We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day in Werribee”

Melbourne Birding Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Full day and extended birding tours near Melbourne, Australia and beyond. Small/private groups with all birding levels catered for. Friendly, personalized service which includes all meals and hotel pickups and drop offs. A professional, knowledgeable guide with a passion for all Australian wildlife. Tours can be customized to your needs or to target specific species. Use of a Swarovski spotting scope, field guides and binoculars.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

December 2013 my wife and I were picked up at our hotel in Melbourne at 7am sharp by Paul Hackett and whisked off to the water treatment plant at Werribee which consists of a series of lakes leading to seaside.

Paul knew exactly where to go to. The weather was far from perfect (very windy) and the tide was in but he still managed to find us a huge variety of waders all of which he indentified instantly for marking in the custom made birdlist which he provided.

In the afternoon he took us to a protected park of dry woodland for a completely different type of birdlife.

I have been a birdwatcher for thirty years in Africa, South America, Europe. This was one of my best days ever.

Paul provided a packed lunch and he drove us back to the hotel at 5pm.

1  Thank Tom_J328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Melbourne Birding Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

"Best day ever" is a wonderful thing to hear! Glad you had such a great day and thank you for the reivew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Melbourne Birding Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I hired Paul Hackett to serve as our guide for a day of birdwatching at Werribee Wetlands and You Yangs in the Melbourne area. Paul was a wonderful guide -- he arrived early and worked tirelessly throughout the day finding and identifying birds with us. It was apparent that serving as as a birdwatching guide is more than a job for Paul -- he enjoyed seeing the birds as much as we did. To anybody considering hiring a birdwatching guide in the Melbourne area, we highly recommend that you hire Paul.

1  Thank Sooz_and_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Melbourne Birding Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

A pleasure to guide you both, thanks for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had an exceptional day's birding with Paul Hackett around The You Yangs and Werribee Sewage plant . He collected us from our hotel and we saw over 102 species of birds .We also watched a brown falcon attacking an Eastern brown snake too .Very knowledgeable with vast experience about birds and their calls .Lunch included which was very good .Bonuses were kangaroos and koala .No hesitation recommending Paul most highly.We shall book again with him later in 2014 .

1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Melbourne Birding Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Look forward to seeing you both again and thank you for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I had a great time birding with Paul Hackett last week and, I really enjoyed every minute of it. He guided me in the 4 habitats tour and we saw 104 species! We also saw kangaroos and opossum! Paul was very kind and lead me gently into the knowledge of Australian Birds. He has a great professionalism and I highly recommend a tour with him.

1  Thank 494margareta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Melbourne Birding Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

104 species in a day, excellent! Glad to help and thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a great time with Paul Hackett during a Saturday in Melbourne. He was waiting for us in the lobby for an early morning pick up. We ended up seeing 8 lyrebirds, which was way beyond our expectation, and saw many more species in the water treatment facility. We even saw a juvenile practicing the mating dance in front of a few other males! And got some good pictures of it!!!! It was a highlight of our entire trip to Australia.

We just recently got into birding and Paul was very accommodating to our skill level, but still giving us the full experience with many details on the birds and the habitats. Paul was very dedicated to making sure we saw as much as possible, and he was very pleasant to be around for the 12 hour tour! He had a constant intensity throughout the tour, and when we started to fade Paul was there with the coffee and snacks. Lunch was yummy, but didn't get in the way of seeing as many birds as possible (we ate aside the car as we viewed a menagerie of waterbirds). He also gave us a checklist which we filled out during the ride home.

Knowledgable, enthusiastic, good sense of humor…Paul is the way to go!

1  Thank bcmormino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Melbourne Birding Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

8 Lyrebirds is a great birding day! Great to meet you both and thanks for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Birding Tours also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Birding Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing