We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on (if you like meatballs)”

The Meatball and Wine Bar
Ranked #102 of 4,071 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
North West UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spot on (if you like meatballs)”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were looking for something that wasn't too expensive whilst still being nice atmosphere and offering good food.
Whilst I'm not a huge lover of meatballs we came across here. Despite a 30 minute wait for a table the service was great, they sat us at the bar to eat and whilst I wasn't too pleased (being a shortie) we got to see the cocktails being made which was interesting.
You pick your choice of meatball, sauce & side. I'd recommend the pork as they're made with orange too and were delicious. For two of us having a main meal & cocktail/cider it came to $68 which was pretty reasonable for such a tasty & filling meal.
Something different from the 'norm'
Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cal2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    263
    92
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best find ever!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came across this Melbourne gem by chance and first impressions were fantastic - like being in NYC but with the friendly Melbourne staff and atmosphere. Add to that a fantastic wine (Montepulciano), then beef meatballs, yummy sauce and amazing potato mash - oh my goodness! It exceeded our expectations and they were already high. We sat at the bar and couldn't have asked for a better server who had spot-on suggestions and knew what he was on about, and we took all his advice and loved everything. We have 2 more nights in Melbourne and will be back, twice! A rare and real treat (especially when out without two young kids!).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhopenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great sliders, enjoyable place to snack”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very tasty dishes and some inventive combinations make this a great spot for a snack. It would be a terrific place for a group, being boisterous and noisy but couples would probably prefer to eat and run. Sliders are particularly good and the charcuterie plate is delicious and light. As you'd expect, not the best venue for vegetarians. Prompt service and good people watching if you snag one of the seats in the window.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thefoodieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Different take on breakfast”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had the breakfast sliders, three egg and charred corn balls with tomato sauce, bacon and caramelised onion on a brioche bun. Simple, different and extremely tasty! Will be back...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeoffR607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Between average and very good”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I wish there was a 'good' rating on trip advisor as this place is better than 'average' but not 'very good' either.
The design of the restaurant is great and fits right at home in Flinders Lane. It has a nice New York style atmosphere and offers bar and table dining.
The food was very nice but I was still hungry afterwards. It is not overly expensive but would have been had I ordered the necessary amount to really fill me up.
There was a problem with my partner's order so he got his food pretty much as I had just finished mine. The bar man who took our order apologised sheepishly saying it was his mistake which was fine but obviously did not make for a dining experience to rave over.
There are so many wonderful eating places to try in Melbourne however I would still consider a second visit one day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brettystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meatball and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Meatball and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing