We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of iDoKitchen - CLOSED

iDoKitchen
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
412 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“So fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The food here is stunning. Green papaya salad and baby snapper with coconut meat to die for! Service is attentive and friendly although died somewhat after the main courses. Lovely atmosphere

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic Vietnamese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a really brilliant Vietnamese restaurant in Albert Park. We have tried nearly everything on the menu and it has all been wonderful. A particular favourite is the Chả cá Lã Vọng (fish with turmeric, dill, noodles and salad) plus they do the best pho in Melbourne. It is our favourite option for takeaway and never disappoints.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dvaravati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go try some great food in Albert Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went for lunch as a walk up - amazed so few people - food was great - Maestro is lovely and attentive.
Lunch menu limited but beautiful flavours, textures and presentation
Prices were very very reasonable

Go check it out and enjoy !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boards_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Top quality Vietnamese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We regularly eat at iDo Kitchen on our visits to Melbourne and our recent experience, dining with a group of nine, was true excellent. The service was very efficient and the food was delivered in a timely manner. Salads are outstanding as are the soft Vientanmese rolls, but really, everything here is wonderful. The duck and goat curries we're flavoursome and not over spiced.
Perhaps the only area for attention would be desserts, as the mango sorbet was surprisingly bland and the warm chocolate pudding seemed out of place. More fruit based desserts would have been welcomed.
Our guests were visiting for the first time and all agreed it was the best Vietnamese food they had eaten in Melbourne.
We look forward to our next visit!

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese restaurant in Albert Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The menu at Ido Kitchen seems to be updated regularly and the food is very flavoursome, not too oily and reasonably-priced.
We booked an hour ahead on the day (Saturday for 7pm) which was fine and only about 5 other tables were occupied until a larger table of about 12 arrived.
The service was attentive and unassuming which is what I expect and the ambiance was good.

We skipped the starters and went for mains, with pan-fried fish which was very good and fresh with the coriander. The duck with light red curry sauce was well-flavoured, not oily and very good with steamed rice.

Mains were washed down with jasmine tea which included a free refill and the bill came to about $70 which was fine considering the quality of food. It seemed to be bring your own wine as well which was unexpected considering it was a Saturday evening.

I like this restaurant and it's now one of my regulars. Give it a try if you like Vietnamese or Asian food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GANJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iDoKitchen also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing