We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular dining experience!”
Review of Mona Lisa on Lygon - CLOSED

Mona Lisa on Lygon
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Spectacular dining experience!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Fantastic wholesome Italian food, one of my best experience dining on Lygon street. Calamari was exceptional and pasta cook to perfection. Top service, very hard to fault.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic what a night”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

To the owners of Mona Lisa On Lygon Charlie and Mandie my hat off to you both we had the most fantastic Night the food and service was superb well done 10 out of 10 we will be back the best meal in Lygon street Carlton Melbourne Thankyou again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“good plain Italian food served graciously”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

While in Melbourne for work, my husband and I had dinner here recently.

Prices were moderate, rather than inexpensive. Service was excellent by very pleasant wait staff. Atmosphere very ordinary family diner. Food plain, well cooled and tasty without being imaginative -Australian version of Italian. We booked but I suspect one could walk in without a reservation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best alround Italian on Lygon”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I have been there many times and have been loved the food every time. Great value and good service at all times. It is and has been for some our go to Italian restaurant either during the day or at night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Melbourne”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

In Melbourne for a conference. We decided to go to Mona Lisa restaurant. It's a cosy family restaurant that is unpretentious and authentic Italian. What struck us was how passionate Charlie the owner is on making everyone welcome. He greeted us once we were seated. Offered us a bottle of wine of our choice on the house. He and his staff were professional and flexible. The staff have the flexibility to make their own calls on changes to the menu from our table. Great to see. The ambiance was great for families or couples and very relaxing. The food was awesome. Fresh Gnocchi, great bruschetta, awesome meatballs, spectacular bolognese, and the toffee topped crime brûlée was just wicked!! The toffee reminded us of our school fetes. Charlie and his wife are great hosts. Do yourself a favour, head to Mona Lisa - you won't regret it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lookforthebest63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa on Lygon also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing