We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location”
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks On William
Ranked #46 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The view overlooking flagstaff was beautiful . Close enough to walk everywhere . Staff were extremely helpful. We had a studio room that came with a complete kitchen. Our bed was made everyday and towels changed . It was literally a 5-10 min walk to queen Victoria markets and a quick walk down la trobe and you were in the CBD

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josephine1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review. I am truly pleased to read that you found the hotel location favourable and the views overlooking Flagstaff Gardens beautiful. We would be delighted to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
There are newer reviews for Oaks On William
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely hotel, really great location and nice staff. Only stayed two nights. Arrived very early one morning and were fortunate enough to be checked in early. Free tram is very close, comfy bed, rooms small but more than sufficient and had a large kitchen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammydee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review. I am truly pleased to read that your recent stay with us was both comfortable and convenient. I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

New property and not your average hotel room or apartment. Nice decor. Has all the facilities you need. Kitchen with oven, hot plates, fridge and microwave. Good shower. Veranda with view over city and park. Staff efficient and friendly.Comfortable bed. Only negative is very hard pillows. Woke up with headache and crick in my neck the first morning. Ended up using a folded towel as a pillow the rest of my stay. Usually with 4 pillows on the bed at least one is soft or flat but all were hard and fat. Also they have a note in the bathroom saying they have an environmental policy and if you leave towels on the ground they would change them otherwise hang them up and they won't replace them. Yet they kept on replacing mine daily even though I hung them all up. Everything else was good. Would recommend just shame about the pillows

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Cebbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always a pleasure to hear from a senior contributor of this forum. I am pleased to read you found our décor appealing and the standard of accommodation and apartment features to your liking. Your comments regarding our pillows have been noted and we are working with our suppliers to provide more options for our future guests. I trust we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Oaks on William again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel has only been open a short time and is one of our favourites. It's close to Flagstaff Underground station, the Court precinct and Melbourne CBD. A 5 minute walk will get you to Southern Cross Station and the amazing shops there. 10 minute Walk will get you to Southbank and Crown.

The hotel is opposite the Flagstaff Gardens if you feel like a walk, and there is a bicycle depot 30 seconds up the street if you want to cycle around the city.

Rooms are comfortable and stylish, and value for money.

There is no restaurant or breakfast facilities, but there are plenty of great cafe's around the area that serve breakfast.

There is no gym, which is the only downer for this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. I am delighted to read that you found the location of the hotel perfectly suited to your travel needs. You will be pleased to know that the hotel café is opened daily for breakfast and lunch, room service is also available nightly from 5pm. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future. Thanks again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very modern, clean, comfortable room, nice view if you pay a little extra, well worth it. For around $145 PN. Walking distance to Ethad Stadium, and the City centre, also the City Tram stops right at the door step.

Room Tip: book early, keep an eye out for special deals. The trams can wake you in the morning if you are a li...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review. I am very pleased to read that you found your apartment clean and modern and that you were able to enjoy the lovely views from your private balcony. I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. An easy 10 minute walk to Spencer Street Station where the Skybus from the airport drops you. Checking in was efficient. We had a room on the 19th floor. Plenty of space, clean and a comfortable bed. Everything was new and fresh. Shower was hot and lots of pressure. The toiletries provided were also of a good quality.
The hotel is located a couple of hundred metres from the Victoria Markets and about 20 metres to the trams, including the free City Circle one. We walked to the MCG which took us around 35 minutes. Overall a great place to spend a few days in Melbourne.

Room Tip: High and facing Flagstaff Gardens
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navik5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for posting your wonderful review. It is always pleasing to hear from a satisfied guest and I am truly delighted that all aspects of your stay were perfect. It would be our pleasure to see you again at Oaks on William in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Melbourne, its close to the city centre and Queen Victoria Markets and all other attractions are only a short tram ride away or a nice walking distance. The room itself was new, modern and very clean not to mention quiet we never heard a thing! We had room with a balcony and a city view which was fantastic to look out at night. The coffee shop in the building is great too. This hotel is definitely value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa_mk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read that your recent stay with us was very comfortable and that you found our apartments clean, modern and quiet. We aim to offer exceptional value for money and great service and it is our pleasure to know that we achieved that on this occasion. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
3,201 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,544 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $109 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks On William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing