We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaks On William
Nearby Hotels
$229
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$195
$176
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$173
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$192
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$148
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$132
$91
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$261
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
$175
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,674)
Filter reviews
1,674 results
Traveler rating
791
671
163
30
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
791
671
163
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflagstaff gardensstudio parkflagstaff stationbrother thomasqueen victoria marketscafe next doorfree tramstudio roomsized fridgeoffice blocksmall balconytram stopper dayfull kitchenmelbourne centralfree wifihardware lane
Filter
Updating list...
1,494 - 1,499 of 1,674 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a lovely room on the 19th floor of this hotel for our recent long weekend stay and I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne - particularly if you can manage to get a room on the upper floors as we did.

The room was fresh and modern, with a really cool decal wallpaper of some of Melbourne's buildings along one wall. The full kitchen would have been useful if we weren't so keen to get out and sample all the amazing food Melbourne has to offer for every single meal, so we only really used the fridge and tea and coffee, but it was nice to have all the same. The little dish-drawer dishwasher was a nice touch as well.

There was plenty of space to have 2 suitcases on the floor and not be tripping over them, which is always a bonus, but we stored them in the nice big wardrobe anyway as there was plenty of space in it. A few more drawers for storage of clothes would be nice though, as there were only a couple of small bedside drawers on either side of the bed. But not a big deal and we made do. The TV was recessed into the wall, which meant no wasted space with a big annoying telly cabinet jutting out into the room, and was nicely placed to be able to lie in bed comfortably to watch it.

The bed was incredbily comfortable - quite firm with nice big comfy pillows. And there was a nice wee table and chairs setting and a beanbag-type chair for extra seating options as well. The balcony was great and we enjoyed evening drinkies while admiring the view every night - but strangely enough only one chair to go with the table on the balcony, so we had to drag one of the chairs from inside so we could both sit on the balcony together.

The bathroom was a moderate size and the shower nice and spacious with a lovely rain shower head. However, the basin took up almost all of the vanity space and so there was little room to put toiletries out, other than a wee tiny shelf under the vanity mirror, which didn't hold very much. Effective extractor fan in the bathroom but it still got pretty hot in there after running the shower for a bit.

We didn't hear any noise from other rooms in our room, but we were aware of the odd shudder down the hallway when people had obviously closed their door quite forcefully. We also noticed one particular room that must've had their TV up as loud as it would possibly go each time we walked down the hall to the elevator as we could hear the TV loud and clear through their door in the hallway and we dread to think what their neighbours must have put up with. So perhaps only soundproof to a regular extent.

The best thing of all was the amazing view from our room. We were on the 19th floor and on the Flagstaff Gardens side of the hotel and we could've stood and stared at the view for hours - made for amazing photos of sunrise, sunset and evening lights. I'm not sure I would have been as impressed if we'd been on a lower floor and/or the side of the building facing away from William St.

Location-wise, it's a wee bit of a hike to what we'd consider 'downtown' Melbourne. There's a train station just across the road but it's frustratingly closed on Saturdays and Sundays - about a 12 min stroll to the next nearest train station at Melbourne Central and by then you're pretty much in downtown anyway. Tram stations nice and close by but, depending on how far you're going, by the time you wait for a tram you possibly could have walked to your destination in the same amount of time. Queen Vic Markets is a very short walk away and the nearest supermarket we found was at Melbourne Central, about 12-13 mins walk away. We got the free hotel transfer bus with Sky Bus to get to and from Southern Cross Station when getting to and from the airport as it's probably a little far to walk with luggage. Flagstaff Gardens across the road are also nice for a walk in - particularly after dark when they are full of possums in the trees (bit of a night safari of sorts!).

Would stay at this hotel on our next visit to Melbourne with no hesitation and will be highly recommending it to anyone going there in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors on the William St side of the hotel have amazing views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that your recent experience at our hotel was most enjoyable. We all know the importance of a good nights sleep and so we are pleased that you found our beds incredibly comfortable and our rooms quiet and well designed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location of this place was great, there was no noise polution or anything. I will have to mention that this place is definitely not a hotel. Its a front desk with rooms to rent. There is nothing else in the building to constitute it being an hotel. When we were leaving we found out there was a gym but no one had told us at all. There is no food or eating facilities in the building, so if you are coming in late and want a bite to eat you will be disappointed.

Pro: Its in a good location, the rooms were big and cleaned well. For a little contained apartment in melbourne for a week it would be fine.

Con: No Amenities, No restaurants. I requested a shower cap and was told they were not supplied. No bottled water supplied.

All in all, completely adequate. Did the job it was meant to do.

Room Tip: Bring supplies with you, you get soaps etc but nothing else, come prepared or you will go hungry! Also we stayed in room 1120 - avoid it as there is no view at all!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ker_schnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found the location of our hotel desirable and our apartments clean and spacious. Our hotel does provide breakfast and lunch within the complex and evening room service is also provided; I do apologise if this was not passed on to you during check-in. We certainly do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend stay at the hotel recently no we're surprised at how modern, new and well-equipped our room was. A full kitchen and good sized balcony with outdoor furniture made our stay great.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and organised our Skybus pickup with no issues.

The only issue is that the hotel is probably about 10 minutes walk away from the main shopping/touristy part of Melbourne. On the weekend there is nothing nearby the hotel in the way of shops or cafes.

I would definitely check this place out again on my next visit to Melbourne.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Callory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to read that you found our accommodation modern and well equipped. Our staff are available 24 hours should you have any queries and can assist with information on all the best of what Melbourne has to offer. Your feedback regarding the service you received from our staff has been passed on and as always is truly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Oaks on William.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a relatively new complex in a great location, walking distance from Southern Cross or the city centre. Trams run nearby, and Flagstaff Gardens are lovely and right opposite. I got a good price as it was an opening special, but the staff tell me that they plan to keep having special deals for a while, so it's worth calling them or checking their website. Consider upgrading to a high floor, garden view apartment - only cost $15 extra a night and worth it! Spacious apartment with a modern feel and high quality appliances. Only downside is that like many hotels/apartments, the doors are heavy and slam loudly, so it can interrupt an otherwise peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to, or request, a high floor with garden view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayjay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel ideally located and good value for your stay in Melbourne. As the staff have mentioned, regular promotional rates and specials do run offering exceptional value year round. We certainly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over the racing carnival week. The hotel is well located on the free city circle tram line which was ideal for us. It is more in the business district with a lovely park opposite. It was nice to be a little away from the bustle of the central shopping area. The room was very modern with everything we needed. We organised our own breakfast in our room each day, the kitchen facilities were excellent and there was a single drawer dishwasher.

The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, and no bath. The shower was large and had one of those enormous shower heads. The hotel don't supply the little disposable shower caps which I think they should because there is no way to shower without getting your hair wet. So bring your own shower cap if you don't want to wash your hair everyday.

We didn't pay the extra to get a park view, I think we would next time. Our view was into an office building, we could see people working at their desks and maybe they could see us too. There was a little balcony which no one would use.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and have a room facing the park.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. It is great to hear that you had a most comfortable stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you found our rooms well equipped and modern and the location of the hotel ideal for your travels. As you have mentioned in your review, park rooms are certainly worth that little extra and offer exceptional views overlooking Flagstaff Gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews