We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OHHHH!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OHHHH!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

CLARION SUITES GATEWAY
1 William St Melbourne. It adjoins Flinders St
Paid
A$ 249 per night

The blurb on their website describes this as a boutique Hotel.

OHH!

Out Taxi journey from the airport was diabolical and the Indian driver started by repeatedly trying to bang down the boot lid on our cases to make them fit. It was obviously impossible and my wife demanded that one case be placed in the back seat area and this would solve the problem. His driving skills were questionable and after nearly missing the entry into William St, he turned suddenly, with a screech, to the door. He had to be asked to unload our baggage. He was totally indolent. We later discovered that the Indian population were revolting in the city centre. Most Taxis have Indian drivers.

This Hotel exuded a tacky outdated image from the lobby. Nevertheless It was late afternoon, we were tired so we decided to stay. Our Suite was out of the early1950s, a poor impractical layout and with worn out furnishing. The internet connection was dear and didn’t work. Although the view from the window was over the river Yarra to the South Bank, below was a busy, noisy railway and heavily trafficked road. My cousin, who was in the Federal Police in Melbourne, telephoned me and said that we should not stay as it was adjacent to an area with clubs, drugs and other places of ill repute. All seemed to stack against this place. It was expensive also. The next morning we checked out.

Whilst looking at another hotel in the centre of the city, I let upon a sign saying Somerset Serviced Suites. I enquired and after viewing a suite, which was a fraction of the price and far superior, booked in for our three remaining nights here.

You guess my recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, June 28, 2009
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking your time to offer your personal critique on www.tripadvisor.com this is very helpful, as it allows our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance with the utmost view of offering more comfort and enhancing the levels of guest satisfaction whilst staying with us.

Furthermore, we are very glad that you did find a hotel that was suitable for your requirements and budget, this is very important to us, in that, we are focused that all visitors to our fair city have an enjoyable experience.

It is correct, in that, most of our fellow Melbourne citizens, who happen drive a taxi are of Indian or ethnic back-ground, and mostly students.
We do value their contribution, if we did not have their willing participation, there would be quite a few less taxi’s on the road, therefore, commuting would indeed be a challenge.

Aesthetic appeal in any circumstances is a personal appreciation and we do understand that a contemporary modern look may not have been suitable for your taste and perhaps a more traditional fitting may have been appropriate.
The hotel refurbishment was completed late 2007, therefore, all the rooms and furnishings are relatively crisp and new.

Furthermore, the hotel windows are double glazed which blocks-out most of the noise emanating from street level.

We are also pleased to advise that we are surrounded by, Class A office buildings, opposite the Immigration Museum, and only one block from Collins St.
The night clubs that you have alluded to are in fact on, King St, which is not in this area, nor do we have a drug issue on William St, that I am aware of. However, like all major cities, there is soft red light area in another part of the inner city.
Thank you once again for your contribution; your comments inspire us to seek opportunities to serve our valued guests better.

Kind Regards,



Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    356
    88
    25
    15
See reviews for
229
390
66
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

Stayed in a Yarra view studio for 3 nights. Average cost was about $145 per night. I think for that price I'd say it's reasonable but not outstanding. Have had better value previously at Oaks apartments in Melb, but on this occasion they were not price competitive, and in any case I was interested in trying somewhere.

The Clarion pluses:
1. The view is pretty good across to the casino, and the fire show is great to watch. 2. The studio is reasonably sized, and the Clarion itself is pretty well situated. 3. Room was clean, and well cleaned daily.

The Clarion minuses:
1. Front desk was efficient, but they could add some simple touches like establishing eye contact and greeting you as you pass by (it's pretty minor I realise but it always makes guests feel more welcome - and it's free to deliver on!). 2. The room design (long and thin). 3. The bathroom. 4. The sports only cable subscription. 5. There is a bit of noise from the train tracks (but didn't keep me awake). 6. What did wake me was an early morning visit from a restaurant staff member who wanted to collect two extra glasses they had sent to the room the night before. Thumbs down for that bit of no-thought action.

All in all it was functional, but unremarkable. Wouldn't recommend unless it was at a good price. I think for around the $150 - $170 price range there are better options.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bondi_Rimski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

We originally selected this hotel because of the raving reviews. The "convenient" location is great, if you do not intend on sleeping. Without ear plugs, it was impossible to rest. We were woken every day by early trains....profoundly frustrating!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CO_Traveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

Excellent ! Well kept and clean. Great view across the Yarra River for the one bed room suite. Could be noisy as trains run across the track by the river.

Strategically located at Melbourne CBD. 3 blocks away there is a Coles Express Supermarket which opens 24 hours.

Car park not provided but at a rate of AUD 20.00 per night. Big cars may experience difficulty in turning into sharp corners.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Stayed here on two occasions, on different floors, in different room types.
Both times found the rooms clean, quiet, comfortable & well maintained. Always chose rooms with full kitchens. Not sure what the standard rooms are like.
Corner suites very roomy, with the higher riverside rooms having great views of the nightly fireballs!
Found the service efficient and friendly, but bar service very slow. Can't speak for dining area as never ate on site - too many FAR better and/or cheaper options around.
Avoid using the lifts during checkout rush hour - can be painfully slow.
5 min walk to multiple tram lines. Close enough to Flinders Station without the noise.
10 walk to the riverside dining areas and Casino.
Great rates via some 3rd party hotel booking sites.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville N.Z.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

Stayed in the Clarion Suites for two nights recently and found them to be everything we had read about them. I booked through ubid4rooms.com and got a fantastic price for a Riverview Studio twin.
The room was clean and well furnished although there was not much room to walk past the beds as the table is a bit big but it was good for having meals at so was worth itand it wasn't a major issue with the room. There was plenty of room at one end even with the twin beds.
We were on the 11th floor with a small balcony. There are basically two windows and doors (like double glazing but separate windows and door) so the noise from the train tracks below is minimal. The bathroom was quite small but adequate with toilet and a bath with a shower over it but the basin was separate - alongside the kitchenette which had a microwave, under bench fridge with icebox and a small sink. The kitchenette is behind twin doors so it can be closed off. We found the kitchen an excellent addition to the room and had breakfast and lunch there both days. It has a toaster, jug and crockery and cutlery for 2.
If we had been staying longer we would have asked for the mini bar to be removed but we just emptied it out and put it on the bench and down beside the fridge.
We had wonderful views of the Crown's fireballs that fire on the hour from about 6pm.
We could feel the heat on our balcony when they all did their final massive fireball together.
Great location for Southbank, Crown Entertainment centre, DFO shops in Spencer Street, Elizabeth street to catch trams up to the main CBD shops and Victoria Markets and a short walk to Flinders station although you can catch any tram going by and it takes you there.
Check in was excellent. We arrived at 9am to drop our lugguage off and our room was ready so we were able to book in. They recommended a shuttle to the airport (Starbus)and booked it for us. Starbus arrived promptly at 6.30am and provided a great service as well. The staff also directed me to the closest Westpac ATM when I asked.
Would stay here again and have no hesitation recommending it. Try the ubid4rooms website and you should get a better deal than wotif or ratestogo. We certainly did.
If you want a good food court try the one in the Crown Casino complex. Good variety and they are open till late. It's only about a 5 min walk over the Queens bridge to get there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miggyeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night in April 09.
I’m originally from Australia but now live in the UK. On arriving home for a brief holiday my parents cooked an entire lamb on the spit for me and my partner to celebrate. This is the greatest lamb you’ll ever taste. Anyway the next night my partner and I were spending a night at the Clarion and my mum and dad packed the best parts of the lamb so we could take it with us and have it for lunch the next day.
We checked into our room, put the lamb in our fridge and went out to meet my friends for a drink. The next day we checked out, went to take the lamb out of the fridge and it was gone!
I complained to the staff, why would someone come into our room and throw away anything from the fridge after we had checked in?
The staff checked with the cleaning staff, why I don’t know. We obviously weren’t lying. Our very expensive lunch for the day was gone. I was gutted. I fly half way across the road for my Dad’s lamb and these idiots have either fed on it or thrown it out.
Won’t be staying here again. It wasn’t a bad hotel, but if you stay here don’t put anything too valuable in the fridge.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, May 26, 2009
Dear Value Guest,


Thank you for your review, it is disappointing to hear that not all aspects of your stay with us was enjoyable and we do extend our apologies for this unsatisfactory outcome.

It is hotel practice to assess all guest concerns, so that we are able to understand the circumstances, which allows our team to improve service standards. Our primary focus is to exceed your expectations as a most valued hotel guest.

After investigating the matter, we are perplexed, in that our electronic lock detail report, does not indicate unauthorized personnel access to the room, apart from the Mini Bar attendant.

We do offer full meal complement to our hotel staff, and I would hope that this arrangement is an indication that our team, is well looked after, therefore, they would not be inclined to take food from a hotel room, I hope.


Our concern dictates that in any circumstance, whereby guest dissatisfaction is established, we will offer an amenity. I believe that lunch was made available to you, although, I do realize that our offer did not have the same sentimental value and for this we do apologize.

We sincerely wish that we will once again have the opportunity to serve you, with the view restoring your confidence in our commitment to quality customer service

Kind Regards,

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing