We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yarra crest apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gem Apartments Short Stay
Ranked #35 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the Yarra Crest 99 Whiteman st last week.
The apartment complex was very nice our apartment was 159 on the 15th floor it was very clean and comfortable the only down side was the air conditioner did not work by the time we realized it was at the end of our stay we did contact Ben the concierge and left a message. The apartment is close to trams ( just outside ) and it's in easy walking distance to shops . Next time we come to Melbourne we would not hesitate to stay again . We had a enjoyable stay and the complex is secure as well . We recommend gem apartments short stay . Thank you again . The Stephenson family

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to road noise you might want to sleep in the second or third rooms as they have...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Unfortunately I was not made aware that the air conditioning was not working during your stay, we would have relocated you.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Gem Apartments Short Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 104 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

The furnishings mean it isn't a five star and the condition of the apartment means it only gets three not 4 stars from us. We had high expectations for this place and it isn't cheap but it is really starting to show it's age. The view is great and the location is brilliant but it is clearly run/owned by people who do this for money not for the love of the industry. Be cautious on the website not to get the apartments confused as there are different specs for each apartment. Dirty little corners, marks on the walls and some tacky stick on hooks (some have fallen off) means you don't feel great about this place. For this money you could get an even better located hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, Owner at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear that we did not satisfy your requirements on this occasion.

We pride ourselves on providing high quality furniture, it is disappointing that the style did not appeal to you.

As we had been informed prior to your arrival, by the person making the booking, that you require a very high standard of apartment we implemented the following

- A thorough six hour clean of the apartment. This spring clean is normally conducted every six months.
- I myself (the management) stayed in the apartment the night before your arrival to ensure that everything was as it should be.

We also stayed in the apartment after your departure and installed a new large screen television with additional foxtel outlet in the main bedroom. Thank you for leaving the apartment so clean on your departure.

We are very hands on in our business, and care deeply to provide our product (great value family accommodation) to our target market. To that end, we regularly stay in our own apartments, with 3 children, to cook, live and experience the product as our guests do.

Regarding your comments on value for money - we do find that when guests stay in peak season, with peak season pricing, are more likely to be dissatisfied than guests on a standard rate in non peak season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked and stayed here for five days on the 7th Floor, all arrangements made with Kellie went extremely smooth.
Our family of seven adults were very impressed with the apartment, the fantastic city views by day and night, king and queen size beds, LCD televisions, wi-fi, indoor heated pool and gym.
There was an onsite concierge and security all day, you needed your room key tags to access entry to the building and lifts, we all felt very safe.
The apartment was very clean, had full cooking facilities and very comfortable for all of us.
The location was great, as the trams were just there, the casino and it’s great value food court, an IGA supermarket was located only round the corner at the bottom of the building.
Walk to South Bank huge choice of eateries, we also took a 10 min walk to the local markets.
A great time was had by all, we will certainly be back again and will recommend this place without hesitation to all our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Try for rooms higher and with city views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelski2, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hi Tony,

Thank you for your review. The seventh floor apartment is certainly our largest three bedroom and great for a larger group. We also have a new four bedroom apartment which is huge!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Family of 8 stayed at Clarendon 5th floor.

First reaction from my family after entering the apartment was "wow" so that settles it.

The apartment itself fulfills my important criteria of:
1. Safety: Lifts were not usable without key tags, same with the glass door which cannot be opened at night without the key tag.
2. Comfort: Clean, well-stocked, all the stuff you need (utensils, towels etc), comfortable beds.
3. Location: Walkable to CBD with easy access to free trams. Crown is just opposite, plenty of food stuffs along Clarendon (very good Vietnamese, Pizza Hut etc) and a supermarket downstairs makes it super convenient to either self-cook, or find food.

Complaints?
1. Car park access was a bit weird, no fault of Gem, needed to walk out of 63 Whiteman, turn the corner and go up from Clarendon street although it's the same building. The door to the apartments on Clarendon do not open from the car park side. Probably because they are fire doors.
2. Occasional noise from late night revelers on the streets and loud cars.

Overall, the apartment itself was one of the highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelski2, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back into another three or four bedroom apartment soon.

Many thanks

Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a great stay at Gem Apartments. The location is very handy to South Bank with lots of cafes and lovely walks along the river. Crown casino is just across the road and there is a mini supermarket at the base of the apartments which is super useful. There is a tram stop outside the doors.
We commented that it is rare to stay somewhere that is so well stocked - the kitchen had lots of crockery, good knives etc so it was easy to cook and prepare meals. My mother in law who has travelled all over the world said it was the best apartment she has ever stayed in.
The beds are comfortable and the blinds kept the room dark. We were on the tenth floor and the noise from the road was pretty loud. Next time I would pay more and stay on a higher floor. The showers have okay water pressure but were nice and clean. Good air con which is quiet and effective.
The kids loved the pool, it is outside but covered so nice and warm. There is a free BBQ to use on the terrace. We used the gym but the weights machine was out of action unfortunately.
Another reason I would recommend this place is the good communication from the management, very easy to deal with. There is no room service unless you want to pay extra.

Room Tip: Pay more for a room with a view as it will have less street noise, traffic is going 24/7.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChChLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelski2, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We have a young family ourselves, and provide accommodation that we would like to stay in ourselves, with all the comforts of home to easily self cater.

We look forward to your next visit, and thanks again for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Family of four stayed at Freshwater Place Southbank. Came from Cairns to see Linkin Park, first time in Melbourne. Fantastic accom, close to everything, excellent position, tourist bus at door. Amazing views. Son in power wheelchair but apartment was easy for him to get around..shower had good access. Priced around $200 night. Would look no further. Willstay again next Feb if Eminem comes good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixie001Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelski2, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review.

It was lovely to meet and your family, and I am glad it was a successful trip for you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had reasonably good communication from the management as we had a late arrival, guests to stay for a night in the living room and need for a car parking space during 3-day stay. It was reassuring to be able to have good communication when booking an apartment. The security was quick to respond to make a check-in process not too much of a pain. The location being at the back of Melbourne Convention Centre was excellent for the purpose I was down in Melbourne for but it was a bit difficult for the taxi to find the front entrance.

The apartment was tidy and had all the furnishing I'd expect for a business short-stay. The free wi-fi included did not work during the first night and I had to email management for "more data to be added". But after that the internet connection worked fine. The Foxtel was a good addition for relaxation after a day of conference.

The view of the west end of the riverbank all the way to West Gate Bridge is a rarity and I enjoyed it either during the day or the night. Crown Entertainment complex was really just at the doorstep and there was a convenience store around the corner. It was also only a easy stroll away to the tram stop linking the CBD and even eastern suburbs.

The washing machine didn't work because we couldn't turn the fan on (the switch on the wall was malfunctioning).

Overall, I was satisfied with this apartment and would not hesitate to recommend it if you need easy access to the CBD during your stay in Melbourne but not wanting just another hotel room along the Yarra or anywhere in the CBD itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelski2, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, and I am glad that overall your enjoyed the apartment.

We have changed the wifi in this apartment since your stay, so that it is like the normal fast wifi you would have at home. No need to add more data :-)

Thank you also for reporting the issue with the washing machine.

We hope to hear from you again when you are planning another trip to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Docklands
Flinders Wharf Apartments
Flinders Wharf Apartments
#36 of 144 in Melbourne
18 reviews
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments MP Deluxe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Experience Bella Hotel Apartments
Southbank
Aria Favourite Southbank
Aria Favourite Southbank
#52 of 144 in Melbourne
51 reviews
Southbank
Aria Style Southbank
Aria Style Southbank
#106 of 144 in Melbourne
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Apartments Short Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Apartments Short Stay

Address: 63 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $143 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Apartments Short Stay 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gem Apartments are a select group of Melbourne luxury apartments in Southbank and inner suburbs which offer guests spectacular views, central location, extra space and the touches of home. Our apartments are individually owned and located in different buildings, offering guests diversity to meet your needs. Gem Apartments provides the perfect Convention Centre & Exhibition centre accommodation in Melbourne. Our apartments are well equipped and perfectly suited for family, holiday, couples and corporate apartment accommodation. They are also ideal as short term accommodation if you are moving to Melbourne.Each Gem Apartment has fantastic views, open and airy, resort style facilities, central location, quality furniture and decor, broadband internet, secure parking for one car, flat screen televisions and pay tv, fully equipped kitchen to suit the needs of longer stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gem Apartments Short Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing