We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, loved it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punthill Manhattan
Ranked #59 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, loved it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

wow, not what i expected. We travelled with a group of 10 and had 2 x 3 bedroom apartments, one on the second floor the other on the fifth. The location is excellent, everything is within walking distance and Flinders Lane is quite trendy in itself. Price was reasonable and the apartments were great. On the second night our room had trouble with the air conditioning so we were offered a 1 bedroom on the ground floor and a 2 bedroom on the basement level. Having read previous reviews on these basement rooms i expected something awful, but having experieced the 5th floor (you can hear all the street noise) made us appreciate this extremely quiet, and modern room. Yes the view wasnt great but the sleep we had was!! All in all i cant really fault Punthill Mathattan from the location, price, staff and everything in between it truly was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nothingbutthetruth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    175
    36
    5
    5
See reviews for
67
110
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Whilst this apartment hotel was in a great location and was spacious enough for 2 people thats pretty much where it stops. I stayed here for a 3 day girls weekend.

The beds were very uncomfortable and if you use the pull out bed bring an eye mask as the light pours in from 8am through the see-through blinds

Our room was not cleaned for the 3 days we were there, though fresh towels were given at least (one had a hair on it though!). Bathroom is very large however only our heater lights worked so it made it very interesting putting on makeup!

The lady at the front desk wasn't very helpful, she was a smoker (which you knew by the smell then by seeing her smoke) and she didnt really know where much was (she asked us to point out Brunswick Street on the map then told us to check with the free Tram as to how to get there when the stop for Brunswick was around the corner!).

I'd stay here again for the location, at the Paris end of Flinders and a short walk to the city and down Collins Street for amazing restaurants and cafes. Try Cumulus two doors down its awesome!

I'd still recommend this hotel, just keep in mind that its not a 4 or 5 star property and you'd need a map plus your own pillow for comfort! Its fairly average, I've stayed in better but have also stayed in worse. If you get a good deal it would be worth it, otherwise skip it for the more boutique style places along Flinders Lane or Collins Street's amazing hotels.
.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydney_Traveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We had a great stay at the Punthill Manhatten...after scouring the interent for the right accommodation for 5 nights in Aug/Sept I were very happy with the choice of the stylish, warehouse- style apartments which were in a great location in Flinders Lane.
The apartment was spacious and clean. Friendly and helpful service on our check-in providing us with maps and helpful hints in places to visit.
Want to mention - carpets may need some attention.....but this wasn't an issue.
We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise2010-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in October 2010 in a 3 bedroom apartment. Plenty of room for 6 people. The apartment was clean and was serviced with clean towels etc even though we had a short stay. The full kitchen and laundry would be ideal for those staying longer. The bedroom nearest the street was quite noisy both nights. Overall this was a good value option in quite a convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoniOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My daughter and I have just returned from a two-night stay at PuntHill Manhatten. We booked at the same time as others in our party (more than a month in advance) and were given a basement apartment. These apartments are literally in the basement - entrance is through a utilities corridor and down two flights of fire stairs. No lifts, so you have to drag your luggage down there.
Our apartment had a large window which unfortunately let in virtually no light because it was about two metres from a multilevel car park. Interesting sights and sounds from THAT car park (yes, you can see into the car park and they appear to be able to see into the apartment).
The air conditioning was so loud (think car park airconditioning which appears to be boxed around) we ended up buying earplugs.
And to top matters off, my daughter, who grew out of her asthma in childhood, woke up wheezing and fighting to breathe.
The others in our party were given a room on level 6. There were no issues with this apartment.
But as you cannot be guaranteed WHICH apartment you will be getting, I would definitely give this place a miss.
The basement apartments truly are not fit for habitation.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NSW1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Booked 2bedrooms apartment, but was given 2 rooms with connecting door. Rooms located at the basement, facing car park, hence no view at all. Rooms are clean and good size, each room has 1 queen size bed in the room and a sofa bed. Arrived at 9am, was lucky that the rooms are ready and we manage to get early check in, that's very helpful. Apart from that, the fact that Front Desk closed at night, the service is not that impressive.
Location is not bad but not perfect either. Punthill Flinder Lane is better in term of location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My 12-year-old daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights. Terrible view over the carpark from our apartment but, as a result, it was very quiet during the night. Well-equipped but could have been a bit cleaner. Bathroom a bit "tired" and quite a tricky shower to get in and out of - a handle on the wall would help as you have to step out of the bath and down to the floor. I doubt very much that an elderly or unfit person could cope with it. My daughter slept on the couch-bed and the blinds did not block out the light in the morning although it did seem to bother her. Very cllose to shops etc at the Parliament end of town; close to the tram, etc. IGA store around the corner - well-stocked but a little pricey. The Coles supermarket was a fair walk away although you could get a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliali53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#82 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Flinders Street
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#81 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Property: Punthill Manhattan
Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing