We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above my expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #27 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Best Victoria Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Perfect location to all atractions in Melbourne, stayed in a balcony room overlooking the river and accross from the casino, well worth the extra, room was large and well appointed, saff great.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PammyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    354
    85
    25
    14
See reviews for
227
386
66
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

Thoroughly recommend the Clarion Suites Gateway. We loved our stay there. The hotel was in an excellent location, looking over the Yarra to the Casino Complex and Southgate. Everything was within easy walking reach and public transport was virtually just outside the door. Our suite was large, well laid out and very cozy. Would have loved to have stayed longer. When we needed to interact with the hotel staff we found them to be very helpful and accommodating. We did not eat in the hotel complex as we tried some of the many restaurants nearby. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avr1ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

I stayed here for three nights, and chose this hotel based on other tripadvisor reviews. The studio room I stayed in was a good size, with a small kitchenette (behind a cupboard door) that had basic facilities such as a microwave, toaster, kettle and sink.

The room was clean and had a large wall mounted flatscreen TV. I was upgraded to a river view room on check-in and while it also overlooked the railway lines, the room was very quiet and there were no problems with noise. I had specifically asked for a room with twin beds and was assured that the room I had was a twin. However when I went to the room and found that it was a king room, I rang reception and told them and within minutes the housekeeping staff returned and converted the one bed into two. As I had a travelling companion for only one night I requested that the beds be rejoined to make a larger bed on the second night and again this was not a problem. Overall the service was efficient and friendly and nothing was any trouble.

The bathroom was small and contained a shower over a bath and toilet with the handbasin outside the bathroom between the livingroom/bed area and the bathroom.

There was a cafe and bar on site and 24 hour room service although I did not eat at the hotel. The location is good, opposite Southbank and within 10 minutes walk from Southern Cross station, and trams at the door.

This is a good solid accommodation choice for a reasonable price and would suit those looking for self catering facilities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingAussieinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Very clean hotel and friendly front staff. Spent 3 weeks there on business and bought the staff chocolates. Now, how many staff would you buy choccies for? If you want to explore Melbourne this is the place to stay. If I were to come again this is where I would take the family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niseach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

The staff were very helpfull & friendly
Theroom was top class
The restaurant was great
The elevators require upgrading
The washer dryer took a bit of figuring out
All in all a great hotel in perfect location with top staff

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

I purchased this Hotel on Last minute .com as amystery hotel, yes I was nervous, but it was rated 4.5 stars so I thought it cannot be that bad. Well it was excellent service was fantastic, accommodation was clean and perfect for what we needed. It has a self contained kitchen if you wanted to cook - not me it was mothers day. Its location is awesome across the bridge from Crown Cassino, The Aquarium, trains and trams everything at your doorstep, 7 eleven is close for those midnight snacks.
Excellent we had a great time, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gill_gardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Avoca NSW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Booked our stay again with Ubid4rooms.com which I think is Australia best kept secret, where I am always amazed at how quickly my bids are answered and how much we can save.
We tried the Carion Suites Gateway on a recommendation from a friend and were not dissapointed. The size of the one bedroom suite was great and the view over the river to the Casino was stunning. As we were there for a few days away to relax, the location was perfect with shopping, restaurants, the casino within a few minutes walk from the hotel.
On the night we did not go out, found the restauant and bar downstairs very good and quiet busy which was good as it added to the atmosphere.(nothing worse than sitting in an empty restaurant).
All the staff were friendly and very helpful. Great stay, Clarion, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseNorthAvocaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing