We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments in great location at a reasonable price”
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punthill Manhattan
Ranked #91 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Punthill Manhattan in a 3br apartment. The location is great, right in the middle of the city. Close to the lanes for Cafes and street dining. We stayed on the 5th floor. Spacious apartment, with most things you'd need. Good for families. Helpful and friendly staff. The only down side was there was bit of street noise in the early morning hours.

Room Tip: If you can get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Kiwi721,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill Manhattan.
Noise, to some extent, is an inevitable consequence of being in the city, but hopefully the outstanding location of Punthill Manhattan compensates for this.
We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 392 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here recently for 5 nights as part of a longer Honeymoon.
The rooms look really modern and well decorated on websites etc, but it was pretty plain. The bathroom in particular was nothing special at all (bath/shower combo with tiniest bath ever). A bit run down. But the location was great. Flinder's Lane bustling with Melb. restaurants, and so close to all the main attractions, we enjoyed Melbourne anyway.
Friendly staff, and a reasonable stay, but nothing overly special.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the better rooms from the pic... if they exist? Stay for the value and location thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Mykennel,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We agree that the location of this city apartment hotel is a great base from which to explore all of Melbourne's attractions.
We assure you that the photos are an accurate representation of the apartments. Next time, please do not hesitate to draw our attention to any discrepancies, or let us know if there is anything we can add to make your stay more comfortable.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spent 6 days in a one bedroom apartment on level 6, spacious with all day sun and had everything we needed. Great place to stay for visiting MCG, Rod Laver & Regent theatre all within a 10 minute walk. Friendly and helpful staff and excellent value for money. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padgy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Padgy26,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill Manhattan.
We agree that the location of this apartment hotel is fantastic; it's so easy to explore all of Melbourne's attractions from this city property!
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here in May this year mainly a footy trip with my partner,our son and our nephew.
It was great the apartment was a very nice size the rooms were great.
There is a small IGA nearby so we used the kitchen facilities for our meals.
We ordered dinner though room service a couple of times the first time it was lovely the second time not so much it was a bit salty.
My only thing about the kitchen facilities was the dishwasher didn't work properly and there wasn't enough trays for the oven and the frying pan provided was too small.
Very secure doors are locked after a certain time at night but you have a key to get in you also need your key to use the elevator
It is located in a place that met our needs close to the MCG a walk up the street takes you to the trams or the free bus.
I'd recommend staying here again in fact we are heading back to Melbourne next year and are taking our other 2 kids with us and are thinking of staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdw206WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear rdw206WA,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
This property is ideal for families because it offers a range of one, two and three bedroom apartments; we are delighted that you found the size of the apartment so comfortable.
Next time you stay, please do not hesitate to request any additional kitchen items you require and we will happily comply.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at this place for work. Hard to find good accommodation within public service allowance rate in melbourne. Can't fault this place. Will stay again. Offers all I need at a high standard for a work overnighter.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Moulo,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted to hear that your most recent stay at this city property met all your expectations again.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at your Manhattan apartments from the 8th until the 13th of August.
We found the apartments clean tidy, well presented and ALL the staff were friendly, professional and well mannered. The apartment was convenient to the city and most public transport.
I am a light sleeper and the staff accommodated me with a room on the 6th floor and away from the lifts.
Unfortunately I was not aware the floors were timber and every noise that the people in the rooms above us made- we heard. On the Saturday night the guy above us sounded like he was renovating the apartment. He was up all night and was constantly dropping things on the floor.
The only other bad points were- the mattresses was too hard and the heater sounded like a train when it started up during the night

Overall I was very satisfied with everything.

Room Tip: Try and get an apartment on one of the higher floors as they are quietier. If you order from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Sue B,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted that overall you enjoyed the apartments, location and service at the property.
We do have luxurious mattress toppers on our beds which normally provide an extremely comfortable surface. We understand from our managers that they did place an extra topper on your mattress. We will certainly check the air conditioner.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My partner & I couldn't have stayed at a better place - lovely service, an amazingly hip apartment, clean & tidy with everything we needed, heaps of space & such a central location!!
No troubles with our late check-in.
They have little vouchers for things to do locally & at a discounted rate.
We were provided a map with directions with how & where to catch trams etc when we went down the morning after checking in late.
Very accommodating & were more than happy to look after our bags after check-out & waiting for our plane.
They called a taxi for us also!
Feels like a family run business with a very warm & welcoming service!

We're already planning our next trip next Winter & can't wait to stay at Punthill Manhattan - felt like a home away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rhiaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear rhiaan,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Manhattan.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service, and are already planning a return trip next year!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Mantra on Jolimont
#97 of 161 in Melbourne
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#74 of 161 in Melbourne
1,145 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#82 of 161 in Melbourne
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $111 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing