We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed 4 nights recently at this hotel - 2A & 2C. So we were extremely surprised to find we had two rooms, with adjoining door! This for us was an absolute highlight, as we expected a shared room with our kids!!
The hotel is close enough to everything just to walk, but trams are directly out the front if needed. We didn't need the TV turned on once throughout our stay, which was great too!!
As others have said a downside is the limited number of powerpoints. I am sure I could find more things that are a fault with this hotel, but you just have to remember its a budget hotel and those things don't really matter anyway!! The hotel room was clean and suited our family. Thanks for our stay, we will visit again or maybe try a Tune hotel in another country!!!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Optimistic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

HI Optimistic12,

Thanks for your review. Sounds like you enjoyed our family room, they are very popular.

Hope to see you at one of our many Tune Hotels again soon!

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

We Stayed easter weekend here and was a great welcome by staff and presentation of hotel was beautiful modern and clean. The rooms were small double but all facilities you need to sleep and have shower so clean and warm.
The heating was way to hot tried to turn down but always came back on too hot! Was the only downside to the place. Told front reception a number of times.
Close by to lygon street to eat. Trams out front and walking distance to cbd. I would definitely stay here again for the price u pay great value.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Ice-star79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Ice-star79,

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed three nights in this clean, nice and value hotel. Love it and will recommend my friends. Will stay again in my next visit. Service is good. The beds are great, The location is good and very near to public transport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi TheWoody,

Thanks for your review. Sounds like you had a great stay, that's what we like to hear!

Can;t wait to welcome you back again soon.

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Tune Hotel Melbourne was the third Tune hotel I'd stayed in within the year and I was so happy that the standard of accommodation was the same over the different hotels.

Easy late night check in. Stayed in the "family room". You entered through one door, then had two separate doors to the bedrooms. The rooms had a double bed and bathroom each. Lots of room in one room, the other was a little smaller but definitely nothing to complain about.

Beds were very comfortable and shower was lovely. And the rooms were very clean!

The tram stop is right outside the door and goes straight down the guts of the CBD. We walked from the hotel to the MCG which took about 40mins but was a pleasant walk.

Lygon street is the next street over and easy to get to. Didn't have anything from the Cafe at hotel but the breakfast and coffee smelled amazing.

$2.20 per bag to store your luggage after you check out. The Sky Bus hotel transfer van picks up and drops off from this hotel. A taxi from here to Southern Cross Station cost us $12.

I'm so glad Tune hotels is in Australia and I hope more pop up soon!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, facing Swanston street so I found the tram noise a bit bothersome but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluechilli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi bluechilli8,

Thanks for your review. Glad you got to enjoy our family room, they certainly are popular! It sounds like you made the most of our location as well!

Hope to see you again Soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights
Pros
- clean modern room
- got a good deal off one of the booking sites
- tv had foxtel
- free wifi included in the booking (although can be an extra depending on what deal you bought)

Cons
- cant prove it without a tape measure but the bed doesnt quite seem like a queen. Its bigger than a double but seems too small to be a queen because I was unusually close to my partner.
- bathroom is very squishy and has zero power points. It only has a built in tiny hair dryer. So girls the only place for your dryer or straighteners are in the bedroom and the mirror isnt really placed properly for you to see yourselves. Guys, no plugs for your shavers. I would recommend a 5m extension cord if u can.
- no bedside tables for you to put your things on.
- very squishy so the bed is almost up against the wall. If youre a rather large person, you would have trouble getting around the bed
- heater doesnt heat past 24degs which isnt very warm. Id hate to think how bad it is in winter. It would be fine in summer id assume.
- housekeeping came but didnt replace towels or clean the bathroom. They only did the bed. Tucking the stupid sheets so tightly into the bed is one of the most useless things of the housekeeping procedure

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beekool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Beekool,

Thanks for your review.

To address a few of your points you have raised. The bed is definitely a queen bed. The towel's don't get replaced by Housekeeping as they are an add on. As people pay to hire them we dont remove them from the room unless asked. Should you need more just see us at the desk and we are happy to swap them over if you have more included. We find 24 degrees is more than enough for most people, next time see us at the desk, it can be adjusted.

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel! Value for money is the key here; nothing overly fancy but just a clean and comfortable hotel. The bed was great, tv was a good size, room was warm and the bathroom facilities were great! The location was superb and suited our visit to the CBD perfectly! Will definitely return!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Welltravelledtappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Welltravelledtappers,

Value is definitely one word we associate with Tune! Glad you loved the stay, the location and the money you would have saved to spend on some of the great sights Melbourne has to offer.

Can't wait to see you again at Tune Melbourne!

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with daughter and couldn't fault this hotel. No fancy extras but perfect for access to the city, cleanliness, staff very helpful, great showers, cute cafe. Tram stop very close by. I loved not having carpets in the room as I find dust can be a problem. The facilities available for use in the lounge and laundry near the reception were great although we didn't need to use them. There is no view to speak of and the rooms are small but didn't expect to be sitting in the room to look out much anyway. There are only doona's/quilts on the bed rather than a heavy cover with a sheet which seems to be the way of many hotels. Either turn down the air con or leave the window open overnight so that you don't roast. Rooms 21 or 28 on each floor have a little more room than the others if you need it for all the shopping! We booked via booking.com and this package included the wifi, towels, shampoo and soap. Would recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 21 and 28, any floor. Its a corner room and has a little extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandalay85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Mandalay85,

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we offer.

Hope to see you again soon.

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 162 in Melbourne
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,189 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel

Address: 609 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Tune Hotel - Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $75 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing