyone at front desk when they check in, which should be the case. There is also plenty of room under your bed for your suitcases too!

Hope to see you again at one of our properties!

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tune over three nights.
We checked in at 12.30am in the morning and was greeted with a friendly man at reception, I'm a light sleeper so when we got into our room and realized it was on the tram line side of the hotel I was disappointed but very surprisingly despite other reviews I found the double glazing really blocked out the road noise, that and the super comfortable bed equalled a great nights sleep.

It's in a great location, walking distance to the Vic markets, & a very short tram into the mall or you could easily walk it.

Some reviews mention that there isn't any bag room but there is heaps under the bed & on the desk or on the fold out luggage thing. We didn't find the room cramped at all.

The shower - awesome!

My only negative is that there is only one power point which is in the bedroom so when I wanted to use my hair straightener I had to stand on the bed to use the mirror haha
A power point(even single) in the bathroom would have made our stay perfect.

Thanks Tune - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TasCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi TasCouple,

Thanks so much for your kind words! Glad we could help you out with your accomodaiton needs.

I will pass the feedback onto my nights team and make sure they hear it :)

Can't wait to see you again at Tune Melbourne

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#108 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 161 in Melbourne
1,206 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel

Address: 609 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Tune Hotel - Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $72 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel is one of the more economic and contemporary Melbourne hotels. Being within walking distance to the iconic landmarks and tourist destinations such as the Queen Victoria Market and the Royal Exhibition Building, this ibis hotel enjoys an excellent location for first-time travellers to Melbourne. The hotel allows easy access to the Lygon Street Italian precinct, restaurants at Gertrude Street and the shopping district of downtown Melbourne. With the Emporium and Melbourne Central Shopping Centre both at a 10 minutes' walking distance from the hotel, everything is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing