We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“saturday night in the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #27 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“saturday night in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

Check in was stress free, our booking had been made over the internet weeks before and the price was great. On arrival we had been upgraded to a suite overlooking the river.
Our room was beautiful, big, spacious, clean, tastefully decorated, modern and had a great view. The mini bar could have had a few more snacks, but this wasn't a major issue.
We ate out at Crown, a short walk from the hotel. We got back to the hotel at about 2am and ordered room service. No problems, our toasted sandwiches arrived within 10 minutes, with a smile.
The only thing that was a bit annoying was the parking. The turning circle between floors is very tight and with a larger car can be a bit of a problem. We also thought that $20 for the overnight parking was a bit steep.
Overall, our saturday night in the city was extremely enjoyable, made even more so by a very pleasant hotel experience. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others and we are looking forward to going back there ourselves in the near future.
We didn't have breakfast in the restaurant the next morning but it looked to be well used by others staying there and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dixie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    351
    83
    26
    14
See reviews for
225
380
64
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

Sofa bed not so good but everything else superb, great price, great location, great views - watched the Crown Casino torches??!! blow through the night, walked easily to Casino, Aquarium, watched the colorful ferris wheel and Flinders station! The bedroom is very quiet even though on the street cos of double glazed windows! would happily stay again!

Helpful?
Thank MarleneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

I stayed here over easter with some friends for a catch up.We booked a 2 bedroom apartment at reasonable rates.The apartment is actually a 1 bedroom apartment with a studio room next door however you have a main door which you can lock and therefore wander between the 2 rooms.My first impression was sheer delight as it is definately a posh hotel which is what I normally go for.There was a full kitchen complete with microwave,oven,cooktop and all the cooking items you need.In addition the sofa was infact a sofa bed so extra guests were not a problem.The bathroom was a good size and included a front loading washing machine/dryer.The lcd tv was a a great way to unwind and the balcony had an amazing view of the yarra river overlooking the crown casino complex and aquarium.The location is suburb.Walking distance to major shopping area's, tourist attractions and casino.There is a tram stop across the road and supermarkets nearby.Overall a very enjoyable stay and definately will return when I am next in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in the King Studio Riverview room in October 2008 (sorry for the late review) and loved it! Very luxurious and stylish room, great location, lovely views. Just across the river to Southbank and Crown (less than 10 minutes walk along the Aquarium to Crown) but also quick and easy to get into the CBD. Right next to the train line but absolutely no noise at all (I am a very light sleeper). Very comfy bed and pillows, great mood and ambience in room. Great couch in room! Immaculate bathroom with all the required amenities. Attentive friendly staff, nothing was a bother.

Would definately stay here again for that romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArumLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

Close to CBD this hotel is a good base for Melbourne. The rooms are in fact apartments and big enough. Interesting was that we also had a washing machine. We had a back room so no traffic noise was bothering. Overall not bad and the hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dana_christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Thank you for the wonderful customer service that greeted me at the reception desk and the cleanliness of the room. Even though I was in Melbourne to see the football and spent very little time in the hotel, my stay was memorable for the courtesy received from the front staff and the cleanliness throughout. I did not have the opportunity to visit any of the bars nor restaurants nor pool nor gym, however I look forward to checking them out next time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Our first booking at Clarion was a very pleasant experience for my wife and me, with a superb studio suite and balcony overlooking the Yarra and Southbank. The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was excellent. The location was also excellent, in close proximity to Southbank and also the restaurants of the CBD.

I would definitely return to the Clarion if I needed to stay overnight in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pobblebonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#38 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing