We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High tea disappointing”

Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne
Ranked #20 of 4,388 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Afternoon tea at The Hotel Windsor is a quintessential Melbourne experience, steeped in tradition. Our hotel has proudly served over two million guests since 1883.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I went here in October for the weekend dessert buffet high tea- think it was around $75- 80 per head. We arrived on time, sat down waiting 20 minutes for our tiered savoury dishes ate leisurely then headed to the dessert buffet many different things BUT within the hour most things had run out!! Very disappointed considering the price we paid. If it is a buffet and it is fully booked they should have enough of each dish. Especially when there was another sitting following. The staff were nice.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank jagsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Jagsea
Thank you for your recent review following your visit to our weekend Afternoon tea.
I was disheartened to hear your visit wasn't satisfactory. Please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We deliver stands following being seated sparkling being served and an introduction from our waiter they are then plated and delivered following indication from the waiter that the table is ready this can take a little time.
We do replenish our dessert buffet however it is vital that it is done as efficently as possible to ensure we dont run out of any of the 18 different sweet items available.
I was happy to hear the staff were nice as we focus on good guest experiences.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,132 - 1,136 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

the windsor hotel has a magnificent hi tea, great for special occasions or just meeting up with family. hotel is beautiful . the food was great as were the helpful staff. will save up and go again. hopefully when the alterations are done the atmosphere will be retained

    • Value
    • Service
Thank hev66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We really appreciate your kind review.
It is fantastic to hear that the service and food were of a high standard.
We will be working hard to ensure the Windsor retains its atmosphere in the future.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We attended the weekend afternoon tea in the grand ballroom. The experience was excellent. Service very good, food quality (and quantity) was very good, selection of teas was amazing. Staff worked hard to make everyone's experience special. $90 = top price but I felt that it was worth it for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank turtonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind words following your recent visit.
I am delighted to hear that food, service and tea selection was very good.
I hope you get the opportunity to visit us for another special occasion.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The afternoon tea - or, the "high tea", is much like the high tea in London and Paris. The finger food is presented with neatly polished silverware, and the tea in silver teapot, poured by attendant waiters. The champagne was a good one, and one could have coffee as well ( but coffee not so good). Sadly there was no hot food in the selection, despite being mentioned on the menu. When we asked the waiter, he took the menu away and said that it was the wrong menu on the table. That was a little disappointing, but my no means did we leave hungry. There were lots of finger sandwiches, scones and delectable petit fours.

Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Teresa
I am grateful for your review.
Thank you for comparing us to high tea served in London and Paris.
I do apologise for the mis hap with the incorrect menu on the table.
We do serve hot savoury items on the weekend with our indulgent buffet.
I am glad you left following an abundance of food.
Yours sincerely
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family had Red Balloon vouchers to use for an afternoon tea, but we didn't know how to book with them. It was a number of phone calls and an email before we got decent help. (Thank you Josephine). The place is magnificent. There are colored window features (plastic tubes?) in the tea room which are odd, but everything else is beautiful, clean and well kept. There isn't a great range of food choices but what they do have is really nice. The tea was nice (house blend, the only one we were offered or could choose) as was the champagne. The only let down was the service. It took a long time before any waiter came around, after all the other tables had been looked after. The two waiters that did eventually come to fill champagne glasses and tell us about the afternoon were very abrupt and unfriendly, we only saw them twice after that. Once to bring out the food stand and once to offer tea. We had asked one of the female waiters to take a photo for us and she said "could you get someone else to do it after?" and left. It wasn't until the very end of the session as we were leaving that the man who took our bill took the photo for us, and seemed more than happy to. Aside from the average service, we did have a nice afternoon. It is pricey but an overall good experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Nuvies
I appreciate you writing about your recent visit to Afternoon tea.

Thank you for your compliments about our venue, food and beverages.

I would like to apologise for the lack of unfriendly service and have addressed this with the team. Our service standards remain a priority and we always take action in cases where they may have slipped.

I have passed on your kind words to Josephine who took your reservation.

I am glad that overall you had a good experience.

Yours Sincerely
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing