We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Detour.”

Patricias Coffee Brewers
Ranked #8 of 118 Coffee & Tea in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth a Detour.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Thought we would end our short visit to Melbourne by visiting one of the coffee places which seem to be a theme of city life in Australia. Patricia is not that hard to find, so don't be put off by some reviews. We went over lunchtime and got served immediately.
We had flat whites which were very smooth. I'm not a coffee nerd but it tasted great to me!
I recommend that you also try one of their cakes etc to accompany your coffee. We shared a slice of Ginger cake which was mouthwatering, but then everything else was also!
The staff are very friendly and happy to chat.
A definite must when in Melbourne.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandDancer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    22
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Delicious coffee”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Like other reviews, we took ages to find this place! We are glad we took the time to look though as the coffee was beautiful. A simple place, very busy and serving up fantastic coffee.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good luck finding it! Worth it though”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Took me like 15 minutes to find this un-labelled cafe on the corner of two of melbourne-famous alleyway-streets. I knew I had found it when I saw THIRTY young-professional types waiting outside for their coffee (maybe 12 people could fit inside if squished). The coffee was great, not an over-roasted espresso like some cafes seem to think best, but properly-balanced keeping some of the acidity and bright flavours. Pretty cool place! Obviously it took a very long time for the coffee, but there is no way to serve this many people any faster.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must stop for coffee lovers”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I love my coffee and I am fussy about it. This was the only place in Melbourne that I would recommend without hesitation to anyone who understands the appreciation of really good coffee. They use a roast here that is very well balanced. Compliments to the roasting and barista - the coffee here is top notch! If however you are one of those who like that strong taste of burnt beans then you might not appreciate so much. This place is easy to miss, a little off the beaten path but is gem well worth finding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just... wow!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was in Melbourne for a holiday and thought we might as well hunt for the best coffee place! And Patricia was one of our top three (haven't decided exactly which one was best yet!).

It is tucked away and is quite easy to miss but the crowd is not easy to miss. Both times we went here there was a line and people mingling outside and on the footpath enjoying the coffee hit. We ordered a 'white' which is equivalent to a cappuccino with a double espresso shot.

The coffee was delicious, nice and strong but not too bitter/acidic. The temperature was just right. The service was excellent - very friendly and helpful! Overall a very passionate coffee place. If you haven't tried it yet... you should!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patricias Coffee Brewers also viewed

 

Been to Patricias Coffee Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing