We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High tea at the Windsor”

Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 4,245 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stunning building and what a great setting for high tea! Pity we weren't served!

Today we had a booking for 12 for high tea. We were running a little late, made a call to let the receptionist know that this was the case, received a very cool and snooty response, saying 'it's fiiiiiiiine'.

We arrive, explain to the hostess we had a booking at 12, running slightly late (10 mins late), she then showed us to our table and walked away. We sat for 15-20 mins with people constantly being served all around us and we didn't even receive any form of acknowledgement (very uncomfortable).

We decided for $79 a head, this was really disappointing, and to be honest, better service was expected.

Shame really. First visit to Melbourne and this was very high on our to do list, sorry we can't recommend this venue to our friends in the future due to our experience.

2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Liz
Firstly my apologies for a disappointing visit in terms of service provided.
We are deeply sorry that we didnt meet your expectation on this visit.

Since your review we have addressed our service standards to ensure they are being met.
We are confident that the issues you experienced have now been resolved.

We have also addressed our team who take phone calls to ensure our mannerisms are always polite and professional.

I am available to discuss this with you further if you wish

Again my deepest apologies
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,087 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

I took my mother here for afternoon tea on a Monday, for her birthday.
It was a good experience, the setting is beautiful and very posh. It costed $118 for the two of us, which is expensive but we hadnt gone before and I wanted to give her a bit of luxury treatment for her birthday.

I was told maybe to go on a weekend as they have a desert buffet, but we werent bothered. We struggled to get through out 3 tiers!

The staff are very attentive and kind, something we expected from the Windsor.

We enjoyed the afternoon tea, but we probably wont do it again unless invited by others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WeLoveMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit for Afternoon tea.
I thrust your Mother enjoyed her birthday celebration.
I appreciate your kind words about our service team.
It would be great if you did get the opportunity to visit us again the dessert buffet on the weekend is a highlight.
Kind Regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I enjoyed afternoon tea at The Windsor on my birthday. The ambiance is lovely old world style with beautiful table settings of linen, bone china, and silver. Flowers on the table were a orchid spray.
Our waitress was attentive and friendly, even offering and taking the time to take our group photo. One of our party was vegetarian, which we advised on booking, and he was given his own tiered tray of delicacies to enjoy. We were offered a very nice champagne on arrival.
Our tiered trays of treats were delicious, the scones were warm, loved having clotted cream and sandwiches were very fresh. Sweet treats were very yummy. There was a large choice of teas to choose from. We were not rushed at all and we had a lovely afternoon.
For an indulgent treat i would definitely recommend afternoon tea at the Windsor Hotel. Price of $59 includes champagne.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank myristica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for the kind review.
It is great to hear you had such a pleasant visit for your recent birthday celebration.
Good to hear the dietary requirement was met with ease and the waiter was attentive and friendly.
We appreciate your reccomendation and hope you get another opportunity to visit us in the future.
Kind Regards
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a lovely experience of high tea at the Hotel Windsor. The hotel is beautiful and the architectural detail from this by-gone era made for a very special experience. Jessica was attentive and made sure we had a lovely experience. The scones, finger sandwiches and pastries were scrummy. The champagne and tea perfect compliments too. We absolutely will return and will likely stay in one of the hotel rooms. One of the highlights from our trip

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Javagirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind words.
It is great to hear we were one of the highlights of your trip.
I have passed on your review to Jessica who served you when you visited.
We would be delighted to have you stay on your next visit to Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

May be indulgent but it is a very classy venue if you want to lash out. A beautiful old building and an institution in Melbourne. If you enjoy afternoon teas, then this is the place to do it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
We like to keep the experience a classy event.
Kind Regards
Nigel Maxey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Afternoon Tea - The Windsor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing