We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Views of CBD from Southbank.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gem Apartments Short Stay
Ranked #35 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a family trip for me to Melbourne. I was there for 9 days with my wife and 2 kids (a 4yrs old and a 6yrs old one). The last time I was in Melbourne was 12 years back when I studied at Monash Uni Caulfield Campus. Though I was there in Melbourne for over 3 yrs during my student days , I dint take a chance and did my homework as I do for all trips.

We figured out that we will want to live close to the city so that we had access to shopping, nightlife and choise of resturants. Southbank was our best option. Gem apartments thats basically run by Ms.Killie offered us a 2 bedroom 2 bath fully furnished appartment on the 35th floor overlooking the city @ No1, Freshwater Place,Southbank. We paid 2400AUD for 8 nights stay. This price includes the free secure carparking. We hired a car for the entire stay so we thought this was a added advantage for us .

The apartment on the whole is located in the Heart of Southbank. Just 2 mins walk to CDB, 5 mins walk to Crown Casino and 2 mins to the Euraka Towers shydeck, 5 mins walk to Federation squire and the Flinders street station.

Our apartment was on the 35th floor and the number was 3505. It was great it had the best views of the city and the decor was just posh and I would say equlent to any 5 star hotel room. The kitchen was fully equpped with all the things you can think and ask for to cook. The 2ed bath had the washing machine and the dryer. In all my wife really dint feel the difference it was like a full fleged home for us during out stay there.

They have a lovely indoor heated swiming pool and a huge gym on the 10th floor. If you need the apartment to be cleaned and the lenins changed just inform Killie and she can get it organised for you. There is an charge of 70AUD for the full clean and the compleat towles and lenin change though. But it was done perfectly as we tried that too in the middle of the week.

In all I think it was a great place if you are looking for more space and not a hotel room. We had a great stay and the only letdown was there was no safety lockers in the apartment. So we were carrying our passports and cash all the time. Apart from that I guess there was absolutely nothing that was a minus at all. We will definetly go back there when we are in Melbourne again.

Ms. Killie ( Manager of Gem Apartments)
04 34009210
Get in touch and she is of great help.

Room Tip: Make sure you get rooms with good views of the CBD. The higher the floors the better the views and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Panneerselvam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently stayed at the Gem apartments Port Melbourne (Seisman Place) great location a short walk to Bay Street and the tram station.
The apartment had nice views back to the city and accommodated four adults easily very clean and tidy and great value.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kitkit2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank Pschon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelski2, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Docklands
Flinders Wharf Apartments
Flinders Wharf Apartments
#37 of 147 in Melbourne
18 reviews
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments MP Deluxe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Aria Favourite Southbank
Aria Favourite Southbank
#53 of 147 in Melbourne
53 reviews
Southbank
Experience Bella Hotel Apartments
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Power Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Apartments Short Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Apartments Short Stay

Address: 63 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $148 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Apartments Short Stay 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gem Apartments are a select group of Melbourne luxury apartments in Southbank and inner suburbs which offer guests spectacular views, central location, extra space and the touches of home. Our apartments are individually owned and located in different buildings, offering guests diversity to meet your needs. Gem Apartments provides the perfect Convention Centre & Exhibition centre accommodation in Melbourne. Our apartments are well equipped and perfectly suited for family, holiday, couples and corporate apartment accommodation. They are also ideal as short term accommodation if you are moving to Melbourne.Each Gem Apartment has fantastic views, open and airy, resort style facilities, central location, quality furniture and decor, broadband internet, secure parking for one car, flat screen televisions and pay tv, fully equipped kitchen to suit the needs of longer stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gem Apartments Short Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing