We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work of genius”

Spring Street Grocer Cafe
Ranked #14 of 105 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A work of genius”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Every singular aspect of this complex is brilliant - the creativity of the sandwich bar, the wholesomeness of the store's own bottle pasta sauces and the ready-to-eat meals, the range of quality groceries and the breadth of offerings in the cheese room. There's no question though of the star of the show here - the Gelateria Primavera.

As someone who lives around the corner there's no way I could be biased in saying that this is possibly the best gelato in the world. Don't believe me? I challenge you to try it yourself and defy me. In addition to the depth and creativity of the flavours, the texture is unrivalled. Creamy and thick, silky yet with substance, when I first tried this when it opened I went back seven times in the first two weeks. My love affair has never abated since. That other Sydney import icecream store over in Fitzroy is just chasing shadows.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank divvy_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST GELATO IN THE WORLD!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have travelled all over Italy, and i have never tasted gelato as amazing as this! You got to try the salted caramel and the vegan chocolate, it is to die for :) It isnt cheap (ranging from $6-8) but you will not regret it. A must visit on your next trip to Melbourne!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_jbbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
2 reviews
“Great organic foods”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a refreshing change to find a Grocer in the city who supplies fresh, tasty, interesting and largely organic foods, plus service with a smile!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaB0359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, what a Gem for foodies!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Do not let the exterior appearance change your mind, walk through that door (past the Gelati bar they run at the front) and you will enter a delightfully stocked grocer with a great range of everyday and gourmet items to suit all. Vegies, Cheeses, Meats, dry goods, canned goods, breads, drinks..... the list goes on....
Made our stay in a hotel around the corner one of the best holiday stays we've had.
You HAVE to check out their cheese room (yes, a whole room down the small spiral staircase dedicated to cheeses from the common table cheeses through to the rare imported!). This is what topped off such a great little store for me. Do not leave without ordering something!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GiveMeHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An asset for inner city residents!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Whether it's a last minute dinner, take home meals (meat balls are amazing) or cheese, veggies or basics - the grocer has perfect portions for apartment dwellers! Great trading hours, good value & friendly service to match :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Street Grocer Cafe also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Spring Street Grocer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing