We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Possibly the breakfast i've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grain Store

The Grain Store
Ground Floor | 517 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Central Business District)
+61 3 9972 6993
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 3,630 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Vegetarian, Australian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Possibly the breakfast i've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had been recommended to try this for our family's breakfast. It didn't disappoint. The quality of the food is as good as I've had anywhere in my travels. We had to share a table but not even this could drop this from being a 5 star dining venue.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank megan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    129
    25
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast/brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We had brunch here 3 times while we were in Melbourne and the food and coffee was outstanding each time. We both selected different menu options on each visit so overall tried 6 different dishes from the menu. Each one was a delight to eat. The dishes were creative with interesting flavours and cooked to perfection.
The waiting staff were friendly, attentive and professional. The design and decor was inviting and relaxing and everything was spotlessly clean.
A great place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TuiGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is exactly what you want a cafe to be - outstanding food, friendly but unobtrusive service, a great cafe buzz without being noisy or overcrowded. 10 out of 10.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milliecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent CBD "Locals" restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We went looking for a CBD restaurant that caters for dinner for locals (and visitors) with great fresh food & wonderful service - and we've found it!

Excellent menu tonight where we enjoyed the confit of duck, 350 g rump steak & the truffled mushroom potato gnocchi - and all 3 dishes were thoroughly enjoyable.

An excellent Henty region (Western VIC) riesling was a perfect match for the duck & the gnocchi.

Lastly, the friendly, attentive service was greatly appreciated.

Highly recommended (and we understand they do great breakfasts) - we will be enjoying the Grain Store lots more over the coming months.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RGSCEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Innovative and fresh for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had vegetarian options (none of us being vegetarian) because they sounded so good and we weren't disappointed. Fresh, innovative and delicious. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorkingMumCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grain Store also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Grain Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing