We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you kidding me”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punthill Manhattan
Ranked #84 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was the worst, booked through sporting company for the Tennis. Arrive , room to ready. You can wait on hard chairs... Oh sorry lift not working, you can wait a while longer or walk up 4 floors with my 73 yr old mum... Go to tennis, lift still not working .. Down four flights, tennis walk was fine good location. Tennis finishes as midnight . Back up four flights of stairs. Poor mum. Room not finished, concrete beams cracks and holes in walls. Sofa lounge broken, had to put mattress onto the floor to sleep., 10 am checkout as per usual, asked for late checkout, extended to 10.30. Beds hard, huge bath to climb into for a shower, once again not good for mum. Overall not happy Jan.

Room Tip: Don't bother, not nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Linda M,
We are so sorry to hear that the property did not meet your expectations. It was incredibly stressful for all concerned that the lift broke down. It was fixed in one day and we are so apologetic.
Of course the apartments are finished. We advertise the property as warehouse style, with exposed concrete, beams and rough plastering in some areas. This is the charm of the property. We will check all sofas and also wonder whether you advised reception as this would have been attended to immediately.
We would love you to consider staying at one of our other city apartment hotels next time you visit Melbourne - Punthill Flinders Lane or Punthill Little Bourke - as they are both different styles and may suit you much better.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    202
    40
    8
    7
See reviews for
75
137
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

pros
Helpful reception
Spacious and self contained
Modern and airy
IGA within 2min walk, Coles express 10 mins (for self caterers)
Good value for money if you book in advance
Quiet apt located on higher floors away from lift
Walking distance to tennis

cons
Walls a bit thin, you can hear some noise of neighbours
Air con a bit noisy, panel broken
No pool
Housekeeping (cleanliness) not 100% but nothing that bothered us
This is not the Ritz Carlton, don't expect bells and whistles

Overall we would come back. Big thanks to Steven who ran up and down flights of stairs to get us a 6th floor apt, 1 hour before designated check in. He is very accommodating and went to the extra effort to find us a suitable room

Room Tip: For light sleepers, request a room away from the lifts and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear sarah y,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Punthill Manhattan.
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.
We do have a large spa pool located on the same level as our gymnasium, which is open daily for our guests to enjoy.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had a great stay, staff were superb , very friendly and helpful, and apartment was very spacious and comfortable and modern, nice modern décor too. Great location for Australian open tennis and shopping .Able to walk to everything. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayhappydaysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Holidayhappydaysl,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We agree that the location of this city apartment hotel is ideal for shopping til you drop, as well as attending sporting events at Melbourne Park and the MCG in particular.
We are extremely pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and will recommend Punthill too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while watching the Australian Open tennis.
Its a great location. 10-15 min easy walk to the tennis centre, restaurants and convenience stores near by and big comfortable beds.
There were two of us sharing a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment. The aprtment had a fully self contained kitchen with a good sized lounge area and washing facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only downside was we had a room at the back, the only access to which was down two flights of stairs. When you got inside, the only window looked across a pile of dirt to an enclosed car park, but other than that the room was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Apparently there are 2 Punthill at Flinders Lane, and we didn't expect that at all and we went to the other one when we arrived. And our Taxi Driver also went to the other one to pick us up to the airport. Hence please remember the unit number and not just the Lane's Name.

The location is great... a big shopping center with everything you need right in front and short walking distance from the Free Tram's stop.

The 2 rooms apartment was great, is good for 5 people. Everything in the kitchen is clean and new.. rooms and beds are very comfortable with a bit of view.

We would recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Our room is at the 5th floor and is not noisy at all all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esjay_Brunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Esjay_Brunei,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
Great to hear that the apartments and location met all your needs and that you had an enjoyable stay.
We do have two properties on Flinders Lane in the city centre as you mentioned. We have Punthill Manhattan @ 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne that you stayed at, as well as Punthill Flinders Lane @ 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne which is a few blocks away. We do always send confirmation emails which include the address of the property booked, and particularly to avoid any confusion for these 2 properties in the city centre.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

These apartments are located directly behind Sebel Melbourne Hotel, so if you are looking for the location but not the Sebel price tag than this will suit. I had to attend a conference at the Sebel, the back entrance to this hotel was only metres from these apartments. Parking in Melbourne can be very costly however there is a car park situated two doors down from the Apartments and if you have your ticket validated by reception it is quite cost effective. On arrival I asked for an apartment on one of the upper floors and did not notice any major street noise. I had booked a 1 BR apartment but was kindly upgraded to 2BR which was very nice and unexpected. Bathroom could do with an upgrade...I'm not fond of showers over the bath but that's just my personal preference. I stayed in room 506. My stay was on a Sunday and Monday and I did find there were not many eating places in the direct vicinity that were open on the Sunday evening however it was only a short walk to Chinatown.... there was the option to order in. Reception were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper levels of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisdreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear parisdreams1,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan on TripAdvisor.
Great to hear that the apartments and location of this city property met all your needs during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a ground floor (internal to the block) 1 BR apartment which was light and airy, very well maintained and had a comfy bed. Central to everything. Reception staff were very helpful. A great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear helsaAustralia,
As a return guest to Punthill Manhattan, we are delighted to know that you had another enjoyable stay, and thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#67 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#98 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Property: Punthill Manhattan
Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing