We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Serves, Kids Loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parlour Diner

Parlour Diner
Ranked #1,220 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chapel Street
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge Serves, Kids Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went for dinner with my 10 and 12 year old boys who were really hungry. They loved it. The 12 year old ordered the fried chicken (4 pieces), after the waitress warned him the serving was big and not to get the 6 pieces. He actually ate the whole meal, but it really could be enough for two people, as each piece of fried chicken is basically a whole chicken breast. My other son and I both had burgers which were top quality. The onion rings are huge, but slightly greasy. The curly fries were delicious and I found it hard to stop eating them.

We will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Winabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfectly constructed burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Wandering down Chapel Street on the hunt for something fast food-ish, Parlour was a great choice. Laid out much like a diner, with an open kitchen, bench seating (no booths), and bar and window seating, the decor was comfortably grungey/retro/NY diner (the ladders suspended from the ceiling were an interesting touch), with an easy-going but attentive staff. There were a few simple mains, but burgers were their thing, and my 'classic' burger, with Vietnamese coleslaw, chipotle and and extra of bacon really hit the spot. It wasn't huge, but not small either, and it must have been well-constructed as it didn't fall apart as I held it I my hands to eat (it always seems wrong to me to use a knife and fork!). With hindsight, a serve of fries might have been a good idea, as this place wasn't giving them away for free. A very pleasant late-night bite on a busy Prahran Friday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Really good burger, great trendy place too… pricey but worth it. Would be good if they had a take away menu but hey that's not the most important thing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbournePixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Worst Meal Of My Life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

terrible service, the owner was rude to me and my family and also continually flirted with my 13 year old daughter. 20 minutes to get a drink and it wasn't busy the staff were just pre-ocupied with their phones. The food was no better also saw the man washing up just wipe a tray with a dirty tea towel and stack it back on the pile. Cash only was the final thing to tick me off. won't be going back and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parlour Diner also viewed

Windsor, Stonnington
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Parlour Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing