We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely LOVE The Loft !”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living area The well equipped kitchen - dishwasher, microwave, dryer, washer, and oven/cooktop
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
60 reviews
The Living area
The well equipped kitchen - dishwasher, microwave, dryer, washer, and oven/cooktop
The delightful garden
Exterior
Brunswick Street - overflowing with great places to shop, eat and drink
Edinburgh gardens - great kids' playground, walks, and public barbecues
The (iconic) Fitzroy pool is very close by (5 min walk)
The Fairfield Boathouse - hire rowing boats and canoes, walk by the Yarra river, and eat at the lovely cafe
Melbourne city at night
Carlton Gardens housing the Royal Carlton Gardens housing the Exhibition Building & Melbourne Museum
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Melbourne, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely LOVE The Loft !”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed four nights in The Loft with my husband and 22 year old son. The position couldn't be any better. Brunswick Street is right on your doorstep - absolutely fantastic! The apartment was very comfortable, beds great and loved the fact that each bedroom had it's own air-conditioner - definitely a comfort factor. Did not want to leave in the end.....cannot wait to come back and stay for a bit longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the comfort of the property.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamieonth...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Funky, great position, highly recommended”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Loft is an awesome short stay option for Melbourne., especially if you have kids. It's a fun apartment for little ones to play in, spacious enough and in an excellent location. Very close to the beautiful Edinburgh gardens (ripper playground) and v close to the best of Fitzroy cafe life.

Katrina was incredibly easy to deal with - great communicator, made us feel welcome and nothing was hard at any stage. The lovely touches like professionally cleaned soft high quality towels, fresh bread and milk make your day when you've been travelling all day to get somewhere. Heaps better than any hotel we've been to. Heaps.

Easy parking on the street and comes with a visitor pass. Close enough to transport to get around (we also walked to the museum, although our little ones are energetic).

No hesitation recommending this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pink retro Smeg fridge
Liked least: Glass table (harder with small kids)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa...
Sutton, Australia
2 reviews
“Modern, compact, self-contained house in the heart of Fitzroy”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very well equipped, modern, cosy and warm accommodation for 5. We would stay here again as it is cheaper than other accommodation in the area but was far nicer and better equipped. Very close to the tram line.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette R
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet mini-home in funky inner urban location”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I, our daughter (early 20s) and her partner, stayed in The Loft in two stints in April/May 2015, while our daughter got started in a course and searched for permanent accommodation. The Loft was ideal for our needs! Location is excellent - tucked away in quiet back streets a short walk from Fitzroy's funky Brunswick, Smith and Gertrude Sreets, and a short tram ride to the CBD. The Loft is beautifully presented - immaculate yet cosy - and fully equipped with everything you need for daily living at home. Rare in a short-term rental, the kitchen is very well equipped to cook good meals. This mini two-storey dwelling also benefits from lots of natural light, a private courtyard, and reliable wifi. The owner/agent was extremely helpful and responsive in both the booking and renting phases, with service second to none. I can't think of anything that could be improved. Highly recommended! PS As The Loft has a failry tight spiral staircase to access the bedrooms upstairs, it may not be suitable for those with physical constraints.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laika001
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Comfort & Location, Very Well Equipped for Family Stay”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We are a family of 4 including teenager and toddler who stayed at this property for 2 weeks. The Loft was really one of the most enjoyable vacation rentals we have ever stayed in, the Owners are very thoughtful to equip it with everything you need for a home-like stay, right down to sugar, olive oil, coffee and tea, and even placed a fresh loaf of bread, butter and milk as we had arrived very late the next day. It is steps away from Brunswick Street which has great bohemian cafes, restaurants and choice of supermarkets, plus our toddler loved the Edinburgh Gardens nearby with its 2 playgrounds which was great for picnics. The location was also great for us to drive to the Eastern suburbs, beaches and city as it is close to the highway and gas station. The on-street parking permit was very handy as well, especially as we found that parking in the Melbourne downtown is super expensive, we could leave the rental car to catch a tram downtown as The Loft is well served by bus and tram. We never met the owner Katrina in person, but she was only an email or SMS away for any help needed. Will definitely return to stay again on our next visit to Melbourne and we highly recommend The Loft as a home away from home in Melbourne!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor terrace, super well-equipped kitchen
Liked least: The spiral staircase
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place with all comforts of home, in a great location.”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We loved our time at The Loft. Two adults and three children fitted in comfortably and we had all the comforts of home whilst on hioliday. Would recommend it is a an ideal place to stay and better than a motel for a family, where a little bit of space on holiday is good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Only real issue is having to go up and down a spiral staircase, but not a major hassle
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBtravell...
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing house with everything you need for a great stay!”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This is a perfect place to stay in Melbourne if you want more than just a hotel room.

The Loft feels like a home away from home with everything you need. It was great to have a dishwasher, washing machine, BBQ, WIFI and a garden!

Would recommend for couples, friends, families

Its so refreshing to stay somewhere which is exactly as described and pictured!

Katrina was great when we were booking - my partner and I stayed in one room and we didn't know how many friends were joining but she let us add a pull-out bed at the last minute! So accommodating and easy to deal with. She also responded so quickly to emails which is always useful when trying to plan a holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style, size, location, price
Liked least: The fact we couldn't stay longer!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing