We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SEAFOOD EXTRAVAGANZA”
Review of Hooks At The Yarra

Hooks At The Yarra
Ranked #432 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SEAFOOD EXTRAVAGANZA”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

On Sunday we went on a coupon for a late lunch .One always wonders about these coupons and their value but the restaurant is fantastic . There were no restrictions on choice , Hanging Rock wines and lovely food .Go there with an appetite as the meals are very generous .On recommendation from the staff I had the soup which is a meal in itself then the oysters [ they could be aeten with a knife and fork ] large and tasty . The whole experience thoroughly recommended

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
243 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Four of us visited last night with a discount voucher which consisted of a starter and a main course each with a bottle of the house wine per couple. We didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised to find there were no restrictions on menu choice. We shared starters of meat platter (portion size big enough for 2), calamari, scallops, king prawns. Main courses were lobster medallions, porterhouse steak, grilled whole flounder, and fish and chips. Excellent quality food, friendly service, good atmosphere and with the voucher great value but still good value without. Can recommend a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great seafood nestled against the wharf”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Hook line and sinker....I saw the reviews for hook on tripadvisor and thought we are just across the street and DFW so had to go. Veggie pizzeria was great as was the spaghetti marinara which is a seafood pasta not your typical marinara pasta. Great ambience right on the wharf.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Njp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food ....use your voucher”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Whilst a little hard to find, when we did find it we were very satisfied with the service and range offered. We had per booked using a "Groupon" voucher and had great value for money. Very friendly staff

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank phil_seymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly service, fresh food, delightful setting”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We ate at Hooks today for lunch on a discount voucher. I was wary, expecting an ordinary experience at best. I must admit to being really impressed with the service, the food, and the absolute value of our meals. The restaurant is right at the Yarra's edge and has lovely views of the boats on the water. We were greeted by a very friendly and professional young woman who ensured our meal was ordered and delivered promptly. Table service was excellent - polite and obliging but not 'in your face'.

Part of the deal was a lovely bottle of wine from Hanging Rock Winery - a good drop. We ate seafood entrees (scallops for me, calamari for partner) - both generous serves, piping hot and delicious flavours. Mains were spaghetti marinara for me and lobster ravioli for him. Both served piping hot - it was obvious they came straight from the kitchen, freshly cooked and hadn't been sitting around waiting, getting cold (my pet hate!). Both smelling and looking deliscious. My partner loved the delicate flavours of the ravioli and my marinara the best I've eaten anywhere! Loaded generously with seafood, I could have given the pasta a miss! We left very happy, well fed and impressed with this casual dining experience. Highly recommended for a quick, fresh, and exceptionally good value dining experience. We'll return and happily refer others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooks At The Yarra also viewed

 

Been to Hooks At The Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing