We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came her for High Tea”

Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #46 of 8,206 Restaurants in Melbourne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Come partake in Melbourne's longest-running Afternoon Tea, with Champagne, silver stands of sandwiches, scones, canapes and beautiful desserts, and specialty tea - a ritual since 1883. Afternoon Tea is set in our historic dining room, One Eleven, and celebrations - from birthdays to anniversaries, bridal showers and weddings - are welcome.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

I have come her for High Tea a few times, and absolutely love the surroundings, the atmosphere and the staff. The teas are amazing, you get to try so many, the food is wonderful. Such a beautiful place to enjoy! with friends or family.

    • Service
Thank CarmelaDAmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear Carmela

Thank you for your wonderful review and for returning to The Windsor once again! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back many more times in the future.

With kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 743 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

Plenty of food - glad we didn't have lunch! Sandwiches and scones lovely, but my daughter and I not keen on other items (bit avant garde for afternoon tea)
Staff very friendly but not overly efficient... I suspect they were new.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank emmahuntteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear Emma

We are delighted that you and your daughter visited us for afternoon tea. Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post this review.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

With kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

The Windsor is a fabulous place to stay or just have afternoon tea.If you like old world charm and marvelous service then head to Spring Street for an experience which will be memorable.I especially enjoy afternoon tea there - a silver service and a dazzling array of gateaux.Not cheap but worth every dollar.

    • Service
Thank mick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear Mick

Thank you so much for your very kind review and for passing on your recommendation regarding afternoon tea at The Windsor.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

With kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Our experience at afternoon tea was absolutely marvelous. The food was divine and teas were extra-ordinary. Definitely go on an empty stomach. I was surprised by how much we got and how filling it was.
My only gripe was the fact that there were toddlers being really noisy and wandering around while their mothers filmed them on their phones. Whilst I acknowledge that this is what toddlers do, I do not think it was the right place for that.

My daughter is visiting from overseas and we paid $70 each for an indulgent, sophisticated experience and it was somewhat ruined by the kids. It's a tricky area but one I'm sure can be dealt with by Hotel Windsor.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Visitor2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Dear Visitor

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and we are thrilled you chose to bring your daughter to The Windsor on her visit from overseas. We are delighted you enjoyed the afternoon tea so much and regret that the small children present were somewhat noisy. We often have small visitors to afternoon tea but there is not usually a noise problem and we do apologise if this spoilt your afternoon. We shall take extra care to try and ensure that guests are not disturbed in this way.

With thanks and kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

The wonderful team at The Windsor Hotel made a beautiful, but understated fuss of my daughter last week on her 17th birthday. As a special 'mother and daughter' treat on our trip to Melbourne, this will always be a stand out memory for us both. Absolutely every last detail was exquisite. This is the ultimate in High Teas. Don't bother going anywhere else as there is no chance that any other venue could even begin to come up to the standard of The Windsor in terms of ambience, service, quality and taste. My thanks to everyone at The Windsor for an amazing dining experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Dear Madam

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and what a delightful way to celebrate your daughter's 17th birthday. We hope there will be many more celebrations at The Windsor in the future.

With thanks and kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.