We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic bar, average restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eau De Vie

Eau De Vie
Ranked #5 of 3,781 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic bar, average restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Finding this bar is an experience in itself. Like many great bars in Melbourne, EDV doesn't have any sign outside. There is just a door in small alley. When you open the door, the great bar reveals itself. It specializes in reinventing old cocktail. If you can, please try Negrizzle with smokey flavor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhinavaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    100
    13
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful place for a great cocktail. Tucked away, but definitely worth finding for a visit. Amazing '40s interior.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drossos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had wandered past the big wooden doors with no signage many times when staying at the Adina on Flinders Street, and wondered what was hiding behind them when I stumbled across the answer on Trip Advisor. I finally had the courage to go through those doors, and I am really glad I did.

The atmosphere of Eau De Vie is fantastic, the innovative cocktails list like a book you want to keep reading, and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. We had to try a shared cocktail served in an old fashioned punch bowl overflowing with liquid nitrogen vapour. I can't wait to return and try some more of the amazing cocktails on offer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TnJnBnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had 2 cocktails during my visit here. The first was a modern take on the classic mai tai and was delicious. The second was called a negrizzle and was a take on the classic negroni. It came in a jar with the lid on and when you opened the lid a cloud of smoke came out! It was quite smokey and delicious. The service was very friendly and professional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_L_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“What a really super atmosphere, love the ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

A relatively new watering hole in the centre of Melbourne

not easy to find at all, a bit of a speak easy

Go down Malthouse lane (turn right before Wagamama and past the French Bistro) on your right, just before you go down the stairs

dark and seductive reminiscent of those old London or NY establishments

what a fantastic back bar, must be at least 700 bottles on it, great glassware, just a great selection

nice wine by the glass and a tasty snack menu
it is a great place for a few friends or a group, notice a private room with open kitchen that looks super

Would suggest it to everyone

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MBJ400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eau De Vie also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Eau De Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing