We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sensational in every way - Congratulations Mr Bennett!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lui Bar

The Lui Bar
Ranked #108 of 3,779 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Wine Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Sensational in every way - Congratulations Mr Bennett!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had visitors from London and suggested taking them to The Lui Bar for a drink and a view - from the moment we arrived in the lobby (and the guests were looking pretty back-packerish) everything was amazing. The service was unbelievable - the welcome - the attention - superb. The menu looks "tres ordinaire' but when the food arrives it just blows you away. The cheese and ham toasties, the chick pea fries and the cheese platter were amazing. The decor is very laid back and there is no rush and the view is pretty good as well. Very reasonable prices. Burj Khalifa in Dubai could certainly learn a thing or two here. Well done. Very proud that this is in Melbourne

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    74
    10
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish I was there now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

After going to the Lui Bar on the weekend for a few cocktails, I had never been before. When I reached the top and walked out into the bar i was more blown away then i was expecting. The cocktail list was extensive and made to perfection. The staff were knowledgeable and beyond friendly. If you are after a place to go for a special occasion or just want to be blown away by a truly inspiring space then the lui bar is the place to be.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bt198484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Lui Bar is part of Vue De Monde and is located next to the restaurant on the 55th floor of the Rialto Building on Collins Street.

The perfect place for a drink before you eat in Vue De Monde or an excellent compromise if you can't get a table, the Lui Bar is elegance and sophistication all the way with arguably the best view in Melbourne.

The cocktail list has something for everyone, but don't be afraid to ask for the wine list. It's huge and a treat for anyone who loves their wine. Whilst there are enough bottles that cost the same as an overseas holiday, there is also a very wide selection between $100 and $300 and to be honest, more than we expected.

My husband and I have a soft spot for the Marguex region of France and where delighted to find that there was a bottle of 1998 Chateau Ferriere, so we indulged. We received a complimentary dish of olives and macadamia nuts, which was amazing. Neither of us like macadamia nuts but they were roasted and salted and had some rosemerry and were amazing. We could not help but finish them. The olives were magnificent as well.

You would be hard pressed to find a better place in Melbourne to sit and watch the sun go down. Add in a cocktail or a glass of wine and some tasty morsels and you will be in heaven. JUST GO!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ktsnowowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romatic night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views of Melbourne.. it also famous for its tasty cocktail.. i ordered lui martini, very unforgettable experience. the bartender was very kind teaching me the culture of martini, even though i still did very bad job at the taste later on... my friend ordered a cup of gin tonic, which is very good. I guess ull never get wrong with gin tonic:DD

Helpful?
Thank Shazibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingin, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An absolute must do on your bucket list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Fabulous view as its been said before, dress for the occasion and totally immerse yourself in this wonderful experience. Read all the reviews and then add yours too. This visit to Melbourne with my daughter was certainly enhanced by the cocktail at the Lui Bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lui Bar also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Lui Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing