We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes - location, quality, cost”
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks On William
Ranked #48 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Check-in was friendly and efficient. Lobby appearance was clean, net and modern. Had a studio room overlooking a park - pleasant view in the evening.
Rooms are modern, kitchen with everything if you want to stay in. (Nice restaurant for breakfast next to hotel.)
Bed was very comfortable, bathroom is small but functional with a shower - modern and well lit. TV has cable and free to air. VERY good gym - spacious and better equipped than the average hotel.

Will stay again.

Room Tip: Good gym equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC_Sydney_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Truly appreciate the time taken to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that you found all aspects of your stay most enjoyable. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Recently I stayed in Room 3207 at Oaks on Williams. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is conveniently located at the fringe of the city centre and the room is modern and clean. Housekeeping does a good job to ensure that the room and the bathroom is tidy and dust-free which I really appreciate. That said, it is strange to find out 2 critical essentials were missing - a full-length mirror and a clock.

These are tiny things that I normally wouldn't specifically enquired about when selecting a hotel because I expect them to be given. I stayed at Oaks on William before and my previous room had a iPod station which also served as a clock and an iPhone charger but this time, there was no such thing until the last night I was there (I stayed for a total of 6 nights). From memory, my precious room also had a full length mirror. Another thing was that the door of Room 3207 couldn't be opened without force. There is plastic along the door frame (the purpose of which I presume is to prevent the banging noise when guests close the door) which caused the door to be stuck. Every time to enter or exit the room I had to shake and pull to force my way out. The housekeeping staff who came into the room every day should have noticed this too and I am surprised that for 6 nights no one ever come to fix it.

Oaks on William is definitely one of the best hotels in Melbourne at this price range. If they could improve on this little things then they would be prefect.1

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. It is always pleasing to hear from a return guest and I am glad that during both your stays with us you were able to enjoy the location and cleanliness of the hotel. You will be glad to know that all apartments are now fitted with the latest iphone docking stations and that the door issue you have mentioned has been repaired (I do apologise for this). Thanks again for you kind comments, it’s truly pleasing to know that you consider our hotel to be one of the best value accommodation choices in Melbourne. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Really impressed with the new Oaks on William. Everything is new, well designed and good service.
Cafe next to Oaks great for breakfast. Pub across the road has good meal with friendly atmosphere.
The bed was the let down! King size with usual two singles velcroed together. Unfortunately the poor design does not allow one person to sleep across the bed without feel a hard rail in the middle. I'm about 6'4". The person who selected the bed should have slept in one before making their decision.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank possalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased to read that you were impressed with our hotel and found the service and facilities to your liking. It is disappointing to read however that you found our beds uncomfortable as we usually get great feedback on the range. Certainly, for future stays this is something we can pre-arrange for you so that your stay is as comfortable as it is enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly on fowilliam@theoaksgroup.com.au.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights recently. This hotel is nicely located just a short stroll to the CBD. Free tram stop is around the corner and the train station is opposite. Room is large enough with kitchenette should you wish to cook. Room also has a nice balcony however a park view room might have provided more natural light although this isnt a huge issue. Room is also nicely renovated but did notice the cement ceiling, again this wasnt a huge issue. Staff were pleasant and they are happy to check in your luggage so you can roam the city freely in the situation of a later flight which is nice. There was a nice cafe just next door and plenty of food options nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. Lovely to read that you found your stay at the hotel most comfortable and convenient. Your comments regarding the staff at the hotel and café have been passed on with thanks. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in five similar priced hotels around the east coast of australia on our trip and oaks on william was definitely the best of them all. Location - the free circular tram stops just across the road, Queen Victoria market is round the corner, Ehtihad stadium down the road, brilliant! Our room was huge, cool 'urban chic' design, large balcony overlooking the gardens. The kitchen area has full size cooker and fridge, great when you are on a long trip for those nights when you don't want to be eating out. The bathroom so clean with a fabulous shower. The large guest laundry on floor 3 is an excellent facility when you are travelling around. Lots of attention to detail at this hotel, the rooms have really been designed well. We really enjoyed our stay here and the staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Park view is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for you kind comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that you thought our hotel topped your list of hotels whilst travelling the east coast of Australia. Your feedback regarding the staff and standard of cleaning is truly appreciated. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed for four nights in March. A very clean & tidy property, not too far to walk to city centre or else you can take the free city circle tram, with a stop just a few metres from the hotel. Good sized kitchenette and well spaced room. Reception staff very helpful on arrival and during stay - we arrived early morning and they happily stored our bags while we went out for some sightseeing as check-in time wasn't until 2.00pm.

Only a few minutes walk to QV market and the visitor shuttle bus, which cost $5.00 for a full day hop on/hop off service with heaps of stops.

Housekeeping was a bit inconsistent - for environmental reasons there is a sign on the shower door saying to leave your towels on the floor if you want them changed, otherwise they wouldn't be changed. We made sure we did not leave our towels on the floor as we were happy to re-use, but they were changed every day. On one day towels were removed but we weren't left with any replacements, although this was quickly resolved by visiting reception.

We did find it a bit noisy (traffic noise and other hotel room doors were very loud when closing), even being up on the 16th floor, but we had a wonderful view right down to the harbour.

Would definitely stay here again and would happily recommend the property to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChChDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and great to read that your experience at the hotel was enjoyable. I appreciate your comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff and this has been passed on with thanks. Our housekeeping team has been alerted to some of the inconsistencies you found and I can assure you this will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Opposite a nice park, this is located in the center of the city. The rooms are designed for long term stay, with a kitchen. And the decor is bright and fresh. Seems to be quite new. Do ask for a park facing one. Coming to charges, they are on the higher side, though pretty much what others in the area would expect. So if are you are not looking for reward points of an international chain, go for it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Subrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel clean, fresh and well located. For extended stays and for that extra space we also have larger one bedroom apartments available. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,402 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#89 of 161 in Melbourne
1,302 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,570 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $111 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks On William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing