We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern Indian”
Review of Tonka

Tonka
Ranked #38 of 4,114 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $238
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Tonka is a modern Indian restaurant just off Flinders Lane, down one of Melbourne’s iconic laneways, Duckboard Place. At Tonka we celebrate the vibrancy of Indian flavours complimented by our award winning wine list. Delivered by our experienced and passionate team. Tonka opened in 2013 and is the proud sister to Coda restaurant, a short walk away. Since their inception, both restaurants have received the Age Good Food Guide’s ‘Hat Award’ every year. While bookings are highly recommended we also have an area available for walk-in patrons. For those looking for a cocktail and a relaxed meal we have a substantial menu in our bar, Thali.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely modern Indian”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you can find it, this is one of Melbourne's best! Wonderful, helpful staff - especially the French Canadian wine waiter, and a really innovative interpretation of Indian food. Soft shell crab pakoras and lamb kebabs with mint yogurt were outstanding. A great, bright and welcoming space despite the unprepossessing entrance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    140
    45
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Oh Boy, a Tonka Treat!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The special restaurant to celebrate a birthday this year was Tonka, a brilliant modern Indian place down a very scruffy lane (Duckboard Place) off Melbourne's Flinders Lane. However, once discovered, never forgotten. Inside it fairly pulses with life, lots of staff and lots of very happy diners enjoying some very interesting takes on some seemingly familar Indian dishes. However, they all sparkle with a freshness of approach and a fusion of flavours that are quite inspired.

Heartily recommended for a great dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great service, friendly, efficient staff.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We found this restaurant while looking for another.
It looked so good, we thought this was worth a try. The design, fit out, acoustics and music were the right mix. As we hadn't booked a table, we were invited to have a drink at the bar, until a table became available. It wouldn't be too long a wait until we could be seated.
The food was excellent and amazingly fresh and delicious. The menu is so good, we would love to have tried it all. The service was very good and the staff were happy and friendly. We could feel the love, and we can highly recommend Tonka. We will definitely return to this Restaurant on our next trip to Melbourne.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallaurlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply, we highly recommend grazing your way through the menu and dont be afraid to dine at the bar for a full inter-active experience. Service was fantastic and the sommelier was one of the best we have interacted with in Melbourne.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melroy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“No trucks here!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I visited Tonka for a business lunch.
There was a bit of pretentious silliness when I arrived. A staff member asked me to wait at the bar as they weren't open for lunch yet, however, my business companion was already seated at our table.

The restaurant is ideally located with wonderful views out across Birrarung Marr to the Botanical gardens and Government House. The interior is stylishly decorated with a feeling of spaciousness, the furniture is comfortable and the staff are suitably attired.

The staff have excellent knowledge about the food and wine. This made it a pleasure to choose suitable dishes and something to drink. The service was impeccable.

We started with Soft Shell Crab Pakora. My initial taste was one of way too much salt. With a bit of dissection I was able to determine that the Pakora / Gram flour batter was the culprit. The crab combined with the fantastic pickle was very nice once the pakora was removed.

The Smoked Trout Betel leaf was decimated by an abundance of Coriander. Missing in action was the trout, pomelo and lime: presumably murdered by the coriander. If you couldn't guess it by now, I like to taste the main ingredient - imprison the coriander!

We had the Avani's lamb curry - a good mixture of heat and exotic flavour.

The fried cauliflower was golden brown, crisp in texture and very enjoyable.

The Tonka dal had this metallic (truck) / teflon pan flavour to it, entirely wiping any memory of chilli and curry.

Ginger Cake - all the complimentary bits on the side were yummy. I have this nagging feeling / talc like sensation that the cake used powdered ginger root rather than fresh ginger. This meant that the cake had no zing or inherent moisture and ultimately ruined it for me.

I thought the pricing was reasonable except for the Ginger cake (the cake price should be halved).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wottinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonka also viewed

 

Been to Tonka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing