We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Manhattan
Ranked #93 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while watching the Australian Open tennis.
Its a great location. 10-15 min easy walk to the tennis centre, restaurants and convenience stores near by and big comfortable beds.
There were two of us sharing a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment. The aprtment had a fully self contained kitchen with a good sized lounge area and washing facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only downside was we had a room at the back, the only access to which was down two flights of stairs. When you got inside, the only window looked across a pile of dirt to an enclosed car park, but other than that the room was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 400 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Apparently there are 2 Punthill at Flinders Lane, and we didn't expect that at all and we went to the other one when we arrived. And our Taxi Driver also went to the other one to pick us up to the airport. Hence please remember the unit number and not just the Lane's Name.

The location is great... a big shopping center with everything you need right in front and short walking distance from the Free Tram's stop.

The 2 rooms apartment was great, is good for 5 people. Everything in the kitchen is clean and new.. rooms and beds are very comfortable with a bit of view.

We would recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Our room is at the 5th floor and is not noisy at all all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esjay_Brunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Esjay_Brunei,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
Great to hear that the apartments and location met all your needs and that you had an enjoyable stay.
We do have two properties on Flinders Lane in the city centre as you mentioned. We have Punthill Manhattan @ 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne that you stayed at, as well as Punthill Flinders Lane @ 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne which is a few blocks away. We do always send confirmation emails which include the address of the property booked, and particularly to avoid any confusion for these 2 properties in the city centre.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

These apartments are located directly behind Sebel Melbourne Hotel, so if you are looking for the location but not the Sebel price tag than this will suit. I had to attend a conference at the Sebel, the back entrance to this hotel was only metres from these apartments. Parking in Melbourne can be very costly however there is a car park situated two doors down from the Apartments and if you have your ticket validated by reception it is quite cost effective. On arrival I asked for an apartment on one of the upper floors and did not notice any major street noise. I had booked a 1 BR apartment but was kindly upgraded to 2BR which was very nice and unexpected. Bathroom could do with an upgrade...I'm not fond of showers over the bath but that's just my personal preference. I stayed in room 506. My stay was on a Sunday and Monday and I did find there were not many eating places in the direct vicinity that were open on the Sunday evening however it was only a short walk to Chinatown.... there was the option to order in. Reception were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper levels of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parisdreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear parisdreams1,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan on TripAdvisor.
Great to hear that the apartments and location of this city property met all your needs during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a ground floor (internal to the block) 1 BR apartment which was light and airy, very well maintained and had a comfy bed. Central to everything. Reception staff were very helpful. A great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helsaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear helsaAustralia,
As a return guest to Punthill Manhattan, we are delighted to know that you had another enjoyable stay, and thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a great place to stay.
We were on the top floor far away from the lifts.
You had some street noise late on the Saturday night but we had left the windows open. We were worried after some people complained that it had been noisy.
Staff were helpful. But the desk isn't always manned but they came quickly enough.
Amazing locations for places to eat. And so accessible to all the trams and federation square.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Antlewis,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Punthill Manhattan in a 3br apartment. The location is great, right in the middle of the city. Close to the lanes for Cafes and street dining. We stayed on the 5th floor. Spacious apartment, with most things you'd need. Good for families. Helpful and friendly staff. The only down side was there was bit of street noise in the early morning hours.

Room Tip: If you can get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Kiwi721,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill Manhattan.
Noise, to some extent, is an inevitable consequence of being in the city, but hopefully the outstanding location of Punthill Manhattan compensates for this.
We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here recently for 5 nights as part of a longer Honeymoon.
The rooms look really modern and well decorated on websites etc, but it was pretty plain. The bathroom in particular was nothing special at all (bath/shower combo with tiniest bath ever). A bit run down. But the location was great. Flinder's Lane bustling with Melb. restaurants, and so close to all the main attractions, we enjoyed Melbourne anyway.
Friendly staff, and a reasonable stay, but nothing overly special.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the better rooms from the pic... if they exist? Stay for the value and location thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Mykennel,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We agree that the location of this city apartment hotel is a great base from which to explore all of Melbourne's attractions.
We assure you that the photos are an accurate representation of the apartments. Next time, please do not hesitate to draw our attention to any discrepancies, or let us know if there is anything we can add to make your stay more comfortable.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Mantra on Jolimont
#94 of 161 in Melbourne
1,968 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
203 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
242 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $105 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing