We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place, near market at the edge of CBD”
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks On William
Ranked #44 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good place, near market at the edge of CBD”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Was here for couple of weeks, the place was booked by my company. I was pleasantly surprised with the staff, location and amenities.
If you are travelling alone, the studios at the higher floors could provide better view of the Flagstaff gardens, the single bed rooms of the lower floors have better space. The Gym is decent. few floors on the 3A and above are accessible by a secondary lift, so in case there you dont want to switch lifts, better ask the reception.
The tram stop is nearby and so is the famous Victoria Market. Melbourne central train station is about half a kilometer away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniruddhM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. It is always a pleasure to hear such good feedback from a senior contributor of this forum. I am pleased you found the staff, location and amenities at the hotel all to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    559
    135
    22
    11
See reviews for
142
682
111
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at Oaks on William Street 6 nights, from August 15 to 21 2014. Loved the hotel and the location. Two minutes away from Flagstaff train station, easy walking distance from Victoria market and Melbourne Central,... The room was very nice as well as the amenities provided. The little kitchen was perfect for breakfast and even for a simple meal. (We just missed a toaster). Wifi was available, 30 minutes per 24 hours are free. We will come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. I am delighted to read that you loved your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear such good feedback from our guests and I appreciate the time taken to share this with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was our third stay! We chose to stay here again, as my partner had a meeting on William Street and could walk to it. The reasons I like this hotel are; it's new, has an equipped kitchen, great when travelling with children, it has a walk in shower and if you choose a room on the higher floors you have a great view! These will be the reasons for me to stay again.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor overlooking the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashjay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
It is always a pleasure to hear from one of our return guests. I am truly pleased to read that we have consistently delivered on the high standards we aim to achieve on each and every visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another enjoyable stay at Oaks on William.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Staff were very welcoming and accommodating at the front desk. We were given a large park view room that was quiet and clean. The fitting and appliances were modern and the bed was the best I've slept on in a long time too. The hotel was located with a tram stop at the front and a leisurely walk to all attractions. To top it off, the price was very reasonable. Thank you Oaks, you made our weekend getaway absolutely perfect!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sparker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your kind review. Your delightful comments have been shared with all our staff and are most appreciated. The team and I at Oaks on William look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed here my wife for 5 nights. Pretty new hotel so everything all nice as you'd expect. Spacious room, full kitchen, good size bathroom with big shower space. Balcony overlooking Flagstaff Gardens. Well equipped gym also. Tram stop and train station right outside. As it's in a mainly office area there's not a lot of eateries around (especially on weekends) but found a couple within easy walking distance. Ten minutes walk from CBD. Only gripe is the max 30 mins free internet each 24 hours, plus on occasions had to take the laptop out of the room into the hallway to get a connection. Helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. I am pleased to read that you found your apartment spacious and well equipped. The location of Oaks on William allows our guests to conveniently explore many of Melbourne’s main attractions such as the Queen Victoria Market and Flagstaff Gardens. There are several WiFi options available for our guests and our reception staff would be delighted to arrange an internet package which is most suitable to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Thanks again for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed here in August 2014. Was easy to get to, about a 2 minute walk from Flagstaff station.. check in took less than five minutes. Had to use two different lifts to get to the 28th floor, but this was explained and a printed map from staff made it easy and no hassle.

Got a free upgrade to a park-view room, room was lovely and clean, good views however construction near the buildings around meant cranes blocked some view but not the hotels fault.
Had a fridge and milk/coffee etc was supplied, also dishwashing liquid and washing machine liquid was supplied which was good!

Tram stops right out the front of the hotel made getting around easy. Didn't use the wifi.

Check out took less than 1 minute. All the staff were great. One man on checkout couldnt find the hotels carpark and the staff literately left the hotel, went with him to his car and helped him find it which was so lovely of them!

Great hotel, would stay again :)

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that you found the service from our staff great and your apartment well equipped. The comfort of yopur own private balcony and the views overlooking the park are definitely a hit with our guests and I am glad you where also able to enjoy this. I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Nice hotel, centre of city and easy enough to get to anywhere you need to go. I have stayed at Oaks hotels in Melbourne many times for work and havent really been disappointed. On first visit to the hotel here, I had a room on the 22nd floor and want advised on the process needed to get there. Need to swap elevators and needed a separate swipe tag to move further up the building. Came back down to ground, got the additional swipe the reception staff forgot to give me to move to the top levels and finally made it to my room. Room itself is nice, roomy with everything you could need - I do wish the free 30min wifi was extended to at least an hour so you can answer a few emails. Overall though, a nice place, like the other locations the Oaks has

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony - excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. It is always a pleasure to hear from one of our valued guests. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel comfortable and well located. We are in the process of installing further directional signage within the building to make access to our brand new studio and one bedroom apartments easier. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Property: Oaks On William
Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks On William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing