We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a cool find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eau De Vie

Eau De Vie
Ranked #4 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a cool find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Typical Melbourne, you find a cocktail bar, in an alley, with no singage but a coach light to identify that there is something behind a wooden door. And what a something it is. This cute little cocktail bar is perfect for a pre or post dinner drink. Exceptional table service by the bar staff who are knowledgeable in the menu. Cocktails are fantastic, fun and slightly different. If you don't like crouds perhaps steer clear around 9 pm as it is quite full for after dinner drinks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    121
    16
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I'm normally not wowed by bars but this place is stand out. We were waiting for a table at Gazi and they recommended this little gem. Was hard to find as there was no signage but we were pleasantly surprised when we stepped inside. The decor was awesome, service was amazing from the get go & the cocktails and whiskey selection was second to none. Disappointed we couldn't return again on our trip but will make a big night of it next time we're in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A secret treasure in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

A sneaky venue tucked away in Malthouse Lane that we nearly bypassed except for a hint from Staff at Wagamama just up the lane. We were waiting for a table at Chin Chin and what a perfect place to bide our time trying sensational cocktails such as Kitty at the Cocobongo and the Sergeant Pepper. Lovely decor, warm and inviting, the crystal decor was captivating and the staff very pleasant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Bar ...stylish & Chic !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

What an exciting find down a dark Laneway of Melbourne ,excellent Cocktails and wonderful Ambience ... Will definitely return

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank joannedelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hmmm....really good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

So hidden but a great venue for after dinner drinks. The staff dress the part and the service is great. Selection of cocktails and fine whiskey is really good. Really enjoyed

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eau De Vie also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Eau De Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing