We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”

Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne
Ranked #19 of 4,395 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Afternoon tea at The Hotel Windsor is a quintessential Melbourne experience, steeped in tradition. Our hotel has proudly served over two million guests since 1883.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Have been lucky enough to enjoy afternoon tea at several hotels in Melbourne and this one is top of the list for sure. We went on a weekend and the dessert selection was out of this world incredible. The savouries can't be ignored - had a nice selection of pastries, sandwiches, quiche, etc. upon arrival with our glass of bubbles. The dessert offerings were a standout though - so many delicious options, make sure you save room. Highly recommend for a special treat!

Thank Aussie_2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

I am glad you had such a fabulous Afternoon tea.
We are grateful for mentioning us as your favourite Afternoon tea destination in Melbourne.
Our weekend sweet buffet is a standout.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,134 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

Afternoon tea was very nice and in a lovely atmosphere. Staff were very pleasant and attentive.
The price was a little high, but I think one must pay for quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Sandra
Thank you for your kind review.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

There is no denying the WOW factor of the gorgeous 111 Spring Street restaurant where our Sunday birthday surprise for 3 takes place (make sure you state that in your booking, otherwise you could end up in the tired main dining room). The décor of cream tones, beautiful chandeliers and tapestry furnishings is just beautiful and oh so grand.
Once seated our waiter introduced himself and poured the champagne as we settled in to our new glamorous home for the next 2 hours - our Windsor Hotel journey was about to begin.
Hmmmmmm, the tiered stand arrived with a pie each (size of a 50 cent piece) and a quiche (slightly bigger), 4 ribbon sandwiches each and a couple of scones with jam/cream. The scones were fluffy and delicious and everything else was tasty and unfortunately disappeared in minutes.
Our individual pots of tea (from a vast tea menu) were served in silver sets and yes it was very cute to have sugar lumps and servers to add to the experience.
The weekend high tea has the added dessert buffet and an amazing array of sugary sweets abound from all things chocolate, choux and meringue - and yes there was some fresh fruit that was enjoyed by all.
It really was a decadent afternoon and the main outcome was that our birthday guest was thrilled - was it worth $89 a head? I don't think so. Would I go again? No, the Grand Hyatt buffet brunch has

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Clifden27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Clifden
Thank you for writing a review following your recent visit to Afternoon tea.
I really appreciate you highlighting the charming aspects of our venue.
I was happy to see your waiter presented themselves in such a manner.
Our scones and quiche are bite size we do focus on ensuring they are of quality, it was great to see sandwiches and scones were nice. The buffet is a highlight with a wide variety of treats. I am glad to see that the birthday guest was thrilled we love special occasions.
I am obviously dissappointed to see you are not keen to visit us again but hope you may change your mind.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I went here in October for the weekend dessert buffet high tea- think it was around $75- 80 per head. We arrived on time, sat down waiting 20 minutes for our tiered savoury dishes ate leisurely then headed to the dessert buffet many different things BUT within the hour most things had run out!! Very disappointed considering the price we paid. If it is a buffet and it is fully booked they should have enough of each dish. Especially when there was another sitting following. The staff were nice.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank jagsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Jagsea
Thank you for your recent review following your visit to our weekend Afternoon tea.
I was disheartened to hear your visit wasn't satisfactory. Please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We deliver stands following being seated sparkling being served and an introduction from our waiter they are then plated and delivered following indication from the waiter that the table is ready this can take a little time.
We do replenish our dessert buffet however it is vital that it is done as efficently as possible to ensure we dont run out of any of the 18 different sweet items available.
I was happy to hear the staff were nice as we focus on good guest experiences.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

the windsor hotel has a magnificent hi tea, great for special occasions or just meeting up with family. hotel is beautiful . the food was great as were the helpful staff. will save up and go again. hopefully when the alterations are done the atmosphere will be retained

    • Value
    • Service
Thank hev66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We really appreciate your kind review.
It is fantastic to hear that the service and food were of a high standard.
We will be working hard to ensure the Windsor retains its atmosphere in the future.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing