We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Hotel Apartments”
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Manhattan
Ranked #81 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big Hotel Apartments”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for a girls weekend away, rented three - 2 bedroom apartments (12 girls) and found this to be perfect. They all had kitchens, lounge rooms and very comfortable beds. There was no noise from surrounding buliding as you in the upper end of town which becomes quiet on the weekends. A short walk took you to the middle of town where you can shop and eat your heart out. The bathrooms were huge with a laundry and bath tub. Never had a issue with the hot water when sharing with three other girls. Would recommend this hotel for someone who doesn't like the noise of being in the middle of town but still wants a clean and cool hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mightygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear mightygem,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend visit to Melbourne at Punthill Manhattan and thanks for taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    206
    41
    8
    7
See reviews for
76
142
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during the F1 and must say we could easily have stayed a week! Beautifully decorated apartment, with a warehouse conversion feel. It was located in a great part of town, only a 5-10 minute walk into the heart of the city. Great restaurants nearby that you would never know about if you stayed in the CBD. Staff were very friendly and apartment was spotlessly clean. Had everything you needed, full kitchen, etc. etc. Will definitely be recommending it to my family and friends. A great experience with no negatives. Love love love it!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor so didn't have to battle with lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear JulieM59,
We are thrilled to hear that you loved your recent stay at Punthill Manhattan and thanks very much for taking the time to provide your review on TripAdvisor.
Our front office and housekeeping teams will be so pleased to know that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service at Punthill Manhattan, and that you are happy to recommend Punthill to family and friends too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just had 4 nights at Manhatten, we love that end of town. stayed in 2 bedroom apt number 606, as we were on the 6th level we had a great view of Rod Laver Arena and MCG also the sun rise.

Very well equipped, very comfortable and very, very quiet. Would definetly stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for room on higher level, quieter and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Annette b,
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at Punthill Manhattan.
As you mentioned, the location of this apartment hotel is particularly ideal for guests attending events at the MCG or the Melbourne Tennis centre as both venues are an easy walk from the property, and public transport is easily accessible too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stay for 4 nights and are very satisfied with the location and room facilities. The room is very spacious with an open kitchen. Cooking utensils and plates are quite enough except bowls. The toilet is well equipped with lights and heat lights. The only down side is the instruction of washing machine, though it is provided with a card teaching how to use it. We spend a lot of time to observe how it works from washing, rinsing and drying. Even the staff we call up, is not quite knowledgeable about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YarraRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear YarraRiver,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your comments about Punthill Manhattan.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and facilities at the property. We will certainly re-train all relevant staff to ensure that they can very efficiently operate the washing machines.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was so disappointed with this apartment, our bed had a huge hole in the mattress and I hardly slept at all. The photos in the website are nothing like the actual rooms. I will never stay here again and want to warn you all to ask to look at the bed before you accept the room, it is the most important feature and these are the worst beds I have ever paid to sleep on! The location is convenient, but there are so many other hotels around here that would have been better. I cant believe what they charged, when I have had a lot better for a lot less!

Room Tip: Check the bed before you stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Rebecca W,
We are very disappointed to read that you had a less than satisfactory stay at Punthill Manhattan.
Great consideration was taken when selecting the beds for Punthill, and our beds have a luxurious topper which is normally found to be extremely comfortable by the majority of our guests. It appears, however, that the topper in your apartment was not properly adjusted; the beds should be firmly zipped together and certainly should not sink in the middle. We will definitely address this with our housekeeping team to ensure that the toppers are always properly fitted. Upon request, we can also remove the topper if a firmer mattress is preferred.
The website photographs are of course legitimately taken in the apartments.
During the Grand Prix, rates do tend to be higher than usual, but are still competitive with similar accommodation at that time.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

we stayed only one night here for a highly discounted rate. could have stayed for the whole week but after reading reviews on tripadvisor we were afraid me might end up on one of the lower floors. we didn't. our room was on a higher floor overlooking the car parking. it was ok but two floors lower would have been a problem. it looks like 2 or 3 levels would give you a direct view into the parking lot. from the entrance and reception you get a feeling of a cheap hostel but the apartments are fairly nice. staff was nice as well. we would stay here again if guaranteed that we don't get a room on a lower level.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qq_q_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear jkjk,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill Manhattan and thank you for staying and reviewing our other Punthill properties as well.
As with many hotels in Melbourne city centre, Punthill Manhattan is surrounded by many taller buildings and no city views are available.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill again sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This serviced apartment is located in the heart of the city on Flinders Lane. Just a stones throw away from great restos, cafes and a short walk away from Flinders street station.

The lobby is small but effective, staff fast and efficient.

No on site parking unfortunately but there is a car park next door.

The apartment itself is very clean, sparsely decorated.

Again, for my business travelling purposes this was great, especially given that my company had a corporate rate there and the Melbourne office of our company is literally right next door at the Herald Sun building.

Due to the solid brick walls and large accommodations I would also recommend this to families. Plenty of space for prams and such.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorporateNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear CorporateNomad,
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your recent corporate trip to Melbourne whilst staying at Punthill Manhattan and thank you for taking the time to provide your review.
We do agree that the location is ideal for those people wishing to be in the heart of the city, with everything only a stone's throw from the property - be it public transport, shops, restaurants, cafes, theatres and sporting arenas.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill -whether you are travelling for business or leisure! - in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#70 of 159 in Melbourne
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#102 of 159 in Melbourne
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Property: Punthill Manhattan
Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing